A Notorious Countess Confesses (Pennyroyal Green Series #7)

A Notorious Countess Confesses (Pennyroyal Green Series #7)

4.3 32
by Julie Anne Long
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“Julie Anne Long reinvents the historical romance for modern readers, delivering intense, passionate characters and high adventure. Her writing glows.”
—Amanda Quick

“You will LOVE the Pennyroyal Green series.”
—Julia Quinn

A notorious lady learns just how wicked a good man can be in the latest installment of

Overview

“Julie Anne Long reinvents the historical romance for modern readers, delivering intense, passionate characters and high adventure. Her writing glows.”
—Amanda Quick

“You will LOVE the Pennyroyal Green series.”
—Julia Quinn

A notorious lady learns just how wicked a good man can be in the latest installment of RITA Award nominee Julie Anne Long’s emotionally charged Pennyroyal Green series. A Notorious Countess Confesses is absolutely unputdownable historical romance for fans of Karen Hawkins and Sabrina Jeffries; another gem in the bestselling series set in Regency England and centered on a long-standing feud between members of two wealthy Sussex families, the Eversea and Redmond clans. The breathtaking romantic adventures of a former courtesan-turned-noblewoman, A Notorious Countess Confesses stokes the Pennyroyal fires hotter than ever before, providing readers with all the passion, scandal, and true love they could possibly hope for.

Editorial Reviews

The Washington Post
Long's books are emotional and addictive, so be prepared to seek them all out after you've read one.
—Sarah Wendell
Library Journal
There's nothing like a scandal to stir up the good folk of Pennyroyal Green, so when former courtesan Evie Duggan, now the widowed Countess of Wareham, flees the cruel London gossip and moves into the neighborhood, the women are quick to close ranks against the disreputable "Black Widow." But Evie has courage and grit and is determined to fit in. Who better to ask for help than the one person everyone admires and the women all adore, Vicar Adam Sylvaine, a man with fallen angel looks, a mesmerizing voice, and wild Eversea blood in his veins? She asks, he agrees, and the results are both unexpected and, ultimately, unavoidable. VERDICT A country vicar and a soiled dove are the last people you'd envision together, but with her classic graceful prose, exceptional dialog, and lively wit, Long (How the Marquess Was Won) brings these conflicted characters to vivid life in a satisfying, ennobling, and truly memorable story. Long lives in Northern California.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062118035
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/30/2012
Series:
Pennyroyal Green Series , #7
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
49,516
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

USA Today bestselling author Julie Anne Long originally set out to be a rock star when she grew up (and she has the guitars and fringed clothing stuffed in the back of her closet to prove it), but writing was always her first love. Since hanging up her guitar for the computer keyboard, Julie has penned books that frequently top reader and critic polls and have been nominated for numerous awards, including the RITA®, Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice, and the Quill, and reviewers have been known to use words like "dazzling," "brilliant," and "impossible to put down" when describing them. Julie lives in Northern California.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

A Notorious Countess Confesses: Pennyroyal Green Series 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Julie Anne Long grabbed me as a fan years ago when I stood in the romance aisle at B&N laughing aloud at the first page of WAYS TO BE WICKED (2nd in her prior series). A NOTORIOS COUNTESS CONFESSES also had me laughing aloud in the late hours of the night AND brought me to tears with its final scene - tears of joy at the lovely denouement not just for Adam and Evie - the splendid main characters - but also for the many other beautifully developed other characters. Evie, a former actress and courtesan who had the good luck to marry an earl but the bad luck to be widowed, has come to live in Pennyroyal Green in relatively modest Damask Manor, the only one of the Earl's properties she could inherit. She hopes her notoriety will not follow her here to the country, hopes to make friends and live simply so she has enough to support her needy siblings and extended family. Adam, the brilliant, noble, passionate and handsome VICAR of Pennyroyal Green, is accustomed to lingering glances from the young ladies and fond attentions from everyone else. When Evie falls asleep during the first of his sermons she hears, he is a little nonplussed. The verbal sparring and rising passion between these two - who remain true to their very opposite life roles but still find a sizzling connection - is delightful. Equally engaging, the lives and loves and longings of the inhabitants of Pennyroyal Green deepen this story beyond mere romance to something which deserves a place on my reread-to-visit-with-these-favored-friends shelf. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree with the last reviewer. This is the best in a series I love. Each of the stories are richly sensuous, emotionally complex and satisfying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Made me laugh and made me cry.... the only books I give 5 stars to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
William Hindman More than 1 year ago
A great read. Read it in one sitting, never put it down till it was finished. A gay novel without a lot of gratuitous sex. Refreshing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. It was not full of sex...but he is a vicor. There were some scenes-but the story was gripping enough not to need the a lot of the physical relationship. The friendship each lead provided for the other was very touching. The book made the reader think about the notion that you dont know everybodies story...so dont judge. I laughed and cried. I think that this is probably one of the best in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful. Laugh out loud funny. Can't wait to read all in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
srbSH More than 1 year ago
It’s ADAM SYLVAINE’s turn at love when newly-widowed Lady Wareham aka EVIE DUGGAN comes to Pennyroyal Green. Her lurid past comes with her, and the virtuous ladies and loyal vicar followers have already turned their backs. There’s instant tension between these two beautiful people who understand each other. Perhaps their romance is rather pale in comparison to Phoebe's and her Marquess; Genevieve's and her Duke to bowl me over. For all her glamour, Evie is a down-to-earth product of a poor childhood who has honed survival skills to support her family; her beauty was her ticket. She helps several of the Pennyroyals but it doesn’t take much for envy, etc., to discredit her. Adam, for all his goodness and healing power, is lonely, loveless but not a compelling lover. Evie will give up Adam so that he can continue his good works, but after a profound night together and fierce inner struggles, he just can’t give her up. Other memorable characters: Evie’s maid Henny and the dying curmudgeon Lady Fennimore who passes on some advice about love. Olivia Eversea is in the background long enough for us to wonder if she’ll move beyond Lyon. Next book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago