A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life: How to Banter with Your Barista, Hug Mindfully, and Relate to Friends who Choose Kids Over Dogs

Overview

In the tradition of The Official Preppy Handbook, The Uptight Seattleite is the Stephen Colbert of left-wing satire

The author of the wildly popular Seattle Weekly advice column teaches Americans everywhere how to embrace their inner leftist. Artfully balancing the cosmic with the cosmopolitan, the Uptight Seattleite (aka Adrian) delights his loyal readers each week with snide insight on everything from fashion ("Can I pull off a Rasta beret?") to ear-bud etiquette. In A ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (52) from $1.99   
  • New (16) from $1.99   
  • Used (36) from $1.99   
A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life: How to Banter with Your Barista, Hug Mindfully, and Relate to FriendsWho ChooseKids Over Dogs

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$12.99
BN.com price

Overview

In the tradition of The Official Preppy Handbook, The Uptight Seattleite is the Stephen Colbert of left-wing satire

The author of the wildly popular Seattle Weekly advice column teaches Americans everywhere how to embrace their inner leftist. Artfully balancing the cosmic with the cosmopolitan, the Uptight Seattleite (aka Adrian) delights his loyal readers each week with snide insight on everything from fashion ("Can I pull off a Rasta beret?") to ear-bud etiquette. In A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life, he brings his savvy smugness to his widest audience yet, on topics such as the hierarchy of transportation righteousness (what to do with the clunky old Subaru after purchasing a Prius) and ethical behavior at the grocery store, including how to handle the horror forgetting to bring your reusable burlap sack.

Other day-to-day advice covers what to read on the bus (Vonnegut versus The Kite Runner versus The Economist) and feasting at the buffet of diversity, with tips for shooting a condescending smile at those who don't know how to use chopsticks. The Uptight Seattleite also helps readers navigate the big issues, such as responsible parenting (which calls for a mini-landfill kit, perfect for the backyard and ready to be stuffed with environmentally unfriendly diapers). For every insecure liberal-and those who love to make fun of them-the Uptight Seattleite offers us laughs from the pinnacle of political correctness.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Library Journal
More than a spoof of politically correct mores, this enhanced collection of satirical advice columns from the Seattle Weekly is packed with laugh-out-loud social commentary. Each themed chapter ("Diversity," "Relationships," "Doggies!") includes a number of Q&A entries submitted by readers (and a few supposedly sourced from the author's own office). The unnamed Seattleite tramps down the eggshell-lined path of standard liberal political correctness, turning cultural sensitivity on its head at every opportunity-from finding gifts for the "differently privileged" ("your office intern who is from an at-risk youth program") to dealing with people involved in a "church-based mind-control program." He also encourages animal equanimity, suggesting dog owners take on the role of "a fellow creature who just happens to have all the food," and includes plenty of brief goodies like "Jottings from my Moleskine," sensitivity exercises ("spend the day in a post-verbal realm"), and strategies for passing on his wisdom ("artfully" help out a colleague sporting a toilet paper tail by recounting an ancient myth about Mayan lesbians). The Seattleite's dry voice and zany humor make this a wickedly addictive read for anyone sick of excessive Lefty thought-policing. 20 b&w illus.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781592405299
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
  • Publication date: 3/2/2010
  • Pages: 224
  • Sales rank: 1,099,494
  • Product dimensions: 6.08 (w) x 9.02 (h) x 0.60 (d)

Meet the Author

The Uptight Seattleite is a thinker, a writer, a seeker, and a columnist for the Seattle Weekly. His yoga practice is his laughter practice is his personal revolution. He believes in discovering beauty and weaving it into transformation. He believes in the power of active listening. Shh! Hear that? It's the sound of your own listening! He has been single for many years. He lives in Seattle.
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Let Me Introduce Myself Real Quick ix

Diversity: Skiing black men, sneezing Indians 1

Transportation: From A to B, conscientiously 27

The Environment: Juggling for Gaia 53

Doggies! 73

Your Kids: What do they want? 93

Relationships: Flexibility and resourcefulness 109

Manhood: Some reflections 131

Spirituality: Dilemmas in the dark 167

In Conclusion: Some final thoughts 203

Epilogue: Back to the day job 205

Thanks 209

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)