×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

You Don't Want To Know
     

You Don't Want To Know

3.8 145
by Lisa Jackson
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Chilling…Multiple red herrings and a host of sinister characters help keep the pages turning.” –Publishers Weekly
 
Life as Ava Garrison knew it ended the day her toddler son Noah went missing. In the two years since, she’s been in and out of Seattle mental institutions, existing in a fog of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

You Don't Want to Know 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 145 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really hate you posters that write these looooong reviews and reveal every detail of the book. Just because you got it for free, or have read it, DO NOT ruin it for me. I want to read it and be surprised. I want to get into it and not know what the next page holds. Your inconsiderate plot reveals ruins it for me. I wish bn would ban each and every one of you and in addition fine you. Maybe then you would think twice before you ruin a book for others.
livlife More than 1 year ago
I was looking foward to reading this book , sounded like a good storyline different from the other thrillers I typically read. I was surprised how slow this book started. I got to the middle and it finally turned into a page turner. This book is about Ava who in the beginning of this story is very depressed about the drowning of her son Noah about half way thru (when it gets good) she finally wakes up to the world around her and realizes everything and everybody is not what it/they seem. Was Noah murdered? Is he still out there? How come his body was never found? Why is everyone around her keeping secrets from her? or is this all just a delusional dream? Decent mystery you have to read just to see what happens to her son and why? Wasn't a surprise the ending but all in all a good decent, kinda creepy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read most, if not all, of Lisa Jackson’s other books and I cannot believe she wrote this drivel. Seriously. I stopped at one point and doubled checked the authors name because I thought perhaps I picked up someone else’s by mistake. First of all it was extremely repetitive. The book is 534 pages and I’m telling you she could have said what she wanted to say in a novella with no more than 200. It was over descriptive in so many places that you weren’t even sure if it was part of the story she was attempting to weave. Also, I should have counted the number of times she used the word “gaslighting” (a form of psychological abuse in which false information is presented with the intent of making a victim doubt his or her own memory, perception and sanity) because it was as if she learned a new word for the day and then wrote a book around it. The relationship between the two characters who were supposed to be attracted to each other where so underdeveloped as to not even be plausible. Also, there were so many characters that had nothing to do with the outcome and did not add to the story line I needed a genealogy map just to remember them all. I kept with it because I just keep thinking that surely it would get better ~ it didn’t. Skip this Lisa Jackson read. I wish I had.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A suspense filled romance with a gothic overtone. Couldn't put it down.
simple344 More than 1 year ago
There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of them. A great summer read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
what is this third grade book report, no this a rate and review not rate and reveal
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the premisis of the novel but there was a lot that I didn't like. Most of the time the story drug on and on. There were times of intense action but was ruined by repetative dialog. "Oh God, please God" and "gaslighting" were used more times than I could care count, to the point it was annoying. Then the climax and conclusion was so off the wall that I was very dissapointed. I kept with the book because I was interested in how it would all end but I wasn't impressed.
Kathy03 More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love most of this authors books, but this one is not worth the $$$$$. Way to gothic for my taste. Booooooorrrrrrrrring!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Uggh! I continued reading this book because I kept thinking it would get better. Everything happens on some little island, a whole bunch of mental case family members (often hard to keep straight who was who) live there too. The "love" between Ava and Dern was not believable at all. Pretty much most of the book was unbelievable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really, really disappointed in this book. Normally, Lisa Jackson is one of my favorite authors. However, she missed the mark with this book. The characters (all of them) are unlikeable, weird, or just downright nasty. I don't recommend this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As I'm reading this new release I get a deja vu feeling. There is so much going on, yet the main theme and premise makes me feel like this is a book that has been re-released. Initially, I was going to delete it. It is a great letdown, but I'll at least give it a few more chapters.
P-king More than 1 year ago
I wanted to like it. At times I really did like it - suspenseful mystery with an intriguing storyline. The suspense was palatable! But,sadly,in the end: > The plot just defied reality and the mystery's resolution was absurd. > The characters were undeveloped- their motives unclear at best. Characterization drives a plot; If you don't care about the characters, then you can't care about what happens to them.  > The storyline pacing lost a lot of its footing when the rising action bogged down in redundancy of repeating the same dialogue in various scenarios (adding new meaning to "padding").  > Editing was lacking, grammatical errors as well as with sequencing of events. > Chapters didn't segue well, as if chapters were written independently of the preceding ones then slapped together, resulting in a lack of cohesiveness. Very convoluted novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too convoluted. I have read all of LJ books and this was overly long. If some of the repeatitious actions had been left out it would gave been better. It also was not very believable. I wanted to lock them all in the loony bin before it was over. I had the entire plot figured out by page 65. Austin was the only character, who had me puzzled. Still, it was a well written and edited book which held my interest. I have also not figured out why a facility for the criminaly insane was located on a privately owned island and ran by the island's owners. No sex, some cursing, quite a bit of gory violence, physical and mental abuse. For readers 18 and up. AD
Suzanne70 More than 1 year ago
This mystery kept me turning the pages certain that I had figured it all out only to discover I was so wrong. It takes place on a rocky island in the Northwest with a hnnd full of strange people,a spooky deserted mental hospital and a large old and strange house.
mountainrose More than 1 year ago
I found this book very disappointing. The first half of the book was boring with all the background info. Seemed to go on and on without really saying much. Kept reading, even though many times I about gave up. The second half would have been classic Lisa Jackson had it not felt rushed to the finish line. The love story was sort of unbelievable and if I ever hear the word "gaslighting " in a book again I'll throw it away! My suggestion is save your money for one of the books in her series which are always good.
Anonymous 12 months ago
A Fantastic book. This book has plenty of twist and turns.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A real "Who done it" to the end. We kept getting hints but were never sure til the end. Well done!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
469 pages. Found myself hurrying through chores and responsibilities so I could read read read! Hard to put down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a great book! From the first page to the last one
rd-reader More than 1 year ago
This book does not disappoint. The twists and turns are classic Lisa Jackson. It pulls you into the story immediately and holds you through the whole book with lots of twists and turns.