A Crossing: A Cyclist's Journey Home

Overview

A travelogue in the tradition of "Blue Highways" and "On the Road", this book tells the extraordinary story of one man's solo bicycle adventure across America--and the spiritual and personal awakening he experienced on his journey.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Paperback (Original)
$18.01
BN.com price
(Save 9%)$19.95 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (20) from $1.99   
  • New (6) from $13.52   
  • Used (14) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

A travelogue in the tradition of "Blue Highways" and "On the Road", this book tells the extraordinary story of one man's solo bicycle adventure across America--and the spiritual and personal awakening he experienced on his journey.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780671568986
  • Publisher: Gallery Books
  • Publication date: 8/1/1998
  • Edition description: Original
  • Pages: 288
  • Sales rank: 904,525
  • Product dimensions: 0.65 (w) x 5.50 (h) x 8.50 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Interesting

    This was a good book that deals with alot of the mind issues that would cause someone to want to take an epic travel adventure. The author is very detailed in how he relates to the reader the issues that he was dealing with at home in addition to the daily survival situations of life that he dealt with as he crossed the USA. If I didn't know any better, one would think that this was a fictional novel of the highest caliber. It has all of the classical elements of a great fiction book 'sex conflict wacky friends laughter and sorrow'. I had to keep reminding myself that these events actually did occur. The most intersting part was the guy that he rode with in the mountains and the ongoing battle with his dad. I also really enjoyed the suprise turn of events that happened to the author very near the end of the account. I will not give it away, but it was a big suprise that just kinda jumped out at the author 'and the readers' without any warning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    Gripping and perspicacious

    Since I have always been drawn to this sort of American travel-for-the sake-of-the-journey saga and have with pleasure read On the Road, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, Blue Highways, and the recently published A Walk in the Woods (about a trek along the Appalachian Trail with many resemblances to Newhouse's safari), I expected that Brian's would be interesting; but I couldn¿t have expected that it would be as earthy, as excruciatingly honest, and as well written as it is. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the book. There were many moving scenes in it, and there were also lots of funny ones. The funniest to me was the one on that windy farm in Gildford, Montana, where Brian got to stay in an old farmer's trailer ¿perched on skinny steel posts¿ and inside had to do a dance to keep his weight from throwing the damn thing off the horizontal. The most moving were his departures, first from his early traveling companion John, then from a woman named Nancy in Minot, and finally from his girlfriend back home in St. Paul. Brian's struggle with his dad was very compelling too; its interior landscape suggested a mountain he was clawing up rather than a hillside he could pedal easily up and down (as with John), a friendly stream whose call he was almost ready to answer (Nancy), or a cliff he clung to for a while and then was able to let go (girlfriend Karen). I was most touched by the book's central message: that obsessive religion is poison to our healthiest impulses. Paradoxically, Brian's minister-friend Andrew seemed to demonstrate better than anybody else how conducive religion can be to terrestrial happiness if put in the proper perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)