A Breath of Life

( 9 )

Overview

A mystical dialogue between a male author and his creation, this posthumous work has never before been translated, and is a book of particular beauty and strangeness.A mystical dialogue between a male author (a thinly disguised Clarice Lispector) and his/her creation, a woman named Angela, this posthumous work has never before been translated. Lispector did not even live to see it published.At her death, a mountain of fragments remained to be “structured” by Olga Borelli. These fragments form a dialogue between a...
See more details below
Paperback
$12.80
BN.com price
(Save 19%)$15.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (10) from $9.38   
  • New (6) from $9.38   
  • Used (4) from $9.65   
A Breath of Life

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.99
BN.com price
(Save 31%)$15.95 List Price

Overview

A mystical dialogue between a male author and his creation, this posthumous work has never before been translated, and is a book of particular beauty and strangeness.A mystical dialogue between a male author (a thinly disguised Clarice Lispector) and his/her creation, a woman named Angela, this posthumous work has never before been translated. Lispector did not even live to see it published.At her death, a mountain of fragments remained to be “structured” by Olga Borelli. These fragments form a dialogue between a god-like author who infuses the breath of life into his creation: the speaking, breathing, dying creation herself, Angela Pralini. The work’s almost occult appeal arises from the perception that if Angela dies, Clarice will have to die as well. And she did.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Starred Review.

One in a series of four new translations, this is the first time this posthumous book from one of Brazil's most renowned writers has been translated into English. The novel is a lyrical and expertly rendered schizoid duet comprising the exchanges between the "Author" (a male approximation of Lispector) and Angela Pralini, a textual manifestation of his "dark" "interior dialogue" whom he loves yet simultaneously wants to destroy. Because the Author cannot clearly define Angela, or separate her from himself-much like Lispector (Água Viva) cannot separate herself from the Author-the novel does not progress in a traditional sense. Rather, the Author admits that "What this book is missing is a bang. A scandal-" something to put Angela on a trajectory other than that of her creator. As the two wrestle with the conditions of their relationship, they each offer transcendent insights into the writing process, the artifice of character creation, the morbid, and the absurd, as when the Author laments being "objectified" as a writer, and Angela asks entreatingly, "But does anyone hear me?" While the innovative nature of the work will likely appeal to fans of Beckett, Lispector's intoxicating prose makes this experimental dialogue special.
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

SFGate
Both dazzling and difficult.
The Times Literary Supplement
“Her images dazzle even when her meaning is most obscure, and when she is writing of what she despises she is lucidity itself.”
The Coffin Factory
“Reading Lispector is an intellectual adventure... Serious writing is a dangerous business, and unlike any other author, Lispector is willing to embrace the danger and come out the other side of the void.”
Full Stop
“The raw, demanding pace and the dialogic form of A Breath of Life provoke an urgent meditation on life, self, and time. In fact, reading this novel may be a form of meditation.”
The L Magazine
“One of 20th-century Brazil’s most intriguing and mystifying writers.”
Orhan Pamuk
“One of the twentieth century’s most mysterious writers in all her vibrant colors.”
San Francisco Chronicle
“Both dazzling and difficult.”
Benjamin Moser - San Francisco Chronicle
“I had a sort of missionary urge with her...but I started thinking, even when I was 19: How can I help this person reach the prominence she deserves?”
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780811219624
  • Publisher: New Directions Publishing Corporation
  • Publication date: 6/13/2012
  • Pages: 220
  • Sales rank: 490,411
  • Product dimensions: 5.10 (w) x 7.90 (h) x 0.60 (d)

Meet the Author

Clarice Lispector (1925-1977), the author of such works as Near to the Wild Heart, The Hour of the Star, and The Passion According to G. H., is the internationally acclaimed novelist and short-story writer from Brazil and the subject of Benjamin Moser’s magisterial biography Why This World.

The son of Brazilian immigrants, Johnny Lorenz teaches at Montclair State University and received a Fulbright for his work in Brazilian literature.

Series editor Benjamin Moser, who contributes afterwords for all four of these new translations, is the author of Why This World: A Biography of Clarice Lispector, due out in paperback from Oxford University Press in May 2012. He also just completed a new translation of Lispector’s The Hour of the Star.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Dawn

    Hello may i join Im good at writing speeches and stories (you can call it persuasion)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Phantom Cyre

    He leans against a tree in the shadows, his scythe propped next to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Nyla

    Hi she whispers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Rouge

    Wassup

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Bowman

    I rp in several rps that allow powers, but I don't like places where the powers are unlimited, characters are invincible, and assassins are just plan godmodders, and "inapropriate stuff" is plain wrong and disgusting. But what exactly do we do in this "rebellion" though, before I join? ~Bowman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Braeze

    I was talkin to sodapop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    To this organization

    I think you should stop assassins too, its really annoying to have cats attack u..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Sodapop to breeze

    Like the breeze i dated?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Gravity

    Yes u may join. Im Gravity if u need anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)