×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
  • Alternative view 1 of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
  • Alternative view 2 of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
  • Alternative view 3 of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
<Previous >Next
     

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

4.2 118
by Therese Anne Fowler
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE INSPIRATION FOR THE TELEVISION DRAMA Z: THE BEGINNING OF EVERYTHING

I wish I could tell everyone who thinks we're ruined, Look closer…and you'll see something extraordinary, mystifying, something real and true. We have never been what we seemed.

When beautiful, reckless Southern belle Zelda Sayre meets F. Scott

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 118 reviews.
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
Therese Fowler is a very talented writer as have read all her books--once again she has written a winner! Hats off first with the stunning cover (an eye catcher) and the research involved in putting together this extraordinary novel! Everything about the roaring 20s is appealing from the glitz, glamour, romance, travels, parties, culture, and fashion. As a lover of Scott Fitzgerald and The Great Gatsby, the first person fiction from Zelda&rsquo;s perspective was nicely portrayed, transporting you back in time, setting the mood for each adventure. You get caught up into Zelda&rsquo;s lifestyle as she experiences the highs and lows of a complex relationship of love and hate. She was talented and misunderstood-a Southern belle merging from the na&iuml;ve protected girl to the struggles of power, success, fame, travel, alcoholism, infidelity, and mental illness and tough choices as she struggles for her own independence and self-worth. Well done!
irishclaireKG More than 1 year ago
This is an incredibly readable novel, one of the best I have read about Fitzgeralds. As a university English professor, I have done a great deal of research on both Scott and Zelda, and the research here is impeccable. What Fowler has also done, is write a wonderful readable novel. The prose moves swiftly; no details are superfluous, repetitive or unnecessary. I stayed up half the night finishing this. What I also really appreciate is that Fowler tries to address several of the mythologized aspects of Zelda's life. Read Fowler's ending notes and you will see how she explains using the vast amounts of research available on this couple--including their own letters--to try and present a rationale view of what happened during that tragic, turbulent relationship. What emerges is Zelda as a sheltered, spoiled, na&iuml;ve young debutante, whisked away by the romantic notions presented to her by a mysterious, brash young man--a young man who offered her a way out of that safe and predictable existence she knew. The fact her parents were dead-set against it only added to the allure. To see this bright spirit crushed and distorted against her husbands' excessive ambition, immaturity, alcoholism and insecurities is tragic. Zelda is a heartbreaking figure and Fowler does a beautiful job bringing her to light. One of the best books I've read this year, so far.
elisabeth1st More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Perfect for fans of The Paris Wife or Rules of Civility.
Cycler94 More than 1 year ago
This in an incredible story about the life of Zelda Fitzgerald! Fowler captures the lives of Zelda and F. Scott Fitzgerald in such a way that makes you never want to stop reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being a big fan of F Scott Fitzgerald I thought this would be a great read and it was interesting but not a must read. An unexpectedly sad tale that made me want to learn more about her though to see how others viewed her and their relationship. For those that really loved The Paris Wife, you will likely enjoy this as well.
VictoriaAllman More than 1 year ago
I hope that, in another life, I was Zelda Fitzgerald.  In Z, A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, Therese Anne Fowler has captured the most amazing and interesting character of a real-life person and spun a fascinating tale of what her life was like as the wife of F. Scott Fitzgerald. The voice of the book is intriguing and unique and I couldn't help but be drawn into the 1920's and wish I were living this glamorous, chaotic life...until it came crashing down. Fowler has managed not only to grab my attention for the reading of this book but also to rekindle an interest in the writings of F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and Ezra Pound. I even put on a Cole Porter album to listen to while reading the last few chapters. If you'd like to be transported to another time and place do not hesitate to read Z. Victoria Allman author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you liked The Paris Wife, you will love Z. Fowler writes an incredible story of the life and times Zelda Fitzgerald and her struggle to establish her own talents,  find self worth all in the shadow of her infamous/famous husband F. Scott Fitzgerald. Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another book in a long line of the &quot;Poor Wives of Famous Men&quot; who had no choices in life but to be ruined by their husbands, rather than go on to fulfill their own  obvious-to-the-author brilliant destinies. While I understand the differences in eras. women could do one thing no matter the decade - leave him. Particularly if said woman  has her own artistic calling. Disappointing. The true story of Scott and Zelda is far more compelling. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I plodded through half of this book before finally giving up.  I hate not to finish a book but I made an exception in this case.  It is like reading  the diary of a really boring person's life.  Full of meaningless detail and lacking in depth.  Time to move on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've not finished reading it...the vocabulary is at a third grade level and the style is too simple to snare my interest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was somewhat disappointed with the book. Thought the Paris Wife was better. Would suggest you read the book Zelda. Much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved every minute of this book.  The writing is so beautifully done, you just want to write down little snippets to remember forever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely fabulous. I could not put the book down. The author transports you back to a part of history full of excesses. You feel the love and the heartache with each word that F. Scott and Zelda had for each other.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good book about the life and times of Zelda, but her struggles reminded me of other women I have known.  Her story may be set in a particular time, but it is also universal.
livre-amoureux More than 1 year ago
Don't waste your time with this trite book...if you really have an interest in the Fitzgerald's, buy Nancy Mitford's "Zelda" and learn something worthwhile!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disappointing. Seems to be a poor copy of &quot;The Paris Wife,&quot; which I thought was wonderful.
Deidra_Simply_Books More than 1 year ago
Powerful Story, Emotionally Driven!In all honesty, I should say before my review that I don't know much about Zelda Fitzgerald.  All I really knew about F. Scott Fitzgerald was just from reading some of his work.  In all honesty, my love of Midnight in Paris is what made me click request on NetGalley.  My enjoyment of this book has nothing to do with accuracy of the historical information.   I wasn't sure what to expect in this book.  The time period though is such an interesting time.  The 20's?  It was just interesting time in our history.  Prohibition. The first world war.  New York.  And then the book goes into Paris and other parts of France, Italy, and others.  I love books that allow me to explore the world outside the great state of Texas.  I really thought that the author did a great job of capturing the blurring world that Scott and Zelda faced.   As a story, the book was pretty awesome.  The story was powerful, and I felt all these crazy swirling emotions throughout Zelda's fight with her world, her role as a woman, and the wife of a great and troubled writer.  Living in the world now, I can't imagine what it must have really been like for women.  Many people would be disappointed to find that I am not really a feminist.  But I do understand that it's hard to criticize a world in which I didn't live.  I really appreciated the character that Zelda represented.   Many would really appreciate the relationship between Scott and Zelda.  There was a lot of love there, but there was also a bit of toxicity.  The relationship was just as bad for them as there was good.  Watching them love each other and yet slowly tear each other apart was incredibly heartbreaking to witness through the pages.  Seeing the different characters that we have come to recognize through their work in the book was also really interesting.  Characters like Ernest Hemingway, Gertrude Stein, Gerald and Sara Murphy, Ezra Pound, Picasso, and many others fill the book.  I really appreciate that kind of thing.  I know that my review isn't a super clear image of what the book is.  Let me try to summarize.  Zelda Fitzgerald was the wife of F. Scott Fitzgerald, a great writer from the 20's.  She was also a dancer, an artist, and a writer herself.  She would discover so much about who she is throughout the story, but she is also faced with the conflicts such discoveries have with the role that women were to play during that time.  As a daughter of the South, Scott promised her a world of adventure.  Still at the end of a tumultuous adventure, even in the midst of mental instability made worse by misdiagnosis, she kept a strength and dignity that I respected.  The story is powerful and emotional and the writing, to me, was beautiful.  It's a great story, and it makes me want to read some biographies and read some of Zelda's work. 
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
Z: A NOVEL OF ZELDA FITZGERALD written by Therese Ann Fowler,read by Jenna Lamia is a wonderful historical/autobiography set during the 1920&rsquo;2. A powerful story of the Fitzgeralds,the Jazz age,the roaring 20&prime;s,love,the life and times of F. Scott Fitzgerald and his beautiful wife,Zelda. Their drinking,jealousy,obsession,fame,and Zelda&rsquo;s diagnosis of Schizophrenia and her stay in a Swiss Mental facility. An autobiography of a fascinating couple in American history,F. Scott Fitzgerald. I think we all have read &ldquo;The Great Gatsby&rdquo; in high school,but this story will make you want to re-read that story with a new look. Oh yeah, did I mention Ernest Hemingway. The reading of this story was very smoothly done, holding your interest. And yes the reader uses a Southern drawl often to carry the story. Being from the South, I enjoyed the Sourthern drawl. A wonderful and intriguing audio. Be warned: It may contain some offensive language to some readers! Received for an honest review. *On Sale 3/26/2013* * Published simultaneously with the print edition from St. Martin&rsquo;s Press* RATING: 4 HEAT RATING: NONE RECEIVED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews/My Book Addiction and More
Anonymous 3 months ago
The zombies have taken over and we are the only survivors left. Rules: You can cuss and have powers but no sex. You will get a book for that. Map: res 2 is the safe haven, res 3 is the town, res 4 is the wasteland and res 5 is bios. Have fun, good luck, and anything is possible!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Its very interesting to learn about Zelda Sayre Fitzgerald.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book within weeks of finishing The Paris Wife in 2014. I couldn't wait to compare their stories and look at life in the 1920's. Then I became distracted by other things and a whole year went by with Z sitting on my shelf, waiting to be read. When I finally picked it up I wasn't excited anymore, but I felt that I should read it before I bought more books. The beginning of Z was rather confusing because I expected it to start with Zelda as a child or young woman and instead it began with a letter she was writing to Scott late in their marriage. In addition, I didn't find Zelda very likeable at the beginning. She came across haughty and spoiled with just a touch of naive rebelliousness. I worried that the book would be boring because I disliked her, and then I felt bad about disliking her, and it spiraled from there. I put the book down and didn't pick it up again for 6 months, at which point I finally gave in and decided to finish it, because I hate leaving things undone. As the story progresses, Zelda matures, not just physically, but emotionally and mentally. Being in her mind throughout the story you can feel her growing and - thankfully - becoming for likeable. As Zelda and Scott's marriage deteriorates, Zelda gains unimaginable strength of character and becomes one of my favorite people. She is truly a Renaissance woman. She is a painter, a dancer, and a wonderful writer despite being pushed continually into using Scott's name on her work. She single-handedly saves their family from ruin at the expense of her own sanity, and then she puts her life back together again. Zelda Fitzgerald becomes a true paragon of a strong woman, and I am thankful every day that Therese Ann Fowler chose to share this version of her with the world. Living through the ups and downs and twists of a marriage that spans wars and depressions, fame and hospitalization, love and hatred, Zelda is the one holding together not just her own life, but Scott's as well. Until the very end, she is his biggest supporter as well as his biggest critic, and he is only the better for it. Probably the part that intrigued me the most was the summer everyone went to the beach, because this period of time appeared in both Z and in The Paris Wife, but from the different women's points of view. Having read The Paris Wife, in which Zelda and Scott were very minor character and hardly mentioned, it was fascinating to see Ernest and especially Hadley from Zelda's point of view in Z. To Zelda, Hadley is a very important person, and someone she strives to understand and even somewhat emulate because of her strength during Ernest's betrayal. The whole section just made me love these two women even more. By the time I reached the conclusion of the book, I didn't want it to be over. The beginning had been explained and I understood the point of starting at the end, since in many ways Zelda's life came full circle. I would highly recommend Z to anyone who liked The Paris Wife, and to anyone and everyone who enjoys period pieces. In fact, I would recommend that every woman (or just every person, really) should read this book and The Paris Wife because they are just so educational and inspiring and strengthening that I think everyone could gain something from their pages. Curio Street Reads Rating: 5 Stars www.CurioStreetReads.wordpress.com
debrak521 More than 1 year ago
Very interesting telling of the story of F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. Their relationship as husband and wife, their friendship with Ernest Hemingway. And their world traveling lifestyle are all explored.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who u marrying
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*he walks in naked and plops onto the side of the bed* Lets start.