A Noble Entertainment

BN.com price
(Save 5%)$17.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (7) from $10.14   
  • New (7) from $10.14   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 10/10/2006
  • Label: Avie
  • UPC: 822252209426
  • Catalog Number: 2094
  • Sales rank: 189,577


Disc 1
  1. 1 Sonata ("In Imitation of Birds") - William Williams & Joseph Crouch (6:35)
  2. 2 Trio Sonata for 2 recorders & continuo No. 2 in G minor - Daniel Purcell & Joseph Crouch (4:19)
  3. 3 Trio Sonata in C major, Op. 2/4 - William Corbett & Joseph Crouch (4:52)
  4. 4 Sonata for cello & continuo in A minor / E minor - Nicola Francesco Haym & Joseph Crouch (3:57)
  5. 5 Sett of Aires for 2 flutes & continuo in C minor - James (Jacques) Paisible & Joseph Crouch (8:55)
  6. 6 Trio sonata in F - Johann Christoph Pepusch & Joseph Crouch (4:55)
  7. 7 Suite for harpsichord No. 2 in G minor (from "A Choice Collection of Lessons"), Z. 661 - Henry Purcell & Joseph Crouch (8:02)
  8. 8 Trio Sonata No. 4 in B flat major - Gottfried Keller & Joseph Crouch (4:17)
  9. 9 Trio Sonata in G minor - Gottfried Finger & Joseph Crouch (4:54)
  10. 10 Sonata for 2 treble recorders in C minor, Op. 1/3 - James (Jacques) Paisible & Joseph Crouch (9:27)
  11. 11 Trio sonata for 2 recorders & continuo in F major, HWV 405 - George Frideric Handel & Joseph Crouch (5:43)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Parnassian Ensemble Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lively sonatas from early 18th century England

    Here's a trick question often found on music history exams: How many musicians do you need to play a trio sonata? (Hint: three is the wrong answer). A: Four – two to play each of the solo parts, and two to play the "basso continuo" section (i.e., the chordal arrangement, usually played by a harpsichordist and cello player). On "A Noble Entertainment (Music from Queen Anne's London)", the four musicians are the Parnassian Ensemble: Sophie Middleditch and Helen Hooker on recorders, Joseph Crouch on cello, and David Pollock on harpsichord. The employment of recorders in the solo parts lends these trio sonatas from early 18th century England a rustic charm. "A Noble Entertainment" covers a wide variety of composers from the period: William Williams, Daniel Purcell, William Corbett, Nicola Francesco Haym, James Paisible, Johann Christoph Pepusch, Gottfried Keller, Gottfried Finger, George Frideric Handel, and (somewhat anachronistically) Henry Purcell, who died in 1695 before the reign of Queen Anne began. While the program is dominated by trio sonatas, Parnassian Ensemble includes other selections that highlight the individual performers. Pollock excels on Purcell's solo harpsichord suite, Crouch stands out on Haym's Sonata for cello and basso continuo, and Middleditch and Hooker share the spotlight on Paisible's sonata for two treble recorders. "A Noble Entertainment" presents a fine opportunity to study sonata forms from the late Baroque period while also enjoying some lively period performances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews