A Case of Doubtful Death: A Frances Doughty Mystery

A Case of Doubtful Death: A Frances Doughty Mystery

3.0 1
by Linda Stratmann
     
 

The third book in the series of Victorian murder mysteries set in London, with a clever and determined female sleuth

A dedicated doctor has set up a waiting mortuary on the borders of Kensal Green Cemetery, where corpses are left to decompose before burial to reassure clients that no one can be buried alive. He collapses and dies, apparently of

Overview

The third book in the series of Victorian murder mysteries set in London, with a clever and determined female sleuth

A dedicated doctor has set up a waiting mortuary on the borders of Kensal Green Cemetery, where corpses are left to decompose before burial to reassure clients that no one can be buried alive. He collapses and dies, apparently of natural causes, but on the same night one of his most reliable employees goes missing. Frances Doughty, a young sleuth with a reputation for solving knotty cases, is engaged to find the missing man, but nothing is as it seems. Suspicions of blackmail, fraud, and murder lead to a gruesome exhumation in the catacombs, with shocking results.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"[A] formidable Victorian historical . . . most readers will want to see more of Frances."  —Publishers Weekly on The Poisonous Seed

“. . . The pace moves along well and [Stratmann’s] dry wit that is expressed through conversation among the characters is most entertaining.” —Joseph's Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780752470184
Publisher:
The History Press
Publication date:
09/01/2013
Series:
The Frances Doughty Mysteries Series, #3
Pages:
288
Sales rank:
442,800
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.00(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Linda Stratmann is the author of Chloroform: The Quest for Oblivion and two previous titles in the Frances Doughty Mysteries—The Poisonous Seed and The Daughters of Gentlemen.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

A Case of Doubtful Death: A Frances Doughty Mystery 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
jewelknits More than 1 year ago
This was my first encounter with Frances Doughty, and I liked her a lot. I have a taste for unconventional female protagonists, and, as a female Victorian detective with a rather imposing female assistant, our starring detective lives a life outside the norm. Somewhere between a light and medium-light read, the story is enjoyable and the pacing fantastic. There WERE a lot of mysteries to be solved, but I rather enjoyed the knottiness. Perfect for fans of Poirot and Christie who like a good mystery. 3.5 out of 5 stars