A Dawn Most Wicked: A Something Strange and Deadly Novella [NOOK Book]

Overview

He has stolen Eleanor Fitt's heart, but who was Daniel Sheridan before he became a Spirit-Hunter? In this suspenseful 100-page digital-original romance novella from Something Strange and Deadly author Susan Dennard, Daniel's past—and his first love—will be exposed.

With a checkered past like Daniel Sheridan's, landing an apprenticeship aboard the Sadie Queen was just the fresh start he was looking for. But that's the last thing it's been. Teeming with ghosts that plague the crew...

See more details below
A Dawn Most Wicked: A Something Strange and Deadly Novella

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$1.99
BN.com price

Overview

He has stolen Eleanor Fitt's heart, but who was Daniel Sheridan before he became a Spirit-Hunter? In this suspenseful 100-page digital-original romance novella from Something Strange and Deadly author Susan Dennard, Daniel's past—and his first love—will be exposed.

With a checkered past like Daniel Sheridan's, landing an apprenticeship aboard the Sadie Queen was just the fresh start he was looking for. But that's the last thing it's been. Teeming with ghosts that plague the crew with horrific nightmares, this ship is more trouble than it's worth to Daniel. Except for Cass. . . .

Gorgeous and stubborn to a fault, apprentice pilot Cassidy Cochran is the one thing keeping Daniel on board. Though they started as best friends, their relationship has grown into something more intense. Their stolen, sometimes steamy moments have Daniel feeling something he never thought possible: love.

Enlisting the help of a short-tempered Chinese boy named Jie and a Creole gentleman named Joseph, the three attempt to rid the boat of the ghosts—for if they don't, the Sadie Queen will be put out of business. And with Cass's fatally-ill sister in need of expensive medical help, Daniel is more determined than ever to save the ship. But when he discovers that the ghosts are linked to a dangerous curse whose caster wants everyone on board dead, Daniel will come face-to-face with an evil so dark, so wicked, that it will change the course of his life forever.

HarperTeen Impulse is a digital imprint focused on young adult short stories and novellas, with new releases the first Tuesday of each month.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062263261
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 6/4/2013
  • Series: Something Strange and Deadly Trilogy
  • Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 100
  • Sales rank: 226,402
  • Age range: 14 - 17 Years
  • File size: 991 KB

Meet the Author

Susan Dennard is a writer turned marine biologist turned writer again. The Something Strange and Deadly trilogy is her debut. Among the traits she shares with her heroine Eleanor are a weakness for Shakespeare quotes, a healthy appetite for baked goods, and an insatiable curiosity. Sadly, Susan does not get to wear a corset or wave a parasol on a daily basis.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a short novella centered around Daniel Sheridan, a bit o

    This is a short novella centered around Daniel Sheridan, a bit of a prequel that tells us a little bit about his past.  We meet his first love, Cass, and we learn how he came to be a part of the Spirit Hunters.

    In Something Strange and Deadly, it is clear that Daniel has a bit of a "bad boy" past.  He hasn't always lived on the straight and narrow, but we never learned much about how or why his life went down this path.  In A Dawn Most Wicked, we finally learn his secrets and his life before Eleanor.  In this novella, Daniel has already traveled down the path to crime, but he is now hiding in plain sight, working as an engineer on the Sadie Queen, a steamer on the Mississippi River.  He is secretly in love with the captain's daughter Cassidy, his best friend.  But her father is a sadist and he has plans for his daughter that do not include a lowly engineer.

    The Sadie Queen is on the verge of being decommissioned, fallen from its former glory after is has mysteriously become haunted.  Within weeks, not a single passenger remains, no new bookings made.  The captain has decided to challenge a rival captain to a race, hoping that a win will keep its owner from shutting her down.  In a chance meeting, Daniel meets Joseph Boyer and thus his life with the Spirt Hunters begins.

    This is a short read, only about 100+ pages, but it is a great one!  We learn so much about Daniel and his past, the things lead him to where he is in Something Strange and Deadly.  A whole other side to Daniel is revealed, making his character more easily understand.  More than that, we learn a lot about Joseph himself, as well as Jie.  This is a great addition to the series!

    My Recommendation:  While the main series is easily enjoyable without reading this book, I definitely recommend reading it.  It adds so many layers to Daniel's character.  I gave it 4.5 mugs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

     At first I wasn't going to write a review about this, but with

     At first I wasn't going to write a review about this, but with me about to binge read the last two in this series, I thought it was only right. 
         I really liked Something Strange and Deadly when I read it with Epic Reads. So much so that I didn't want to read the second book because I could already tell this was one of those series I did NOT want to wait forever for the ending. Now that the last one is coming out next week, I plan to read through these super quickly. 
         I liked this novella because it gave me some background on Daniel Sheridan. When I read Something Strange and Deadly I was super upset that there weren't that many swoony moments in it. Well that were reciprocated anyways. And I couldn't understand why. Eleanor was definitely a catch and Daniel was very smart and (from what I read) very good looking. But then I read this and I finally understood what the problem was. He was still in love with someone else. It was definitely heartbreaking seeing him lose that person that he loved. But with all that time that passed between them, I can only hope that they can pick things back up when they meet later on. 
         I also liked the plot. For this to be a novella, it was well thought out and well developed. And man, I the scares in this one were almost just as bad as the first. I think that's what I loved about this one. For it to be only 150 pages, I learned a lot about a character and got one really great background on how the Spirit Hunters" were brought together. All while staying entertained. Not once did it feel like an info dump.
         Susan Dennard did nothing but get me more excited to finish out this series. This small slice into Daniel's life was just enough for me to know him and love him more! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    A DAWN MOST WICKED is the ultimate prequel novella for fans of S

    A DAWN MOST WICKED is the ultimate prequel novella for fans of Susan Dennard's SOMETHING STRANGE & DEADLY--as well as a great introduction to the series for first-time readers. Daniel's story is equal parts heartbreaking, riveting, and horrifying (there are some majorly hair-raising moments). Susan captures the essence of 1873 New Orleans perfectly, and her characters so beautifully drawn that you will never, ever forget them. I was left reeling from the ending for DAYS afterward. Seriously, do yourself a favor and grab a copy of this spectacular novella... You won't regret it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)