A Candidate for Murder

A Candidate for Murder

4.3 8
by Joan Lowery Nixon
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes A Candidate For Murder from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        A suspense novel set in the world of politics. With her father running for governor of Texas, Cary is determined to find out why she appears to

Overview

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes A Candidate For Murder from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        A suspense novel set in the world of politics. With her father running for governor of Texas, Cary is determined to find out why she appears to be in danger.
 
“A thriller…[with] believable characters and an ever-mounting level of suspense [that will] hold the reader’s attention to the finish.” –Publishers Weekly
 
“Nixon is back doing the kind of book she does best…an inviting read.” –Booklist /2000


From the Paperback edition.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
While Cary's father enters the political limelight, his daughter gets embroiled in a series of strange events in this thriller. Ages 12-up. (May)
School Library Journal
Gr 6-8-- Cary Amberson's father is running for governor of Texas, and this means many changes in her life. Classmates she thought were her friends start joking about her father, and she has less time for schoolwork and her boyfriend, Justin. She starts getting some odd telephone calls, and has the feeling that she's being watched. Readers, aware of when Cary's problems started, must wait impatiently for her to figure it out. There is no doubt that Cary will eventually be safe, and the suspects presented are clearly red herrings. The only real mystery is what attracts Cary to her wimpy boyfriend. In addition, Nixon leaves a significant flaw in the plot in order to create a suspect. In spite of all the terrifying things that happen to Cary, her parents don't tell her that their butler is really a bodyguard, thinking she'd be frightened by the knowledge. This is, quite simply, unbelievable, and mystery readers deserve more respect. While Nixon does maintain mild interest until the end, this is not one of her better thrillers. For those looking for real suspense, suggest Joan Hess's A Diet to Die For (St. Martin's, 1989), or anything by Barbara Michaels. --Elizabeth Mellett, Brookline Public Library, MA

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780307827463
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
09/25/2013
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
224
File size:
3 MB
Age Range:
12 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for The Kidnapping of Christina LattimoreThe SéanceThe Name of the Game Was Murder, and The Other Side of the Dark, which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans.


From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

A Candidate for Murder 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
At a country club, Cary Amberson over hears two men talking suspiciously about something. She doesn¿t think too much of it until she is driving home from school one day and realizes she is being followed. She races home to tell her father, who happens to be running for the governor of Texas. Then a series of other strange events happen, from drugs being planted in her car to her fathers campaign office being ransacked. Cary then notices a girl following her everywhere she goes. Cary feels she can only tell her friend Sally Jo, a reporter and her boyfriend Justin about these strange things that are happening to her. Soon more personal things begin to happen to her, like a man breaking into her house and her receiving phone calls from a woman warning her about something in the middle of the night. She then becomes suspicious of her own family¿s butler. After telling the police, they do hardly anything. So Cary takes matters into her own hands and starts digging for information. She reveals that the men that are after her want her dead and will do anything to kill her. Later, she realizes the key to solving this mystery lies in what she heard at the country club. Will Cary be able to piece together this mystery and solve it before she, or someone else, becomes a candidate for murder? You will have to read this book to find out. This book was brilliantly done. Joan Lowery Nixon is a phenomenal author who carries a bit of magic in her writing that just absorbs you into her books and makes you want to keep on reading. Nixon has wrote many well-written mysteries books and each is just as good as the rest. Many of Nixon¿s books are short and roughly have between 150 and 250 pages, so they are easy, quick, and good books to read. Most of Nixon¿s characters that tell the stories are females but a boy can get into them just as much as anyone else.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is so awsome! I loved it. The whole time it kept me guessing until the very end when it gave me an ending I would have never guessed!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was confusing in the first chapter about the characters and the plot. But it kept me off my sit through the rest of the book. I think that if you liked Joan Lowery Nixon books that you will like this one,also. I can't wait to read Who Are You?
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this book is preety good although not the best. It is a bit boring in the beginning but after you get rolling it gets interesting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THis was an awesome, awesome book. It held my interest and kept me on the edge of my seat. I couldn't put it down!