Overview

Readers have to figure out just exactly what it is these animals are doing. A fun reminder on good manners.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
A Giraffe Did One

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 34%)$15.95 List Price

Overview

Readers have to figure out just exactly what it is these animals are doing. A fun reminder on good manners.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In the tradition of Everyone Poops, Pallotta’s gently mischievous story features cute animals that share one thing in common: occasional flatulence. “A flock of birds flew by. OK, who did it? We’ll never know which one it was.” Meanwhile, a fox, seen peering coyly around a tree, “was sneaky when she did it,” and a frog, who stares up at readers with a guilty smile and a few bubbles in the water around him, “was slimy when he did it.” Mai-Wyss’s pale watercolors imbue the animals with more than a little anthropomorphism, with many wearing adorable “Who, me?” expressions. If readers are unclear about what the animals did (it’s never specified), there will be little doubt when, in the final spread, a human boy “did one too,” and his mother asks him to say “Excuse me.” Ages 4–8. (Mar.)
School Library Journal
K-Gr 2—Without actually mentioning the words "fart," "gas," or "toot," Pallotta cleverly writes about the topic that will guarantee giggles from kids everywhere. From the moment they read the title, they will wonder: Did what? The anticipation continues throughout as animals of all types (insects, sea creatures, forest animals, etc.) are caught "doing one." After the first few repetitions, children will naturally start to guess what the animals all have in common. Hints in the illustrations (monkeys laughing sheepishly and a lion winking knowingly) and in the rhythmic text ("A turtle did one. It made a little bubble.") clue readers in and perfectly build up to the last page where a boy and his mother are sitting in their living room. The boy "does one," too, and his mom reminds him to excuse himself. Appealing watercolor and colored-pencil artwork that shows the animals in their natural habitats accompanies the rhyming text. While not a book for those interested in the science of flatulence, this title makes a fun read-aloud for youngsters. The message is clear—everyone does it (even animals!)—and affirms the proper way to react when it happens. Have this book on hand for parents to share with their children, and pair it with Shinta Cho's The Gas We Pass (Kane/Miller, 1994).—Karinn Figdore, William Penn Charter School, Philadelphia, PA
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781133889496
  • Publisher: Sleeping Bear Press
  • Publication date: 12/13/2011
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 32
  • Age range: 6 - 9 Years
  • File size: 3 MB

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)