×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

You Are Not a Stranger Here
     

You Are Not a Stranger Here

3.8 31
by Adam Haslett
 

See All Formats & Editions

In these unforgettable stories, the acclaimed author of Imagine Me Gone explores lives that appear shuttered by loss and discovers entire worlds hidden inside them. The impact is at once harrowing and thrilling.

An elderly inventor, burning with manic creativity, tries to reconcile with his estranged gay son. A bereaved boy draws a thuggish classmate

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

You Are Not a Stranger Here 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a book full of amazing, character-driven stories. The prose is beautiful, but not in a 'look how clever I am at writing' kind of way. It's beautiful in that it truly lets you get into the hearts and minds of the characters. It's obvious the author loves his characters. He knows them well enough to know their flaws, and their reasons and goodness within and in spite of those flaws. It's a beautiful empathy with pain of ordinary existence. Most of the negative reviews I see have to do with the lack of action and the depressing settings. It's true. This book is not something to read on the beach or if you dislike character-driven stories. That does not, however, make it a bad book -- what the author sets out to do, he does excellently. I've yet to see his equal. However, if you don't enjoy that type of writing generally, you probably won't enjoy it this time around either. Also, it is definitely a book I CAN put down and come back to. It isn't something you'll stay up all night dying to finish. The beauty of it is that even though I can put it down, I can't stop myself from coming back to it. Re-reading it, re-learning these characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Before I begin, I freely admit that I come to stories hoping to be entertained by way of vicarious living; I'm looking for an escape. Haslett's book offered nothing but depressing settings, dull characters, and stories that I ultimately didn't care about. Seldom do I ever put down a book--I should have dropped this one. If you're looking for a great story to escape with, avoid this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Camboron More than 1 year ago
Sometimes, while reading this book, I had to laugh, or else I would have to go as far down and deep into the emotions and happenings in this mini-novels. When people talk about painting, and how a few strokes can create or suggest forms, landscapes, I haven't really seen that in art as much as I thought I would. But, it is realized here in these stories. I think I'm not a good enough writer to even critique these stories. Some people won't watch certain intense movies, despite their amazingness, like Misery or Silence of the Lambs. I think, due to some of the subject matter of these stories, others might have the same reaction. But, these stories, I would hand out to passersby on the street, if I had enough copies. I would beg them to read them, even if they found some of the themes repulsive. These stories deserved every accolade put upon them. Can't wait to read something else from this gentleman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
anonymous67 More than 1 year ago
This book is depressing and full of unlikeable, deeply flawed characters. The short stories are clearly written, but offer little reason to read further than the first chapter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
theshippingnews More than 1 year ago
I don't see the reasons for the critical acclaim this book got. I think it's well-written and some of the characters are truly interesting, but it isn't a great book. The language is simple and direct, which I like, but it isn't especially graceful or powerful. If the book has any power, it's in its conviction that life is desperate and useless. How powerful a conclusion is that really?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
so unpretentious. insightful and witty. well-balanced. true. human. it's not about the stories' subjects and heroes' strange life stories, it is about the acceptance of people, characters, choices, and acceptance of the fact not being able to do or undertake anything. and about all that being perfectly all-right.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can give Haslett credit for originality, but these depressing stories about people living dismal lives on the edge just don't merit the enthusiasm of the critics. I was happy to put it into my bag of books destined for a charity sale.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My favorite collection of short stories. Haslett's clean ( that is, free of melodrama) style of writing allows for these sad and funny (dark humor) stories to shine. I can only hope the author is working on more stories or a novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While some may overlook this debut as nothing but a collection of short stories others will find it a remarkable look at the human experience of life and love. The stories are touching, honest and at times heartbreaking. Haslett has a true understanding of Chekhovian insight into why we love and why we lose. A triumph.