Book Cover Image. Title: Redeployment, Author: Phil Klay
The National Book Awards are the nation's preeminent literary prizes, honoring outstanding Fiction, Young People's Literature, Poetry, and Nonfiction. Phil Klay won this year's fiction award for his short story collection Redeployment. Evan Osnos took this year's prize for nonfiction for Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China.
The 2014 Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded to Patrick Modiano (b.1945). The Academy described the French novelist, who has written frequently about the Nazi occupation of France, as "a Marcel Proust of our time."

2014 Man Booker Prize Winner

See All Past Prize Winners
Book Cover Image. Title: The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Author: Richard Flanagan

The Narrow Road to the Deep North

Richard Flanagan

The prestigious Man Booker Prize, previously only given for a novel written in English by a citizen of the Commonwealth of Nations, Ireland, or Zimbabwe, now includes writers outside of the U.K. and Commonwealth. This year's winner is the Australian writer Richard Flanagan, whose novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North tells the harrowing stories of the prisoners and captors on the infamous Burma railway. Flanagan is the fourth Australian to win the prize. 

Richard Flanagan

Richard Flanagan

What to Read
Handpicked by our booksellers, these titles all have one thing in common: great writing, from authors at the start of their careers.