A Simple Hope: A Lancaster Crossroads Novel [NOOK Book]

Overview

For fans of Beverly Lewis and Cindy Woodsmall, Rosalind Lauer?s moving Lancaster Crossroads novel A Simple Hope reveals the ways that faith, love, and charity bring people together in a devoted Amish community.
 
HOPE SHINES THROUGH
LIGHTING A PATH IN THE DARKNESS
 
Ever since the accident that confined him to a wheelchair, James ...
See more details below
A Simple Hope: A Lancaster Crossroads Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

For fans of Beverly Lewis and Cindy Woodsmall, Rosalind Lauer’s moving Lancaster Crossroads novel A Simple Hope reveals the ways that faith, love, and charity bring people together in a devoted Amish community.
 
HOPE SHINES THROUGH
LIGHTING A PATH IN THE DARKNESS
 
Ever since the accident that confined him to a wheelchair, James Lapp has fought relentlessly to regain his strength. He knows he must be whole and healthy to run his family’s orchard and provide for Rachel King, the young woman he plans to marry. But when he defies his father’s wishes and seeks treatment outside their close-knit Amish community, James discovers just how long and treacherous the road to recovery will be. Unwilling to saddle a wife with his troubles, James decides he must part with the woman he loves.
 
Rachel won’t give up her dream of being a devoted wife to James, and it breaks her heart to watch him shut her out. Then their lives change forever when a runaway Englisher girl hides in the Lapp orchard. Rachel and James feel they must risk the disapproval of their friends and neighbors to help her. Will the young stranger bring them closer—or will the consequences of a shared secret tear them apart once and for all?
 
Revealing the wonder of plain, everyday blessings, A Simple Hope burns bright with the power of love to heal even the deepest wounds.

Praise for Rosalind Lauer and A Simple Hope
 
“A sweet story of two young people trying to overcome tragedy and obstacles to make a new path in their life.”The Parkersburg News and Sentinel
 
“The Lancaster Crossroads series continues with a tale that weaves an enduring love story with Amish family dynamic elements that feel true to the culture. . . . A truly enjoyable read that will remind readers of God’s promises and how love can sustain through the difficult times.”RT Book Reviews
 
“Lauer’s new Amish series launch is sure to be a hit with fans of her ‘Seasons of Lancaster County’ series.”Library Journal, on A Simple Faith
 
“[Lauer] definitely sets the bar high for Amish romance stories.”Fresh Fiction, on A Simple Winter


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
04/15/2014
Lauer (A Simple Faith) returns to Halfway, the Amish town featured in the first book in the "Lancaster Crossroads" series. James Lapp is a farmer with a promising life and likely marriage to Rachel King until a car accident lands him in a wheelchair. Although Rachel stands by him, James knows he can never be the type of husband and provider he feels that she deserves, so he sets her free from their commitment. While supervising business on the farm, he finds a runaway English girl and helps her despite the community rules about "sticking to Plain folk." His father threatens to stop his physical therapy as punishment. James calls on his faith to help him heal, and through his prayers he realizes what blessings he has in his life—whether he can walk or not. VERDICT Lauer's fans and devotees of Amish fiction will not be disappointed by this stirring tale of faith and love, influenced by the parable of the Good Samaritan. Recommended for those who can't get enough of Beverly Lewis and Cindy Woodsmall.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780345543295
  • Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 3/4/2014
  • Series: Lancaster Crossroads , #2
  • Sold by: Random House
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 352
  • Sales rank: 43,050
  • File size: 3 MB

Meet the Author

Rosalind Lauer is the author of A Simple Winter, A Simple Spring, A Simple Autumn, A Simple Faith, and the novella A Simple Crossroads. She grew up in a large family in Maryland and began visiting Lancaster County’s Amish community as a child. Lauer attended Wagner College in New York City and worked as an editor for Simon & Schuster and Harlequin Books. She now lives with her family in Oregon, where she writes in the shade of some towering two-hundred-year-old Douglas fir trees.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Okay, so Amish romance is my secret guilty pleasure. This one wa

    Okay, so Amish romance is my secret guilty pleasure. This one was no exception.

    There is something extra special about this genre. I love the simple lives of the Amish, their dedication to their faith and the way they can keep themselves seperate yet part of the world around them. While many people might think that Amish and Romance don’t mix that well as genre – I beg to differ! I adore the purity of love that is bought out in these stories.

    Previously I had only read novels in this genre by Beverley Lewis, so was excited to find another author who writes in this distinctly niche market.

    While, honestly, I did find I was eternally comparing the two authors, I was very happy, in the end, with Lauer’s novel. This is not the first one in the series, but it reads quite easily as a stand alone book. There is absolutely no bog down of backstory relating to the first novel at all, nor is there any confusion as to what happened.

    However, I did find parts of this novel lacking. There were times when there just felt like there were time frame issues. Sometimes it seemed Shandell (the main character who is stranded in Halfway after escaping her thieving non-boyfriend, Gary) is staying only a short time in the town. Towards the end of the novel, though, you are left wondering just how long she will be stuck there, or if you are just misreading.

    Some of the conversations – especially at the start of the novel – appear to be quite sterile and formal. Now I know we are talking about the Amish here and their manner of speaking is certainly different to mainstream culture, but, even taking that into account, I found myself loosing interest as soon as they opened their mouths to speak. Persevere though, because the characters do loosen up in the middle and there are only a few stilted conversations after that.

    As for Rachel, one of the main Amish characters, I just found I didn’t connect with her at all. She appeared quite flat as a character since she was completely perfect and forgiving in every way. While this is the Amish way, surely there should be some sort of internal struggle at times?

    James, on the other hand was by far my favourite character! He struggled constantly with his lot in life and, as a result, the author manages to take his story and make it deliciously rich.

    There are times at the end when it just feels like the author is laying everything out on the table without letting the reader fully explore these ideas and come to their own conclusions. As a result, sometimes the characters have epiphanies without the reader realising there was a lead up to it beforehand.

    Even with this telling over showing, the author wound up the threads of this novel beautifully in the last few chapters. For all the faults I found with this novel, James and the ending wrapped it up tight for me. I am so glad I branched out and took a chance with this book! Fans of Amish novels will surely be pleased with this one.

    Overall, I am giving A Simple Hope by Rosalind Lauer 3 out of 5 stars. I can’t WAIT to go back and read her first novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)