BN.com Gift Guide

A Little Book for New Theologians: Why and How to Study Theology

( 2 )

Overview

Whenever we read, think, hear or say anything about God, we are doing theology. Yet theology isn't just a matter of what we think. It affects who we are.

In the tradition of Helmut Thielicke's A Little Exercise for Young Theologians, Kelly Kapic offers a concise introduction to the study of theology for newcomers to the field. He highlights the value and importance of theological study and explains its unique nature as a serious discipline.

Not...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (17) from $1.99   
  • New (12) from $4.12   
  • Used (5) from $1.99   
A Little Book for New Theologians: Why and How to Study Theology

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.99
BN.com price
(Save 14%)$6.99 List Price

Overview

Whenever we read, think, hear or say anything about God, we are doing theology. Yet theology isn't just a matter of what we think. It affects who we are.

In the tradition of Helmut Thielicke's A Little Exercise for Young Theologians, Kelly Kapic offers a concise introduction to the study of theology for newcomers to the field. He highlights the value and importance of theological study and explains its unique nature as a serious discipline.

Not only concerned with content and method, Kapic explores the skills, attitudes and spiritual practices needed by those who take up the discipline. This brief, clear and lively primer draws out the relevance of theology for Christian life, worship, mission, witness and more.

"Theology is about life," writes Kapic. "It is not a conversation our souls can afford to avoid."

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Written for seminary students, this book is subtitled Why and How to Study Theology. Author Kapic, a theology professor, looks at the public and private lives of the spiritual people serving God, using Scripture, reason, tradition, and experience to look at spirituality. “Growing in our knowledge of God changes our view of everything else,” Kapic argues. In a very short book he draws on sources as diverse as the church fathers (Anselm, Origen of Alexandria, Augustine, Gregory Nazianzus), the writers of contemporary religion books (C.S. Lewis and Miroslav Volf), and the Book of Common Prayer used in the Episcopal Church. Worship is a central theme of the book because it is central to those who would be leaders in a church. His chapters on prayer and good knowledge of the Bible are central to teaching others how to live in and lead a church. While the author aims at a narrow audience, this book has appeal to anyone interested in a foundation in theology. (Sept.)
Timothy George
"For many Christians the word theology is synonymous with abstruse, irrelevant and boring. In this jewel of a book, Kelly Kapic shows that theology is really, as the Puritan William Ames said, 'the science of living in the presence of God.' This is a great primer both for new students of theology and for those well practiced in the discipline."
Sinclair B. Ferguson
"To study with Kelly Kapic must be serious fun. His joy in teaching theology is infectious; at the same time he is in blood earnest in believing how essential good theology is to shape minds and transform lives for the glory of God. With delightful signposts from the great theologians of the past, A Little Book for New Theologians guides us to a mountain of unending discovery. Here is an ideal starter kit for the beginning theology student and an affection-refresher for those who have been longer on the way."
Thomas C. Oden
"Kelly Kapic concisely states major characteristics of thinking theologically in this little book. For readers who wish a brief explanation of how the study of God functions with reason, prayer, study, humility and repentance, this is a very good beginning. Utilizing salient insights from Augustine, Calvin, Kierkegaard and major reform theologians, he maps out the territory for understanding that theology is naturally a part of living."
Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen
"This 'little book' is about a topic that is bigger than life, namely how to begin to think after God. Indeed, this useful manual is based on the conviction that all Christians are already engaged in a theological task as they continue wrestling with the questions of faith. Deceitfully easy and highly accessible, this guide is based on the best of theological wisdom and tested classroom experience. Highly recommended."
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780830839759
  • Publisher: InterVarsity Press
  • Publication date: 8/3/2012
  • Pages: 126
  • Sales rank: 159,567
  • Product dimensions: 4.25 (w) x 7.00 (h) x 0.40 (d)

Meet the Author

Kelly M. Kapic is professor of theological studies at Covenant College in Lookout Mountain, Georgia. He earned a PhD in systematic and historical theology at King's College, University of London and an MDiv at Reformed Theological Seminary in Orlando, Florida.

Kapic is the author or editor of numerous books such as A Little Book for New Theologians, God So Loved He Gave, Communion with God, and Mapping Modern Theology. Additionally, he has published articles in various journals, such as the International Journal of Systematic Theology, Westminster Theological Journal, Conversations in Religion and Theology, and Evangelical Quarterly.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments
Part I: Why Study Theology?
1. Entering the Conversation
2. To Know and Enjoy God: Becoming Wise
3. Theology as Pilgrimage
Part II: Characteristics of Faithful Theologians and Theology
4. The Inseparability of Life and Theology
5. Faithful Reason
6. Prayer and Study
7. Humility and Repentance
8. Suffering, Justice, and Knowing God
9. Tradition and Community
10. Love of Scripture
Name and Subject Index
Scripture Index
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    This book was both insightful and inspiring! Thank you Kelly Ka

    This book was both insightful and inspiring! Thank you Kelly Kapic! "Theology is knowing how to sing the son of redemption . . . in order to enjoy the song and sing it well, we must learn the words and the music". Page23. And this is absolutely thrilling to hear . . . (page 113) "Sometimes in class I tell my students the next time they are alone reading their Bibles, they should lower their faces to just above the pages of the open book. Do they feel the warmth of God's breath, the nearness of His being? . . ." What a refreshing view from a practical science . . . thank you KK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A nice addition

    This book is part of a tradition of trying to help Christians know what they believe and why. Some are longer or shorter, easier or harder to understand. I think this book is a good addition to the ranks. The real challengeis getting people to actually WANT to read a book like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)