A Gracious Plenty: Recipes and Recollections from the American South

A Gracious Plenty: Recipes and Recollections from the American South

by John T. Edge, Ellen Rolfes
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A beautiful book, featuring hundreds of classic recipes, that captures the essence of Southern foodways.

In the tradition of The Junior League Centennial Cookbook, The Black Family Reunion Cookbook, and the regional and community cookbooks that are treasured by millions of home cooks, A Gracious Plenty is an exuberant celebration of the

Overview

A beautiful book, featuring hundreds of classic recipes, that captures the essence of Southern foodways.

In the tradition of The Junior League Centennial Cookbook, The Black Family Reunion Cookbook, and the regional and community cookbooks that are treasured by millions of home cooks, A Gracious Plenty is an exuberant celebration of the food and culinary traditions that define the character of the American South.

The more than 400 recipes--culled from community cookbooks representing a diversity of geographical and social influences--are only the first layer in this richly textured work. Throughout the book, evocative essays recall the distinctive food myths and stories of the South. Among the contributors, B. B. King remembers his sharecropping family; Roy Blount, Jr., talks of his mother's giblet and red-eye gravies; Edna Lewis praises dandelion greens and poke "sallet"; and Shelby Foote tells of buying hot tamales from a street vendor. These, and dozens of other meal memories, are testaments to the importance of family, community, and the gracious plenty of food in the South. Index.

* illustrated with black-and-white-photographs throughouttext printed in two colors

Editorial Reviews

New York Times Book Review
John T. Edge and his colleagues assembled more than 400 recipes from community and regional cookbooks from across the South to create "A Gracious Plenty". It is sweeping, eclectic look at Southern food traditions. And because the recipes come from so far and wide, it is a democratic selection, unslanted by any person or place. The recipes are listed as one continuous scroll, broken only occasionally by chapter headings - appetizers, soups and stews, meats and such - and reminiscences by Southern writers like Roy Blount Jr. and cookbook authors like Ronni Lundy. They are delightful pauses. Ms. Lundy, the author of "Butter Beans to Blackberries," recalls a family reunion. Ed Scott, a catfish farmer, writes about taking food to the Freedom Riders on the Mississippi in the 1960's. Southern cooking is full of diversity and contradictions. What a shame it would be if recipes like these were lost. Thankfully, Mr. Edge and his colleague have given it and many other treasures one more chance to survive.
New York Times
A sweeping, eclectic look at Southern food traditions. The reminiscences by Southern writers...and cookbook authors...are delightful pauses. What a shame it would be if these recipes were lost. Thankfully, Mr. Edge and his colleagues have given [them] one more chance to survive.
Raymond Sokolov
This very complete and moving book is an anthology of spiral-bound community cookbooks from all over the South. So it has its feet on the ground and speaks for kinds of people, white and black, plain and fancy. It is remarkable.
Wall Street Journal
Library Journal
Edge is a well-known food writer and the director of the Southern Foodways Symposium at the Center for Study of Southern Culture (Univ. of Mississippi), which is also listed as an "author" of this book. With coauthor Ellen Rolfes, he has gathered more than 400 recipes for Southern home cooking, most of them from community cookbooks, which he sees as historical documents as much as recipe books. In addition to the recipes, which include both what could be called "signature dishes" of Southern cooking like Fried Chicken and Chess Pie and little-known regional specialties, there are nostalgic reminiscences from Southern authors ranging from Eudora Welty (whose fruitcake recipe also appears here) to Roy Blount. Although informative headnotes appear with most recipes, the authors haven't included the dates they were first published, which would have been helpful. That aside, this is recommended for all regional and most other collections. Copyright 1999 Cahners Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780399145346
Publisher:
Penguin Group (USA)
Publication date:
10/25/1999
Pages:
1
Product dimensions:
7.82(w) x 9.48(h) x 1.23(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >