Celebration of Sellers

A Celebration of Sellers

by Peter Sellers

Four-CD box set containing four of Sellers' EMI albums--The Best Of Sellers (1958), Songs For Swingin' Sellers (1959), Peter & Sophia (1960), and Sellers Market (1979). Of equal note are the 24 bonus tracks, taken from rare items like '50s and '60s singles, an…  See more details below


Four-CD box set containing four of Sellers' EMI albums--The Best Of Sellers (1958), Songs For Swingin' Sellers (1959), Peter & Sophia (1960), and Sellers Market (1979). Of equal note are the 24 bonus tracks, taken from rare items like '50s and '60s singles, an EP, cuts that only appeared on obscure anthologies, unissued outtakes, soundtracks, and his cameo appearances with the Hollies and Steeleye Span. Far from filler, these bonus selections include some of his best performances. "Any Old Iron" (a British hit) was a folk/skiffle parody, and its B-side "Boiled Bananas and Carrots" did the same to calypso. "Fullers Earth" is a good parody of a flat earth society. The hit spoken-word satire of "A Hard Day's Night" is here, along with half a dozen other spoken Lennon-McCartney parodies, some previously unreleased; the effete reading of "Help!" and the "Cockney version" of "She Loves You" are standouts. This might seem like an overly extensive and steeply priced introduction to Sellers' work, but no comedy fan will regret its purchase. It not only contains some of the funniest comedy recordings on either side of the Atlantic, but some of the most important and influential work in the form in the 20th century. It is also the only easily available anthology of Sellers' recorded material, and contains a detailed booklet documenting his work in the studio.

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:
Emi Europe Generic


Disc 1

  1. The Trumpet Volunteer
  2. Auntie Rotter
  3. All the Things You Are
  4. We Need the Money
  5. I'm So Ashamed
  6. Party Political Speech
  7. Balham- Gateway to the South
  8. Suddenly It's Folk Song
  9. Any Old Iron
  10. Boiled Bananas and Carrots (Boiled Beef and Carrots)
  11. Unchained Melody
  12. Dance With Me Henry
  13. Dipso Calypso
  14. Never Never Land
  15. A Drop of the Hard Stuff
  16. Jakka and the Flying Saucers (An Interplanetary Fairy Tale)

Disc 2

  1. You Keep Me Swingin'
  2. So Little Time
  3. Lord Badminton's Memoirs
  4. The Critics
  5. My Old Dutch
  6. Face to Face
  7. In a Free State
  8. Puttin' on the Smile
  9. Common Entrance
  10. I Haven't Told Her, She Hasn't Told Me (But We Know It Just the Same)
  11. Shadows on the Grass
  12. Wouldn't It Be Loverly?
  13. We'll Let You Know
  14. Peter Sellers Sings George Gershwin
  15. Fullers Earth
  16. After the Fox
  17. A Right Bird
  18. The House on the Rue Sichel

Disc 3

  1. Goodness Gracious Me
  2. 'Smith'-An Interview with Sir Eric Goodness
  3. Zoo Be Zoo Be Zoo
  4. Ukelele Lady
  5. Setting Fire to the Policeman
  6. Bangers and Mash
  7. Oh, Lady Be Good
  8. To Keep My Love Alive
  9. Why Worry?
  10. Grandpa's Grave
  11. I Fell in Love with an Englishman
  12. Africa Today
  13. Fare Thee Well
  14. A Hard Day's Night
  15. She Loves You
  16. Can't Buy Me Love
  17. She Loves You
  18. Yes It Is
  19. She Loves You
  20. Help!
  21. Now Is the Winter of Our Discontent

Disc 4

  1. Night and Day
  2. The All-England George Formby Finals: Chinese Laundry Blues/My ...
  3. Gefrunk
  4. Singin' in the Rain
  5. The Eaton Square Blues (For Musicians Only)
  6. Peter Sellers Sings Rudolph Friml: Only a Rose
  7. The Cultural Scene: Compleat Guide to Accents of the British ...
  8. The Whispering Giant with Special Guest Irene Handl
  9. New York Girls
  10. Come to Me
  11. Thank Heaven for Little Girls
  12. We'll Meet Again

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Peter Sellers   Primary Artist,Ukulele,Vocals
Steeleye Span   Track Performer
George Martin   Conductor
Sophia Loren   Track Performer
Mate's Spoffle Group Featuring Fred Spoons   Track Performer
Graham Stark   Track Performer
John Junkin   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Rudolf Friml   Composer
George Gershwin   Composer
Steeleye Span   Producer
George Martin   Arranger,Producer
Ron Goodwin   Director
Ken Barnes   Producer
Robin Black   Producer,Contributor
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Derek Lawrence   Producer
Alex North   Composer
Walter J. Ridley   Producer
Hy Zaret   Composer
Knight   Arranger
Prior   Arranger
Hughie Charles   Composer
Mark Cousins   Liner Notes
Brian Hooker   Composer
Ross Parker   Composer

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >