A Killer Maize (Farmer's Market Mystery Series #4)

A Killer Maize (Farmer's Market Mystery Series #4)

4.8 11
by Paige Shelton
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Becca Robbins is selling her farm-made jams and preserves at a county fair where business is not the only thing that’s dead…

The last person Becca expects to run into at the Swayton County Fall Festival is her ex-husband, Scott Triplett, who’s operating a shooting gallery. Honesty was not always Scott’s policy, and their unexpected

Overview

Becca Robbins is selling her farm-made jams and preserves at a county fair where business is not the only thing that’s dead…

The last person Becca expects to run into at the Swayton County Fall Festival is her ex-husband, Scott Triplett, who’s operating a shooting gallery. Honesty was not always Scott’s policy, and their unexpected reunion is further complicated when the festival becomes a crime scene. On Becca’s second day there, Ferris wheel operator Virgil Morrison is found hanging from his rickety ride, dead from a gunshot.

As Becca starts to notice Scott suspiciously sneaking around the fairgrounds, she begins to worry her ex may be involved in the murder. Then there’s the shadow she sees in the creepy corn maze and rumors of a gypsy curse—not to mention Virgil’s mysterious spider tattoo. Now Becca must search through a labyrinth of lies, secrets, and superstition to find a kernel of truth…before the killer starts stalking her.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for the novels of Paige Shelton
 
“Becca is a genial heroine, and Shelton fashions a puzzling and satisfying whodunit.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch
 
“[A] tasty delight.” —Sheila Connolly, national bestselling author of Sour Apples

"[A] series full of homegrown goodness." —themysteryreader.com

"Should appeal to fans of Laura Child and Joanne Fluke." —Publishers Weekly

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425251744
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
12/04/2012
Series:
Farmer's Market Mystery Series , #4
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
413,384
Product dimensions:
4.20(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Praise for the novels of Paige Shelton

“Becca is a genial heroine, and Shelton fashions a puzzling and satisfying whodunit.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch

“[A] tasty delight.” —Sheila Connolly, national bestselling author of Sour Apples

"[A] series full of homegrown goodness." —themysteryreader.com

"Should appeal to fans of Laura Child and Joanne Fluke." —Publishers Weekly

Meet the Author

Paige Shelton spent lots of years in advertising but now writes novels full time. She lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, with her husband and son. When she’s up early enough, one of her favorite things is to watch the sun rise over the Wasatch Mountains.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

A Killer Maize 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
chefdt More than 1 year ago
A Killer Maize is the 4th book in the A Farmer's Market Mystery series. An informational and fun series for sure. Becca Robbins and three other vendors from the Bailey's Farmers Market have asked to help the Swayton County Fall Fair and Festival by setting up there stalls at the fair. When Becca arrives the next day police cars are at the fair and she sees that the Ferris Wheel operator, Virgil, has been shot is hanging from the top chair. Becca had tried to befriend Virgil the day before, but he seemed to be very secretive. And add to this Becca's second husband, Scott, has shown up, much to her surprise. Now that the killing has brought more people to the fair, the Bailey vendors have decided to stay through the end of the fair. Becca has noticed that her ex is acting very suspicious and has the plans for the roller coaster that has had a rail break that could have resulted disastrous accident. So with the help of her friend, Ian, Becca set off the try and figure out who the killer is and to learn about the mystery surrounding the corn maze. An engaging story for an appetizing series.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
A few of the vendor's from Bailey's Farmer's Market are taking their products to the Swayton County Fall Festival. The festival director thinks their unique products will bring in new customers to the festival. After the first day the vendors think they have made a big mistake. This festival is dead, hardly any people there at all. That is until one of the carnival workers is founding hanging from his rickety Ferris wheel, dead from a gunshot wound.<br /> <br /> Funny how murder brings out the people out to the fair, including one of Becca's exes. He just happens to be running one of the games at the festival and he is acting quite suspicious. Becca just can't help herself. She has to work her way through a myriad of clues, lies, and secrets to &quot;find a kernel of truth before the killer starts stalking her.&quot;<br /> <br /> Dollycas's Thoughts<br /> <br /> I love the setting! A fall festival with a huge corn maze and dilapidated rides and maybe even a ghost. Paige Shelton always surprises and never disappoints. A carny with a spider tattoo on his neck!!! Mysterious owners, a creepy little town, and gypsy magic. This story should have come out at Halloween but I am not complaining. I fell right into this story and there is more than one maze in this story. We are led through the clues and hit a few dead ends and have to back up, regroup and chart a new path. Masterfully plotted, just masterful!!<br /> <br /> I did miss the regulars at Bailey's a bit but the new characters were quite colorful and unique. Scott Two's appearance at the festival gave us a peak at Becca's past and of course Sam helps out the local police a bit and is in just the right place at the right time. <br /> <br /> On top of solving the crime Becca is also making a very important decision of her own. She also learns what Scott has been up to these past few years. I also loved the addition of another furry friend.<br /> <br /> Head to the bookstores online or brick and mortar and harvest the homegrown mystery today. A jam packed who-dun-it that will &quot;a-maize&quot; you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cassies results have mixed up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish you people here would listen to that post. You copied us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This rp totally copied off the original dragon rider rp, at 'plato love'. The mentioned rp is older, and you do not have to repetitively post the same thing 50 times to grt noticed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello wow you guys are tough alright i have a gun*points it at them*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Morning gorgeous"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the story line on this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago