A Charming Cure

A Charming Cure

4.2 36
by Tonya Kappes
     
 

Bubble. . .Bubble. . .

Psychic June Heal's homeopathic cure shop, A Charming Cure, is the most popular shop in the unusual little town of Whispering Falls, Kentucky.

Cures and Trouble. . .

June is about to learn she has more than psychic abilities when she attends Hidden Hall A Spiritualist University, leaving her shop in the hands of…  See more details below

Overview

Bubble. . .Bubble. . .

Psychic June Heal's homeopathic cure shop, A Charming Cure, is the most popular shop in the unusual little town of Whispering Falls, Kentucky.

Cures and Trouble. . .

June is about to learn she has more than psychic abilities when she attends Hidden Hall A Spiritualist University, leaving her shop in the hands of handsome sheriff Oscar Park.

Hidden Hall has an internal war between the Good-Siders and the Dark-Siders, putting June in the middle.

Magic Stirs. . .

Hidden Hall is riddled with every type of spiritualist. Magic is lurking around every corner, even black-magic.
Unfortunately, the Ultimate Spell gets into the wrong hands. But it is only discovered after a few spiritualist go missing or end up poisoned to death.

And Trouble Doubles. . .

Madam Torres, June's crystal ball, reveals that A Charming Cure is in shambles along with the rest of Whistpering Falls.

Will June figure out who has the Ultimate Spell and stop them before they destroy the entire spiritualist community?

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Forget The House Work, I'm Reading - Tobi Helton
A Charming Crime is a wonderful book for men, women and teens! A MUST for your TBR pile!
Reader Jean Segal - Jean Segal
Another great book by Tonya Kappes. Enjoyed June and all the quirky characters in Wispering Falls. Great mystery that left me wanting more. Can't wait to see what's in store for June
in the next book in this series.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781595718655
Publisher:
Word Association Publishers
Publication date:
02/27/2013
Pages:
250
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.30(d)

Meet the Author

Tonya is an Amazon Movers and Shakers, and self-published International bestselling author. She writes humorous cozy mystery and women's fiction that involves quirky characters in quirky situations.

Splitsville.com, the first novel in the Olivia Davis Mystery Series, is a double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories.

Carpe Bead 'em is the winner in Amazon's eFestival of Words in the Women's Fiction/Chick-lit Category.

She travel to various writer's groups giving workshops on marketing and promoting no matter where you are in your career, and a self publishing.
Become a member of Tonya's STREET TEAM! It's a gathering place of readers who love Tonya Kappes novels and Tonya gives away monthly prizes! To sign up for Tonya's STREET TEAM, newsletter, view book trailer, and upcoming news, check out Tonya's website, Tonyakappes.blogspot.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

A Charming Cure 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
heathercm2001 More than 1 year ago
I think everyone needs a little Whispering Falls and June Heal in their life. The second book added a lot more good stuff to an already amazing series. There are new shops, new characters, and an entire school campus. I love the mystery in the series. You never know what is going to happen to these characters, because anything can happen. You see the town through June's eyes, and she is still finding out about her own secrets, as well as the town. It is a lot of fun finding them out with her! I especially enjoy her family secrets. There is a very touching moment at the end of the book that was just perfect. This book also expands the magical world within the series. I'm always up for an exciting battle between good and dark magic, and this one was done extremely well! If you haven't read any of these books yet, definitely do. They are unique and fun and mysterious. Plus, it is a great place to disappear to for a little while.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of fun to read. The kind of story that makes you think of it during the day and you can't wait to read it again. A must read.
SBMorales More than 1 year ago
I am just loving this series. It has mystery, comedy, and a budding romance! This is such a fun book and I wish I could visit this village. Kappes has created such a fun world and I can't wait to start the next book and find out where Kappes takes us next. If you're looking for a wonderful paranormal series this is one you have to get your hands on.
Laura1208 More than 1 year ago
Quick, fun read.
SGMomma More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the second book in the series.  You should definitely read the 1st story because it will help with continuiity with this story.  It was a tiny bit predictable, but I enjoyed this story.  I am already onto the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy this series. Keep them coming
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite so far in the series.  
Kelsaborg More than 1 year ago
This is a fun read. The only reason I didn't score ut higher is that I felt that it was a little short in legnth.  i would of liked a little morestuff going on in and around the school. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyable from start to finish.  Can't wait to read the next book in this series!  
MaicaKid More than 1 year ago
June's going to school!  Yeah, it's a surprise to her as well!  Her Aunt Helena literally swoops into June's shop in Whispering Falls, Kentucky, declaring that June is to report to Hidden Hall University, leaving Oscar (who has NO knowledge of cures!) in charge of A Dose of Darla.  Off she goes, with her ever-present cat Prince Charming. At 25, June's older than most of the students but...hey, it's just four days, right?  Just four days...There's the first clue that June's time at Hidden Hall is going to be a bumpy ride.   On the first day of potions class, June refuses to drink the potion made by Professor Sandalwood (June's mother's friend Eloise) because she knows it will taste nasty.  Another student quickly volunteers and falls ill.  Eloise is put on leave and the student is in the hospital and deathly ill.  June's determined to help Eloise and the best way is to try to cure the student.   It turns out there are two sides of the spiritualist realm....the Good-Siders and the Dark-Siders.  They co-exist fairly well, but one Dark-Sider isn't happy with the status quo.  It's soon apparent that there's a "disturbance in the force" of the Spirtualist world. There are similarities to Hogwarts, but at a "higher education" level and with the personalities of June's friends tossed in.  I'm definitely going to continue reading the series...I like these people and want to know what happens next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really liked this 2nd one.....off to look for the 3rd.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A Charming Cure is second book in series. These are lighthearted and charming. I have already bought the third book and am looking forward to more of "Whispering Falls" escapades. Please buy...you will enjoy them as much as I do.
rivertalking More than 1 year ago
What a fun book.  Or should I say Charming.  Just the right touch of humor and fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will read again
kplowe More than 1 year ago
Great book. 
Read-2-Imagine More than 1 year ago
I love that June is back to school! All her mishaps and sluething are highly entertaining. I am glad that she has Oscar! Make sure to read the first book before diving into this one!
Lwing More than 1 year ago
Such a fun paranormal mystery with a touch of romance.  Fun characters help you suspend disbelief and enjoy the romp!  Does make you rave Dingdongs though.  I started with another series and really enjoyed that so gave this series a chance, I'm pleased I did!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Denise_Golinowski More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoying the Charming series. June's story is filled with delightful twists and turns and her world is populated with amazing characters.  I want to live in Whispering Falls!
Debb23 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I like the characters, such an interesting mix. The mystery was good and kept me guessing, I had an idea who it was but the reason I was way off track on. I like the budding romance that is slowly developing from friendship. All in all I find this a very fun and unique world within a world. I will be continuing on with this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Todays_Working_Woman More than 1 year ago
June's all moved in and settled into her new life at A Charming Cure in Whispering Falls. She seems to have accepted her new "talents" and begins using them for the good of her customers. But now it's time for her to really hone her skills and Great Aunt Helena, the Dean at Hidden Hall, A Spiritual University is here to help Great Aunt Helena! Wow, here's a surprise for June. She didn't even realize that she has any living relatives, and now she has to go to school! It is at this point I became disappointed. The references to various other stories, both fictional and real, made this particular story a little less believable for me. Okay, so June only had to go to school for four days, but still, I can't help but wonder how the idea of a "hidden" school came to be in the first place. Hmmm...can anyone think of anything? Oh say, something that has been around for at least a decade. Something really popular...can anyone guess? The storyline of Good-Siders vs. Dark-Siders in A Charming Cure could have been just slightly more exciting and original...starting with the names. Although Ms. Kappes did a fairly good job in hiding the secret of who the real "bad guy" was up until almost the very end. The most disappointing and the thing that practically killed it for me was the reference to "Jeffery Dahmer". This was completely unnecessary and highly disturbing to use this in a book that could be read by a younger audience. I grew up and lived in the same town where this man committed his crimes and to use his name in a book is inappropriate, inexcusable and a disservice to the readers. The story did not need it and even if it did, I am sure that there were other fictional references you could have used. Leaving that point aside, Ms. Kappes develops the cast of characters even further and introduces us to a few more which will become important in the next story. Although Tonya does a fairly decent job in her story writing, this particular one didn't do anything for me except annoy me with the lack of originality and finesse she showed in her first book. I hope the third one will be better.