A Clear Conscience: A Helen West Mystery [NOOK Book]

Overview

A tense, twisting thriller perfect for fans of Linda Fairstein.

Crown Prosecutor Helen West spends her days fighting for justice in domestic violence cases, so it's no wonder she can't find the energy to clean her own apartment.

Helen is thrilled to have found the lovely and sad-eyed Cath, whom she pays to clean for her. But when she notices bruises on Cath's arm, Helen can't stop thinking about what the girl must go home to at night. And when ...

See more details below
A Clear Conscience: A Helen West Mystery

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

A tense, twisting thriller perfect for fans of Linda Fairstein.

Crown Prosecutor Helen West spends her days fighting for justice in domestic violence cases, so it's no wonder she can't find the energy to clean her own apartment.

Helen is thrilled to have found the lovely and sad-eyed Cath, whom she pays to clean for her. But when she notices bruises on Cath's arm, Helen can't stop thinking about what the girl must go home to at night. And when Cath's brother is brutally murdered, Helen is pulled down a dark and disturbing path where violence is the only guarantee.

Helen West, Crown Prosecutor in domestic violence court, is nearing burnout. Obtaining justice is an uphill battle, while her romance with Police Superintendent Geoffrey Bailey is on a downhill spiral. Then she takes on the case of her young cleaning woman, who is being beaten by her husband--and whose brother has already been brutally murdered.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

P. D. James
Francis Fyfield, a lawyer herself, adds an extra dimension to detection.
Los Angeles Times Book Review
Fyfield is a wonder...An intricate and surprise-filled plot.
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Tensions between the ideal and the actual drive Fyfield's thought-provoking, somewhat downbeat tale. Crown Prosecutor Helen West, last seen in Shadow Play (1993), is frustrated at work by battered women who won't testify against their abusers and at home by general untidiness. To tackle the latter, she hires Cath, a somewhat crude but diligent cleaning lady. When Helen glimpses bruises on Cath, she realizes that Cath's husband, a bartender named Joe, is just the sort of fellow she'd like to see hauled into court. At the same time, Helen's lover, Police Superintendent Geoffrey Bailey, is troubled by a case he thinks was prematurely closed: the pub-fight murder of Damien Flood, who was Cath's beloved brother. From a different angle than Helen's, Bailey's eye also focuses on Cath's husband. Then another murder changes the picture. Defying simple judgments and complacent assessments, the plot features a twist at the close that will leave readers mulling over all that has gone before-and Fyfield's message. (Apr.)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062301482
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 11/5/2013
  • Series: Helen West Series , #5
  • Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 100
  • Sales rank: 44,401
  • File size: 584 KB

Meet the Author

Frances Fyfield has spent much of her professional life practicing as a criminal lawyer, work that has informed her highly acclaimed novels. She has been the recipient of both the Gold and Silver Crime Writers' Association Daggers. She is also a regular broadcaster on Radio 4, most recently as the presenter of the series Tales from the Stave. She lives in London and in Deal, overlooking the sea, which is her passion.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Ok

    It is actually astonishing how unlikeable every single character in this book is, especially Helen West. Her mind is so full of nonsense, it is hard to imagine her successfully prosecuting anything. The author's very frequent run- on sentences heavily contribute to the impression of complete and utter ditziness, since they are most prevalent when Helen's very silly emotions are presented. The abused women are, one and all, thoroughly unsympathetic characters. I wanted to hit them myself.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Nice and twisty and dark. Fyfield writes with a nicely elliptica

    Nice and twisty and dark. Fyfield writes with a nicely elliptical style that drops plenty of notions in the reader's path, but gives nothing away. The social strata are key here, and the "nice" people we first meet have depths of narrowness and blindness. Good psychological thriller with all the satisfactions of a whodunnit. If you enjoy the literate subtlety of P.D. James or Ruth Rendell, you should like Fyfield.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    This is the first book by this author that I have read and I did

    This is the first book by this author that I have read and I did not love this book.  It was not especially compelling and the story is  doesn't really "star" Helen West.  She is just one of  several not terribly interesting (or likable) characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Great

    Why have I never heard of this author. And why are her books only 2.99? For some reason the rest of her books are pre -order. Just ordered all of them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)