BN.com Gift Guide

A Distant Land

( 1 )

Overview

The enchanting Jingera trilogy concludes with a heart-rending story of love and the callous twists of fate. Back in 1958, nine-year-old Zidra Vincent met Jim Cadwallader for the first time. Thirteen years later, their bond of friendship - forged during a childhood in the beautiful coastal town of Jingera - is still strong. But is friendship all they dream of? Jim is now a respected war correspondent in Cambodia, though he has plans to come home for good because there is something very important he wants to say to...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (16) from $2.93   
  • New (14) from $2.94   
  • Used (2) from $2.93   
Sending request ...

Overview

The enchanting Jingera trilogy concludes with a heart-rending story of love and the callous twists of fate. Back in 1958, nine-year-old Zidra Vincent met Jim Cadwallader for the first time. Thirteen years later, their bond of friendship - forged during a childhood in the beautiful coastal town of Jingera - is still strong. But is friendship all they dream of? Jim is now a respected war correspondent in Cambodia, though he has plans to come home for good because there is something very important he wants to say to Zidra. Zidra, meanwhile, is an ambitious reporter at the Sydney Morning Chronicle, and the seeds of a major story have just landed in her lap. Life is looking good, if only she could share it with the man who knows her best. Then, while at work in the newsroom one morning, Zidra catches sight of a wire service bulletin of a story out of Cambodia. The body of a Western journalist has been discovered near Phnom Penh and her world collapses around her ...

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
The final part of Alison Booth's charming trilogy, but can be read as a standalone novel. Ideal for reading groups. A captivating love story that makes a wonderful summer read. Will appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Belinda Alexandra. Publishes simultaneously with the B format edition of THE INDIGO SKY.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781864711943
  • Publisher: Random House Australia
  • Publication date: 9/1/2012
  • Pages: 314
  • Product dimensions: 9.00 (w) x 6.00 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

Alison Booth was born in Victoria and brought up in Sydney. After over two decades living in the UK, she returned to Australia in 2002 and is now a professor of economics at the Australian National University. She is married with two daughters. Alison is the author of three novels, Stillwater CreekThe Indigo Sky, and The Memory Tree, all set in Jingera.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    A fast-paced, moving and beautifully-written read. Great plot, c

    A fast-paced, moving and beautifully-written read. Great plot, characterization, and background in a captivating story of romance, intrigue and adventure.
    The novel is set in the early 1970s and follows three main characters, all from the village of Jingera on the south coast of Australia. In Sydney, Zidra and Lorna get involved with moratorium marches and ASIO, while Jim, a war correspondent in Cambodia, experiences some unexpected action.
    The characters each face moral challenges in a beautifully written story with a satisfying Jingera-based conclusion.
    “The enchanting Jingera trilogy concludes with a heart-rending story of love and the callous twists of fate.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)