101 Great Orchestral Classics, Vol. 8

This CD is Not Available through BN.com

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 2/15/1994
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 730099114820
  • Catalog Number: 551148


Disc 1
  1. 1 Karelia Suite, for orchestra, Op. 11: Alla marcia - Czecho-Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra & Jean Sibelius (4:34)
    Composed byJean Sibelius
    Conducted byKenneth Schermerhorn
    Performed byCzecho-Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Kenneth Schermerhorn
  2. 2 Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major ("Elvira Madigan") K. 467: Andante - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart & Concentus Hungaricus (6:46)
    Composed byWolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. 3 Hungarian Dances (21) for orchestra, WoO 1: No 5 - Istvan Bogar & Johannes Brahms (2:18)
    Composed byJohannes Brahms
    Conducted byIstvan Bogar
    Performed byIstvan Bogar, Budapest Symphony Orchestra
  4. 4 Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048: Allegro - Johann Sebastian Bach & Capella Istropolitana (3:27)
    Composed byJohann Sebastian Bach
  5. 5 Symphony No. 9 in E minor ("From the New World"), B. 178 (Op. 95) (first published as No. 5): Largo - Antonin Dvorák & Stephen Gunzenhauser (12:01)
    Composed byAntonin Dvorák
    Conducted byStephen Gunzenhauser
    Performed byStephen Gunzenhauser, Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra
  6. 6 The Sleeping Beauty, ballet, Op. 66 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Czecho-Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra (4:34)
    Composed byPeter Ilich Tchaikovsky
    Conducted byOndrej Lenard
    Performed byCzecho-Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ondrej Lenard
  7. 7 Romance for violin & orchestra No. 2 in F major, Op. 50 - Ludwig van Beethoven & Kenneth Jean (9:51)
    Composed byLudwig van Beethoven
    Conducted byKenneth Jean
    Performed byKenneth Jean, Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra
  8. 8 The Sorcerer's Apprentice (L'apprenti sorcier), symphonic scherzo for orchestra - Paul Dukas & Czecho-Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra (11:27)
    Composed byPaul Dukas
    Conducted byKenneth Jean
    Performed byCzecho-Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Kenneth Jean
  9. 9 Largo in F major, instrumental arrangement ("Ombra mai fu" from the opera Serse) - Capella Istropolitana & George Frideric Handel (3:42)
    Composed byGeorge Frideric Handel
  10. 10 An der schönen, blauen Donau (On the Beautiful, Blue Danube), waltz for orchestra (with chorus ad lib), Op. 314 (RV 314) - Johann Strauss II & Czecho-Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra (9:24)
    Composed byJohann Strauss II
    Conducted byOndrej Lenard
    Performed byCzecho-Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ondrej Lenard
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously