×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Zorba the Greek
     

Zorba the Greek

4.2 13
by Nikos Kazantzakis
 

See All Formats & Editions

A stunning new translation of the classic book—and basis for the beloved Oscar-winning film—brings the clarity and beauty of Kazantzakis’s language and story alive.

First published in 1946, Zorba the Greek, is, on one hand, the story of a Greek working man named Zorba, a passionate lover of life, the unnamed narrator who he accompanies to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Zorba the Greek 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the author's writing style. However, although I admired Zorba's 'free' lifestyle and attitude, I thought he was a scroungy, gross, lazy pervert. Won't recommend this one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book. I saw the movie years ago but barely remembered it. I enjoyed it immensley. This book has been analysed many times. I'll just say this, if you've never read it, you should. Zorba is one of the greatest characters in all literature.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BOOOMMM
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I read this book two years in seventh grade, I did not anticipate the impact in which this novel would have on my understanding and appreciation of philosophy. Kazantzakis was a masterful author, and his thinking was revolutionary for the twentieth century. This is one of the greatest introspects into the philosophy, and is a brilliant work of journey on the part of the author. Kazantzakis, sadly, is and underappreciated author in world literature, but he left a tremendous mark with this book. It is completely original, an escape from the conventional and a trip to a world unimagined by most. As a Greek-American, it also broadened my understanding of the island of Crete, where my own grandfather was born and raised.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Zorba the Greek' is simply a great novel. Kazantzakis is brilliant in his dialogue, story-telling, and word pictures. I have read Zorba over and over again, particularly when I want to feel the vibrant life of Greek culture. Many find themselves in opposition to Kazantzakis' philosophies, but this book should be savored for its pure celebration of life, brilliantly embodied in Zorba and his intellectual boss and friend, a young British Greek. Sexist, yes. Anti-religious, yes. But a great read, nonetheless!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the book 3 times, in the original language, and a Bulgarian and English translation over a span of 10 years... It makes me laugh and cry over the same lines still... If you have any love for humanity, you MUST read this book or your spiritual life is not going to be complete... Inspiring.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i found this in a used bookshop and thought to myself 'hey, i have three dollars and i've heard this title somewhere before, and nothing else here has grabbed me...why not?' i'm amazingly glad i purchased it. i...i can't endorse it highly enough. books don't get any better than this. interesting and dynamic characters, compelling storyline, and some of the most incredibly beautiful writing i've ever had the privilege to read...this book has it all. the end is amazing...but then again, so is the beginning...and all the stuff in between is really great too...dude, the whole thing's awesome. read this book. now.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not much to be said, this is among the top-five best books in the last three centuries. Kazantzakis is one of the few men that truely experienced life- life as the highest gift and power. And Zorba screams it out. A life-changing experience, every person interested in understanding why we are alive should read this book.
Michelle1948 More than 1 year ago
The hostess for our bookclub made this our month's selection. I truly looked forward to reading this selection. But I found it a little too slow for me. Although parts of the book were quite entertaining and had some laugh outloud moments...I still found myself skipping large sections of the book because I felt bored. Unfortunately, I did not finish this book. This is just not my type of book but I appreciate a bookclub whose members read a large variety ....fiction, literature, biography, history, romance, mystery,etc. This book is not something I would pick up on my own but I appreciate the opportunity to give it a try.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just got done reading this book for my Eng. class and I must say, it is one of the worst books that I have read in a long time. Although it gave Zorba's philosphy on life in various ways, I do not think that it is at all a very interesting book to read.