×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Dawn Most Wicked
     

A Dawn Most Wicked

4.5 6
by Susan Dennard
 

He has stolen Eleanor Fitt's heart, but who was Daniel Sheridan before he became a Spirit-Hunter? In this suspenseful 100-page digital-original romance novella from Something Strange and Deadly author Susan Dennard, Daniel's past—and his first love—will be exposed.

With a checkered past like Daniel Sheridan's, landing an

Overview

He has stolen Eleanor Fitt's heart, but who was Daniel Sheridan before he became a Spirit-Hunter? In this suspenseful 100-page digital-original romance novella from Something Strange and Deadly author Susan Dennard, Daniel's past—and his first love—will be exposed.

With a checkered past like Daniel Sheridan's, landing an apprenticeship aboard the Sadie Queen was just the fresh start he was looking for. But that's the last thing it's been. Teeming with ghosts that plague the crew with horrific nightmares, this ship is more trouble than it's worth to Daniel. Except for Cass. . . .

Gorgeous and stubborn to a fault, apprentice pilot Cassidy Cochran is the one thing keeping Daniel on board. Though they started as best friends, their relationship has grown into something more intense. Their stolen, sometimes steamy moments have Daniel feeling something he never thought possible: love.

Enlisting the help of a short-tempered Chinese boy named Jie and a Creole gentleman named Joseph, the three attempt to rid the boat of the ghosts—for if they don't, the Sadie Queen will be put out of business. And with Cass's fatally-ill sister in need of expensive medical help, Daniel is more determined than ever to save the ship. But when he discovers that the ghosts are linked to a dangerous curse whose caster wants everyone on board dead, Daniel will come face-to-face with an evil so dark, so wicked, that it will change the course of his life forever.

Epic Reads Impulse is a digital imprint with new releases each month.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062263261
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
06/04/2013
Series:
Something Strange and Deadly Trilogy Series
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
100
Sales rank:
412,348
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Susan Dennard is a writer turned marine biologist turned writer again. The Something Strange and Deadly trilogy is her debut. Among the traits she shares with her heroine Eleanor are a weakness for Shakespeare quotes, a healthy appetite for baked goods, and an insatiable curiosity. Sadly, Susan does not get to wear a corset or wave a parasol on a daily basis.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Dawn Most Wicked 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Adriyanna 6 months ago
Loved it! The writing was incredible and the plot fantastic. I was completely in Daniel's head and I loved how we got a little history on him as well as how he, Joseph, and Jie met. Seriously, this novella was great for character development re: Daniel. If you don't already love him, this novella is sure to change your mind! I finished this in one sitting. The ghost aspect and the race between the two steamers was a great addition to the Something Strange and Deadly world. We got a little hint about the walking corpses, but I liked how Dennard chose to go the ghost route; it's something new, but still connected to the SS&D plot.
KikiD870 More than 1 year ago
This is a short novella centered around Daniel Sheridan, a bit of a prequel that tells us a little bit about his past.  We meet his first love, Cass, and we learn how he came to be a part of the Spirit Hunters. In Something Strange and Deadly, it is clear that Daniel has a bit of a "bad boy" past.  He hasn't always lived on the straight and narrow, but we never learned much about how or why his life went down this path.  In A Dawn Most Wicked, we finally learn his secrets and his life before Eleanor.  In this novella, Daniel has already traveled down the path to crime, but he is now hiding in plain sight, working as an engineer on the Sadie Queen, a steamer on the Mississippi River.  He is secretly in love with the captain's daughter Cassidy, his best friend.  But her father is a sadist and he has plans for his daughter that do not include a lowly engineer. The Sadie Queen is on the verge of being decommissioned, fallen from its former glory after is has mysteriously become haunted.  Within weeks, not a single passenger remains, no new bookings made.  The captain has decided to challenge a rival captain to a race, hoping that a win will keep its owner from shutting her down.  In a chance meeting, Daniel meets Joseph Boyer and thus his life with the Spirt Hunters begins. This is a short read, only about 100+ pages, but it is a great one!  We learn so much about Daniel and his past, the things lead him to where he is in Something Strange and Deadly.  A whole other side to Daniel is revealed, making his character more easily understand.  More than that, we learn a lot about Joseph himself, as well as Jie.  This is a great addition to the series! My Recommendation:  While the main series is easily enjoyable without reading this book, I definitely recommend reading it.  It adds so many layers to Daniel's character.  I gave it 4.5 mugs!
Take_Me_AwayPH More than 1 year ago
 At first I wasn't going to write a review about this, but with me about to binge read the last two in this series, I thought it was only right.       I really liked Something Strange and Deadly when I read it with Epic Reads. So much so that I didn't want to read the second book because I could already tell this was one of those series I did NOT want to wait forever for the ending. Now that the last one is coming out next week, I plan to read through these super quickly.       I liked this novella because it gave me some background on Daniel Sheridan. When I read Something Strange and Deadly I was super upset that there weren't that many swoony moments in it. Well that were reciprocated anyways. And I couldn't understand why. Eleanor was definitely a catch and Daniel was very smart and (from what I read) very good looking. But then I read this and I finally understood what the problem was. He was still in love with someone else. It was definitely heartbreaking seeing him lose that person that he loved. But with all that time that passed between them, I can only hope that they can pick things back up when they meet later on.       I also liked the plot. For this to be a novella, it was well thought out and well developed. And man, I the scares in this one were almost just as bad as the first. I think that's what I loved about this one. For it to be only 150 pages, I learned a lot about a character and got one really great background on how the Spirit Hunters" were brought together. All while staying entertained. Not once did it feel like an info dump.      Susan Dennard did nothing but get me more excited to finish out this series. This small slice into Daniel's life was just enough for me to know him and love him more! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A DAWN MOST WICKED is the ultimate prequel novella for fans of Susan Dennard's SOMETHING STRANGE & DEADLY--as well as a great introduction to the series for first-time readers. Daniel's story is equal parts heartbreaking, riveting, and horrifying (there are some majorly hair-raising moments). Susan captures the essence of 1873 New Orleans perfectly, and her characters so beautifully drawn that you will never, ever forget them. I was left reeling from the ending for DAYS afterward. Seriously, do yourself a favor and grab a copy of this spectacular novella... You won't regret it.