×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Dead Bore
     

A Dead Bore

4.0 1
by Sheri Cobb South
 

See All Formats & Editions

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

In South's delightful second Regency mystery (after 2006's In Milady's Chamber), recently widowed Lady Julia Fieldhurst decides to leave London and spend the summer in Yorkshire with Sir Gerald and Lady Anne Hollingshead, largely to avoid gossip surrounding her husband's murder. Alas, tragedy strikes shortly after Julia arrives at Hollingshead Place. The local vicar, Mr. Danvers, who regales the family over dinner with talk of his almost completed book on the history of the village, dies later that night in a fire at the vicarage. Julia writes to Bow Street runner John Pickett in London for help in investigating what may be a crime. Pickett poses as Julia's footman, allowing the reader a view of what goes on downstairs as well as up. Tension between the eldest Hollingshead daughter and her parents over her love for a poor curate as well as the growing attraction between Julia and Pickett lend romantic interest. The manners and mores of the period as South depicts them ring true. (Dec.)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Library Journal

In this follow-up to In My Lady's Chamber, widowed Lady Julia Fieldhurst sets out for Yorkshire and a month's visit with the Hollingshead family. But the peaceful stay she anticipated ends with the death of the vicar in his study as the vicarage burns down. Lady Fieldhurst sends for Bow Street runner John Pickett, disguised as a footman, to help her investigate. Set in Regency England, where manners and strict social rules dictate human interaction, South's lively historical reveals how emotions can overturn society's strictures. Her deft way with words and charming characters make this a winner, sure to appeal to readers who enjoy Ann Granger and Deanna Rayborn.


—Jo Ann Vicarel

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781410416209
Publisher:
Gale Group
Publication date:
06/17/2009
Series:
Another John Pickett Mystery Ser.
Edition description:
Large Print
Pages:
319
Product dimensions:
5.70(w) x 8.60(h) x 1.00(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Dead Bore 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm loving this series and can't wait for the next book in the John Pickett mystery series.