15 Seconds

15 Seconds

3.8 58
by Andrew Gross
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“A total white knuckle, stay-up-all-night thrill ride. Enjoyed the heck out of it!”
—Harlan Coben

“A top-notch thriller writer.”
—Chicago Sun Times

“A master of no-nonsense, good, old-fashioned suspense.”
—Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The Jefferson Key

A writer &

See more details below

Overview

“A total white knuckle, stay-up-all-night thrill ride. Enjoyed the heck out of it!”
—Harlan Coben

“A top-notch thriller writer.”
—Chicago Sun Times

“A master of no-nonsense, good, old-fashioned suspense.”
—Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The Jefferson Key

A writer “in the company of Child and Coben” (Connecticut Post), New York Times bestseller Andrew Gross is the acclaimed author of The Blue Zone, Eyes Wide Open, and other exceptional suspense thrillers. Now, with 15 Seconds, he delivers an electrifying, lightning-paced story of a desperate man on the run, trying to save his family from the faceless enemy that’s determined to destroy them all. A gripping tale of a life turned upside-down in 15 Seconds, Gross’s stunner is a must for fans of James Patterson, David Baldacci, Jeffery Deaver, Lisa Gardner, Nelson DeMille, Tess Gerritsen, or anyone who likes action and suspense done to perfection.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
At the start of this chilling stand-alone from Thriller Award–finalist Gross (Eyes Wide Open), an overzealous police officer named Martinez stops cosmetic surgeon Henry Steadman, who’s on his way to a Doctors Without Borders conference, for a minor traffic violation outside Jacksonville, Fla. Soon after placing Henry under arrest, Martinez decides to let him off with a warning, but before Henry can leave the scene, somebody in “an old-model blue sedan” drives by and shoots Martinez in the head. Henry, fearing he’ll be accused of the murder, panics and drives away. The object of an intensive manhunt, Henry becomes increasingly mired in more violence. A chance call puts him in touch with a community outreach officer, who finds Henry’s story credible and senses a conspiracy when other cops refuse to consider evidence of his innocence. Some readers may find Henry’s initial behavior unconvincing, but once he goes on the run, the plot turns thrillingly realistic with a surprising resolution. Agent: Simon Lipskar, Writers House. (July)
Kirkus Reviews
A taut thriller from Gross (Eyes Wide Open, 2011, etc.) about misplaced vengeance. A stoned young woman accidentally kills a mother and child with her car and goes to prison. Elsewhere, plastic surgeon Henry Steadman is stopped for a traffic violation on his way to a medical conference. The traffic cop hassles him far out of proportion to the offense, and while they argue, a stranger drives up and shoots the cop. Soon, a friend of Steadman is also dead, and Steadman is the only suspect in both killings. Police may shoot him on sight if he tries to turn himself in, so he decides to track down the shooter's car instead. Meanwhile, he becomes increasingly aware that someone has set him up. He is a nonviolent man who doesn't even own a gun, and he has no known enemies. While he desperately tries to find an ally to help him prove his innocence, his unknown enemy ups the ante. Steadman is a flawed but resourceful hero who has more than his own life at stake, while his antagonist operates on a perverted logic that makes him both fearsome and believable. This story begins in high gear and never downshifts as it often swerves to show the world through the villain's eyes. To him, merely killing Steadman won't be enough. The doctor must suffer as much as possible first. It all works up to a frightening finale that Gross handles with masterful skill. Fans of the genre will love this one. It's a fast, fun read with crisp dialogue and a tight plot. If you're a bedtime reader, you might as well plan on staying up late, because you'll be itching to learn how it ends.
Evening Standard (UK)
“Gripping...coming up on the rails behind Harlan Coben and Lee Child.... Very diverting.”
Harlan Coben
“A total white knuckle, stay-up-all-night thrill ride. Enjoyed the heck out of it!”

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061655975
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
07/10/2012
Pages:
336
Product dimensions:
6.36(w) x 9.08(h) x 1.12(d)

Videos

What People are saying about this

Harlan Coben
“A total white knuckle, stay-up-all-night thrill ride. Enjoyed the heck out of it!”

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >