×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

You and No Other (Renaissance Rogues, Book 1)
     

You and No Other (Renaissance Rogues, Book 1)

4.6 27
by Cynthia Wright
 

See All Formats & Editions

"YOU & NO OTHER positively sparkles with historical details, real-life characters, and an utterly unforgettable hero!"~ PAST ROMANCE, Historical Romance Blog

~ France, 1526: Thomas Mardouet, seigneur de St. Briac is a man with a perfect life – bold, witty, and splendid to behold, he is the King of France's trusted knight.
But the day that captivating

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

You, and No Other 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
dfore More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. I can't say enough good things about it. Loved the story. Loved the banter between Thomas and Aimee. Would read it again. I can't wit to start the 2nd book in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read it twice in a row. That's how good it is. It will stir the "romantic" in all of us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best romance novels I have read in a long time.
Gretchen44 More than 1 year ago
Although I love all of Cynthia Wright's novels, this one is more special to me. Not long before I read it, I actually visited France and most of the locations in the book. I was able to so perfectly lay out the scenes that it was like being there! It's set in 14th century France, mostly in the beautiful Loire valley. You don't need to have visited France to enjoy the wonderful relationship between Thomas and Aimee. Like most of Cynthia's heroines, Aimee is impulsive as well as beautiful and daring. And Thomas could sweep me off my feet anytime! Don't wait, go ahead and read it.
NavyWave62 More than 1 year ago
A Wonderful Read - Very Unique Storyline! I won't go into the plot, as it has been done, but this is a very romantic story. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars, was YES, Thomas was very yummy, all alpha male, BUT, he did have a Mistress prior to meeting and getting involved with Aimee. Why didn't he correct Aimee when she thought their affair was still happening. Poor Aimee reacted as any women who thought the man she married would honor his vows. A lot could have been cleared up with some communication. But, I also, realize, that would have made our book about 1/4 shorter, and I guess it is called drama!! The lovemaking, was sweet, somewhat descriptive, but certainly not the erotica type. I loved all the character's, and can't wait for them to appear in book 2. I would highly recommend this book, and it is a great deal to buy it as part of the bundle. (ljb)
Booktalk_with-Eileen 13 days ago
Book & Audiobook Review: Cynthia Wright writes such wonderful books. Whether I read one of her stories with a setting in the United States, London or French, each are extremely entertaining with intense detail to the historical moment, encouraging the reader to do some internet research themselves. Historically, I learn much of the events of history—the machinations behind historical happenings is always intriguing. The setting is in France, and one I enjoyed very much. Narrator Tim Campbell is a favored narrator. His accents add sparkle to the dialogue. There are some French word pronunciations not quite right. Tim, if you happen to be reading this review, contact me. It’s just a few words, but it is worth mentioning. Aimée de Fleurance is a delightful character, although one character of the story calls her a head-strong little vixen. At 17, she has zest of life, humor, a quick-wit and determination to succeed and outwit those who determine a woman’s future. Her approach to her problems create more and as a reader I laughed most the time! However much she wants control of her future, events wrap their tentacles neatly around her wrists and she must make the most of it. Honorine, Aimée’s sister, is the prim and proper young lady, however, her flaw rests in her determination to be part of the royal entourage almost landing in the king’s bed. Aimée saves her sister, but can she save herself from a king who has long been imprisoned and just wants to cavort with desirable young women? Thomas’s sarcastic remarks to his man-servant, Gaspire, are entertaining and vastly enlightening as to Thomas’s character and frame of mind. Thomas and Aimee share one common trait, stubbornness. Each speak freely what is on their minds in a caustic, sharp-tongued manner making the dialogue absolutely great fun! Aimée plays with fire as events get out of hand. There are many supporting characters who add a lot to this read and help develop the main characters further. All in all, this is one author I highly recommend for her historical romances. I look forward to continuing the series. It is one not to be missed!
mahjchick 3 months ago
I still have my well-read/well-loved paperback copy of YOU AND NO OTHER. It has long been one of my favorites, but I confess to not having reread it in awhile. This time, instead of my paperback, I switched between my ebook copy and the audiobook. After reading and listening to this book, I recalled how much I really loved reading romances set during medieval times. YOU AND NO OTHER provides the back story to Cynthia Wright's Beauvisage books. She also recently updated it a bit to drop hint about the famous DaVinci painting of François I that is a major plot point in THE SECRET OF LOVE. Aimée de Fleurance inadvertently insults King François I upon meeting him, but his good friend, Thomas St. Briac, is able to smooth things over. Soon after this meeting, to escape an unwanted marriage, Aimée disguises herself and joins the king's court, but realizes that as soon as the king recognizes her, all will be lost. St. Briac reluctantly agrees to help her, but she can only hide for so long. They both become more embroiled in schemes and intrigue than they imagined, while desperately fighting their attraction to one another. I thoroughly enjoyed the story, including the historical details of François I and his court. Wright's descriptions of the clothing and food of the time give the reader a strong sense of time and place. Aimée is a spunky heroine, always ready to try a new scheme to escape a tangled situation. St. Briac is an alpha-hero with out being too overbearing or dominating. I enjoyed his humor, sensitivity, and friendship with François. Fans of Cynthia Wrigtht's other books, will enjoy reading about the Beauvisage ancestors, not only for the connection, but for the story itself. Those unfamiliar with her work, will want to read more! As mentioned, on this reread, I read my ebook and listened to the audiobook. Sometimes at the same time and sometime not. Tim Campbell is the narrator and as expected, he did a fabulous job. While the story is set in France, Campbell limits his French accent to the French words in the text and the narration is more of a British English. I am grateful for this, because if the entire book was read in a French accent, I think it would be harder to understand. In his narration, there is enough French to get a strong feel for the setting. Despite the fact that I finished reading the ebook before I finished listening, I continued to listen to the book, well, just because. I look forward to listening to more Wright-Campbell audiobooks! I was given a free copy of the audiobook in exchange for an honest review. I was also given a free version of the updated ebook, that included minor text edits as well as an additional scene with the DaVinci painting of François I. (Before receiving this ebook, I did already own the original paperback and an older edition of the ebook.)
Anonymous 5 months ago
I dont remember aimee being so hateful! Witty outageous and intelligent heroines who take up for themselves i like. However, i dont like women who are hateful hurtful and act like idiots. If aimee wants to be lived, she needs to open up and speak her mind. Who can love anyone who acts so unlovable? Especially thru two thirds of the book. Great story line tho and i do like most of C W's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Onr of my favorite authors! I always love her books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a good read. I've denjoyed this writer's previous works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An excellent read...highly recommend
cathie35 More than 1 year ago
You will want to read the other books by this author. I won't spoil this for you, but I will tell you, you won't want to put the book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book. One of the best love story's I've read in a long time.
ekaterin More than 1 year ago
I really had high hope for this one, and truly I was enthralled for about 1/4 of it; then the lead characters constant clashing and denying their love for each other just got tedious. And somewhere in the middle of the book, the POV started bouncing around like a pingpong ball. I also felt like the story arch wasn't quite right. The main story built up to the two finally admitting their love, and then the book seemed to start over with another story line. Granted it was a side plot she had set up early on that continued. But it wasn't a very interesting side plot, and we're supposed to care about this George fellow after only being introduced to him once, briefly. The side plot seemed contrived anyway--a one-note song to try and pad out the story. St. Briac is supposed to be this noble character, and yet he thinks nothing of having a married woman for a mistress. The man is attractive and witty, but seems quite obtuse at times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love to read, I put down 2-3 novels a week, this book has got to be the best love story I have read yet. Aimee and Thomas are fun watm real the chemisty is amazing. Thank you. I just down loaded a 3 book bundel from this author and can't wait to start..... tootles
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mrs. Wine does a very good job of developing the story. The lead male character is strong but caring. The female is strong but also sensible. The King was smart. The romance was great and not explicit. I will say that although i understand how a series work, that i prefer stories with insight into the couples future. Otherwise, great story. About 750 pages.
coxietbc More than 1 year ago
I Loved this book and the series! I highly recommend reading anything by Cynthia Wright. She's a talented writer and you just get lost in the stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutly woderful, this was a woderful read ! I love that ther Ir ebchannting loves keeps u on ur toes and unable to read fast enough!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy regency books, this is the book for you! From the cover to the end, this book is excellent!! You and No Other was a very fun and romantic book!! As soon as St. Briac and Aimee meet it is magical. I have thoroughly enjoyed this book! Cynthia is a fantastic writer and her books are definitely must read material! I highly recommend it!