22 Britannia Road

22 Britannia Road

by Amanda Hodgkinson
     
 

Esta es la historia de una pareja de polacos que se reúnen en Londres al terminar la Segunda Guerra Mundial para empezar una nueva vida junto a su hijo pequeño, pero nada es lo que parece. Lo que debería ser un reencuentro feliz empieza a complicarse por la falta de comunicación en la pareja después de una experiencia tan

Overview

Esta es la historia de una pareja de polacos que se reúnen en Londres al terminar la Segunda Guerra Mundial para empezar una nueva vida junto a su hijo pequeño, pero nada es lo que parece. Lo que debería ser un reencuentro feliz empieza a complicarse por la falta de comunicación en la pareja después de una experiencia tan traumática como es la guerra. No en vano han estado separados (él, en el frente; ella, escondida en los bosques de Polonia con su hijo), y ya nada parece poder fluir como antes. Ambos tienen secretos inconfesables: él estuvo enamorado de una mujer durante el frente y ella perdió al hijo que tenían, de modo que el niño no es su hijo.

Editorial Reviews

Sarah Towers
It is Hodgkinson's portrait of the primal bond between mother and child, her visceral understanding of the gorgeous, terrible weight of love mothers must carry, war or no war, secret or no secret, that leaves an indelible impression.
—The New York Times
Publishers Weekly
In her powerful debut, Hodgkinson takes on the tale of a family desperately trying to put itself back together after WWII. Silvana and Janusz have only been married a few months when the war forces them apart. Silvana and their infant son, Aurek, leave Poland and disappear into the forests of Eastern Europe, where they bear witness to German atrocities. Meanwhile Janusz, the sole survivor of his slaughtered military unit, flees to France. There, he takes up with a local girl and, though he loves her, awaits the war's end so that he can go in search of his wife and son. He eventually finds them in a refugee camp and they travel to England together, where they attempt to put the past behind them. But the secrets they carry pull at the threads of their fragile peace. Hodgkinson alternates viewpoints to relay the story of three desperate characters, skillfully toggling between the war and its aftermath with wonderfully descriptive prose that pulls the reader into a sweeping tale of survival and redemption. (May)
Library Journal
This debut novel moves between wartime Poland and postwar England as it follows the shifting fortunes of Janusz Nowak and his wife, Silvana. Their young marriage is tested by the German invasion as Janusz enlists and Silvana finds herself left behind in Warsaw with their young son, Aurek. Janusz loses his regiment and ends up in England after spending time on a farm in France, where he has a passionate love affair. Silvana and Aurek escape into the forest and endure years of privation and abuse at the hands of their protectors. Their unexpected postwar family reunion is marred by the guilty secrets they each harbor. And in spite of Janusz's good job and comfortable home, the path to happiness is complicated by Aurek's mistrust of his father and the appearance of a dashing widower with a murky past, who is drawn to Silvana. VERDICT Fans of novels like The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society and Sarah's Key, who can never have too much of a good war story, will warm to this fine debut. Recommended.—Barbara Love, Kingston Frontenac P.L., Kingston, Ont.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9788402421005
Publisher:
Ediciones B
Publication date:
04/30/2012
Edition description:
Spanish-language Edition
Pages:
368
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.20(d)

Meet the Author

Amanda Hodgkinson was born in Burnham-on-Sea, England, and earned an MA in creative writing from the University of East Anglia. She now lives with her husband and two daughters in a farmhouse in the southwest of France. This is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >