A Long Way from You

( 11 )

Overview

For too long, Kitsy has had to satisfy her dreams of becoming a real artist by giving her friends makeovers before prom. So when her best friend Corrinne's family offers to sponsor her for a summer art course in New York City, Kitsy bids a temporary good-bye to Texas to say hello to the West Village.

Between navigating the subway and the New Yorkers—namely, the Art Boy who has a nice trick of getting under her skin—Kitsy knows that this summer ...

See more details below
Paperback
$8.19
BN.com price
(Save 8%)$8.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (41) from $1.99   
  • New (21) from $1.99   
  • Used (20) from $1.99   
A Long Way from You

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price
Note: Visit our Teens Store.

Overview

For too long, Kitsy has had to satisfy her dreams of becoming a real artist by giving her friends makeovers before prom. So when her best friend Corrinne's family offers to sponsor her for a summer art course in New York City, Kitsy bids a temporary good-bye to Texas to say hello to the West Village.

Between navigating the subway and the New Yorkers—namely, the Art Boy who has a nice trick of getting under her skin—Kitsy knows that this summer is going to be about a lot more than figure drawing.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780061978852
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 6/5/2012
  • Pages: 336
  • Sales rank: 427,995
  • Age range: 13 - 17 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.31 (w) x 8.00 (h) x 0.75 (d)

Meet the Author

Gwendolyn Heasley

Gwendolyn Heasley is a graduate of Davidson College and earned master’s degrees from the University of Missouri-Columbia and the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Gwendolyn lives in Naples, Florida, the setting of Don’t Call Me Baby, but still misses New York City. She is also the author of two other novels for teens, Where I Belong and A Long Way from You, and a digital original novella, The Art of Goodbye.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I read the first book and thought that was amazing but I think this one was even better! I loved it!! <3

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Amazing book. :)

    I love this book. Two weeks ago, I got Where I Belong and I loved it. When I realized there was another, I knew I had to get it. The author is great and I hope she has other books to write. D.N.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Love it!

    I loved this book so much because it showed a side of Kitsy that you didn't know about of could tell from the first book "where I belong" where Kitsy was her best friend how as Corrine calls her "overly peppy and energectic like off of red bull"! In this book it shows how she really feels about art and the struggles she tries to leave behind about her family. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves New York, and to girls between the age of 12-17. There really is nothing bad I can say about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Check out my full review at Kritters Ramblings Kitsy has never

    Check out my full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Kitsy has never left the state of Texas and she is headed to New York City for the summer for art school. She has always dreamed of leaving her small town and discovering what is out there beyond her home town and she is given the perfect opportunity to experience NYC for a summer. Staying with her friend Corrine's parents, she has a home base, but she learns where to find trouble and what she is willing to do to concur her dream of becoming an artist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kitsy Kidd is adorable! Throughout the book I pictured her as a

    Kitsy Kidd is adorable! Throughout the book I pictured her as a young Reese Witherspoon (from Sweet Home Alabama) with a cute Texas accent and fun style. Normally when I read Young Adult Contemporary books I look for a bit of romance, but in A Long Way from You Kitsy was all I needed; there are guys and plenty of sweet moments but Kitsy is definitely the star. Gwendolyn Heasley does a fantastic job creating a character that defies the rules of Upper East Side popularity and still comes up on top. All hail us Art Nerds :)

    Gwendolyn also wrote Where I Belong about Corrinne (Kitsy's best friend) and in this companion to Where I Belong the reader is introduced to Kitsy's story. I haven't yet read Where I Belong, but after A Long Way from You I definitely plan on it. I didn't couldn't put this one down once I started it!

    Kitsy is in New York for a summer art program. She makes all the touristy mistakes and does a great job being adorable. Her home life is anything but perfect, she's mature beyond her years and used to being the responsible one. This summer though, is her chance to be a teenager and have a memorable time.

    My favorite secondary character is definitely Iona! Or, I-don't-want-to-know-ya Iona as Corrinne would call her. She's misunderstood (and likes it that way) and if I had to guess I'd say she's done with the glitzy NY crap; Iona's her own girl and ends up really being a great friend for Kitsy (think Kat from 10 Things I hate about You). Oh and I have to mention Art Boy. Totally drool worthy, and mysterious. But, Kitsy came to NY attached to someone. The question I kept asking myself while reading was; does she plan to keep it that way? This book is just an overall great read, it has all of the elements that I look for in a story.

    Filled with genuine and down to earth characters (most of them), NY scenery, hilarious moments, music, and art; A Long Way from You completely stole my heart and there are parts that still have me cracking up. Kitsy is an amazing narrator and hearing her inner dialogue makes her story wonderful and fun. It's a must read for fans of Jennifer Echols, Sarah Dessen, and Stephanie Perkins.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    There better be another book coming out

    I love this book and i hope there is another book coming out in the series thats just as fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Gwendolyn Heasley is a very good writer, i liked her first book

    Gwendolyn Heasley is a very good writer, i liked her first book and i like this one too. I was a little disappointed with the ending but it was cute story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    A long way from you

    It was really slow and boring

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Highly recommended-loved it!

    This is really for all ages. Kitsy is so real with her struggles. I loved how Kitsy has a devil on one shoulder and an angel on the other shoulder. The author's other book, Where I Belong is also a great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)