×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Your Marketing Sucks
     

Your Marketing Sucks

2.5 10
by Mark Stevens
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Your marketing sucks . . ."

What in the world does Mark Stevens mean?

For starters, let's take spending camouflaged as marketing. Everyone sees all those expensive, slick, pointless campaigns day after day. Just turn on your TV set and there are all the look-alike ads from Ford, GM, and Chrysler with look-alike cars going down . . . a road. Creative?

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Your Marketing Sucks 2.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this book after hearing Mark Stevens on a Dan Kennedy Inner Circle interview. Boy did I feel ripped off. The best thing one can say about this very poorly written book is that the warning is right there on the cover- IT SUCKS! This book is a blatant attempt to get the easily impressed into using Stevens as a consultant. The book is hollow, an uninspired rehash of basic marketing and sales principles all shoved together. If you are expecting real examples of Stevens putting his own theories into play with quantifiable results, dream on... Based on Stevens' stressing "ROI", one would have expected the book to be crammed with testimonials from what should have been hundreds of thrilled and fawning clients. His consulting company must put these principles to work every day, right? He must be orchestrating amazing results on behalf of zillions of clients, right? What? No willing droves of converts or devotees? Where are the real-world examples and verified ROI results?? This book rounds out a long list of Stevens' gems including "How to Borrow a Million Dollars" (credit card max-out schemes?), "Extreme Management" (extreme confusion?), "Rich is a Religion" (I defer to a Rabbi and a Priest to opine on the claim Stevens is making there), "How to Pyramid Small Business Ventures into a Personal Fortune" (borrowing schemes or pyramid schemes?)- you can quickly see where this is heading. For true marketing guru guidance, with an abundance of success stories, check out Dan Kennedy, Robert W Bly, Jay Abraham, among others.
Lloyd2 More than 1 year ago
This book could not even be categorized as a 101 level textbook about marketing. He doesn't have a clue!
Guest More than 1 year ago
According to Mark Stevens you don¿t need to accept any marketing maxim unless you have proven that it works for your company. Mark Stevens provide managers with a process for identifying the marketing mistake that are making and the opportunities. Doing what your competitors do, even if you do it better, is not the way to become a market leader. The author suggest that if you can¿t prove that a marketing program is generating more income than it costs you to run it, and you can¿t correct that, stop the marketing program. The author maybe right, but in the business and especially in marketing departments self reflecting is not one of the strongest points that rules. It takes a lot of courage, strength and political games (depends on your position and professional attitude) to tell that you don¿t accept any marketing maxim unless you have proven that it works for the company. In other words, you must make certain that your marketing process is designed so that it leads to measurable sales. The author give a practical example of a accounting firms that never had a sales culture, in fact, they had derided salesmanship as unprofessional, virtually all of their marketing was created without the vision of a sale in mind. They figured that all that had to do was tell the world they existed, and that they were good accountants, and their firms would grow. Extreme marketing methodology goes about solving problems differently. Instead of seeking to achieve what is virtually impossible by pressuring, cajoling, and pleading with non-business generators to produce client relationships, extreme marketers engage in a process that leaves the professing out of the process of landing new clients, or enhancing relationships with exiting clients, until the point that the professional feels comfortable taking the reins. According to the author, execution of a marketing campaign is often considered the dull stuff. The real genius, it is thought, comes in the idea creation, the epiphany, and the insight threat leads to the overall strategy behind the marketing campaign, whatever it is. Execution is not about following a recipe. It is about enhancing it. The author argue that it you execute outside of the creative/marketing realm, you see another example of its ability to provide the winning edge. The more you can target your massage the better and the execution phase is the right place to do that. Paying attention to execution will also help you avoid mistakes that lead to marking failure. Who will benefit from this book? This book is for students, professionals running small business, and professionals that need a vision about their personal branding. But if you work within marketing departments for an international or global company, this book not broaden your focus.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A very poorly written and dense book of zero substance. A vulgar title doesn't make a good book. The author pontificates much but provides no identifiable case studies or practical examples of how his rantings translate into results. Painful and laborious reading. Honestly, it really just seems to be a rather dim brochure for the author's consulting company. He's written better stuff years ago. This is just awful. Pass.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is not the book if you want marketing tactics; but if you want a guide to link tactic to the bottom line, then this is the book. Many books focus on tricks and strategies, but this one brings them together so that your company makes money. Marketing people should be held accountable for every dollar spent on advertising, PR, personal selling etc.--not just wasted for 'awareness' that's not making any money.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for new insights or ideas on marketing, don't bother with this one. Total waste of time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. I just started a new business and it helped me a lot with my marketing strategies.
OTRUELOVE More than 1 year ago
This man just went on national televison and referred to a bunch of hard working American women as "terrorist" His product is a bunch of garbage with out a single original idea. As a New Yorker who lived through two actual terrorist attack I find him very offensive and clueless. Do not waste your money on this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book serves it purpose, and serves it well. It sobers you up. Reminds you of the real reason you're marketing - the big $, otherwise know as SALES. Seems simple enough my friends but too many of us, get carried away in the glitz and glamour of dreamy ad concepts and costly promos. The ones that only boost our egos but do little or nothing for profits. Brand managers and ad executives alike, buy it! Especially the ad executives¿ you'd be in for a good dose of reality when you do.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was very informative. It pointed out how important it is to set up a marketing program that is based on getting a return. Being owner of a design firm I am always trying to help my clients step up the look and feel of their brochures/advertising. Books like this are helping me offer better solutions to my clients by pin pointing their target and offering effective solutions like cross marketing among many other ideas in this book. The book is very easy to read with a lot of useful information that we will be putting to use for our business and offering the same things to our clients. A must read for new marketing people.