×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Zoe's Tale
     

Zoe's Tale

3.8 63
by John Scalzi
 

See All Formats & Editions

How do you tell your part in the biggest tale in history?

I ask because it's what I have to do. I'm Zoe Boutin Perry: A colonist stranded on a deadly pioneer world. Holy icon to a race of aliens. A player (and a pawn) in a interstellar chess match to save humanity, or to see it fall. Witness to history. Friend. Daughter. Human. Seventeen years old.

Everyone

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Zoe's Tale 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
DrewGuy More than 1 year ago
I picked this ebook up thinking it would tell a new story set sometime after The Last Colony. Unfortunately, this is a complete retelling of The Last Colony, only from Zoe's viewpoint. And it was boring. There are significant plot points to The Last Colony, and having presented that story once, Scalzi obviously can't relate it in such detail again. So instead Scalzi gives a synopsis of each critical plot point when the book gets there, essentially skimming over all the action and drama. This makes the book very weak. In fact, there is only two completely new scenes: the first to address some criticism he received about introducing and then dropping the "werewolves"; and the second the story of what happens when Zoe enters Conclave territory to deliver John's message to General Gau. By themselves, not worth buying this book for. To be fair, the voice Scalzi creates for Zoe is believable, and the dialogue mostly entertaining. Scalzi does have a way with sarcastic dialogue. But this is the only redeeming feature of the book. Overall, the constant narration of the same story weakens Zoe's character quite a bit. She would have been stronger in an original story. Or, if Scalzi could have woven Zoe's Tale into The Last Colony, it would have made that book even better than it is now. But simply retelling the one book from a different character's viewpoint just didn't work. I won't say not to buy this book. But if you do so, be aware of what you are paying for.
BdGold More than 1 year ago
This was such a disappointment. Don't get me wrong. I love the Old Man's War series, and John Scalzi is a pretty good story teller with a rich SF universe. I bought this simply because Scalzi had written it, figuring that even a "bad" book by him would be good. Nope. I grabbed Zoe's Tale without bothering to read any reviews. Stupid, I know. I have paid the price. This is Last Colony told from Zoe's point of view. Sadly it adds little to even understanding the Last Colony. Also I have teenage daughters. I know entirely too much about teenage girl behavior. I don't need to grab a book expecting Sci-Fi swashbuckling and get the FaceBook version of my daughters' last sleep over. That being said, I am still heading back to the bookstore to find another Scalzi book because I need my fix.
Adam_Weeks More than 1 year ago
I wish I read some reviews before I bought this book! John Scalzi must be under a contract to write X amount of books because this "Zoe's Tale" proves that he is suffering from writers block. I feel dupped & quite honestly I don't think I will continue with this series because I don't trust him now.
The same story but from another characters perspective, I mean come on! That's pathetic!
Goofyfoot2001 More than 1 year ago
Funny how lengthy and well written the good reviews are here. The bad reviews tell the story here. No point revisiting the same story. This must have been a horendously boring book to be forced to write. Loved the series though. Couldn't put those first three down and read all three in about a week.
Midwesterner More than 1 year ago
Agree with DrewGuy's review. While the book reflects Scalzi's writing skill, it does not have enough new plot-material to be satisfying for those of us who've read the other books in the "Old Man's War" series. Avoid disappointment (and make time for the rest of your reading stack) by just reading Chapters 16-17 and 22-25.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I made an old man all misty. I hope he writes another in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A retelling of the story from Zoe's perspective. Fun and a must read for fans of the authors other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But I guess I have to write something, too. I'll just put the same thing for all of Scalzi's work. Basically, funny dialogue and narration, completely lacking in pretension, and clever plot-writing to boot. I don't usually have favorites if anything, but Scalzi has earned the position of my favorite author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gawd More than 1 year ago
Imaginatively sculpted Universe with diverse races and many things going on; not just waiting for the MC
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
James_Reid More than 1 year ago
Zoe's Tale is an excellent example of expanding a story by telling from a completely different perspective. Scalzi is a skilled writer.
DFY More than 1 year ago
Scalzi is a master story teller to be able to pull off two books in a row about the same series of events. The perspective of Zoe's tale is different and exciting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Morningbreeze: res2 <br> Sharkfang: res3 <br> Lionpaw: res4 <br> Abby: res 5 <br> Extus Eagle: res 6 <p> Abby can be found in camp half blood at athenian constitution. Her favourite colour is blue and she can so far hold her breath for upto 20 min under water.
Drewano More than 1 year ago
As indicated from the title of the book this story is told from the viewpoint of John and Jane&rsquo;s teenage daughter Zoey.  Although she&rsquo;s just a teenager, you would never know it from the way she acts and talks during the book.  Yes there are some teenage angst and immaturity but it&rsquo;s few and far between.  Although an interesting take, this book doesn't add much to the &ldquo;Old Man&rsquo;s War&rdquo; story as its follows the same events as the reader saw &ldquo;The Lost Colony&rdquo; just from a different perspective.  There are a few new things we learn but they&rsquo;re character specific.  That being said if you enjoy the series you&rsquo;ll enjoy this one as well!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read Old Man's War and I was hooked. I've read everything Scalzi has done. The Old man's war and Ghost Brigade was up there with the all time greatest ...such as Ray Bradbury. I was somewhat disappointed with the rambling and confusion of Zoe's Tale. It was good, but a long way from his best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago