A Summons to New Orleans [NOOK Book]

Overview

Nora Braxton’s life is falling apart. Her husband has run off with a waitress almost young enough to be his daughter, leaving behind unpaid taxes amounting to thousands of dollars. In addition, her vindictive mother continues to criticize her, telling her how to run her life, constantly berating her with shrill choruses of “I-told-you-so.”  To make matters worse, Nora’s thirteen-year-old son wants to run off to Miami to live with...
See more details below
A Summons to New Orleans

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$4.99
BN.com price

Overview

Nora Braxton’s life is falling apart. Her husband has run off with a waitress almost young enough to be his daughter, leaving behind unpaid taxes amounting to thousands of dollars. In addition, her vindictive mother continues to criticize her, telling her how to run her life, constantly berating her with shrill choruses of “I-told-you-so.”  To make matters worse, Nora’s thirteen-year-old son wants to run off to Miami to live with his freethinking, free-spending dad.
 
So when Simone Gray, Nora’s old college friend from the University of Virginia, invites her to New Orleans for a week’s vacation, Nora jumps at the chance to get away from it all and get a fresh perspective.
 
Once in this exotic, almost foreign city, Nora finds that she is not the only friend to be summoned by Simone. Poppy Marchand, another former schoolmate, is there as well. Almost immediately after the initial reunion, Nora and Poppy learn that Simone's invitation is not a purely social one and that she has much more in mind than a week of fun and relaxation.
 
Simone, a prominent Los Angeles–based food critic, is a rape victim, and she has asked these old friends to be with her for moral support during the trial of the man she has charged with attacking her. A year earlier, while on assignment in New Orleans, Simone was raped after leaving a nightclub. Once model-beautiful, she is now shockingly thin—in fact, she’s anorexic. Nora, already emotionally at sea and diminished by heartache, resolves nonetheless to stand by her friend. And Poppy Marchand, a blisteringly plainspoken woman who has recently found religion and left her husband, also vows to be there for Simone, but not without her own bitter reservations.  
 
What follows—before, during, and after the trial—is an unraveling of the precepts upon which these three women have built their relationship, each struggling to come to terms with lives that haven’t worked out the way they planned. Pasts are explored, secrets are shared, and the truth of what really happened to Simone is put into question.
 
Drawn from the author’s own experience, A Summons to New Orleans is a wonderfully written and beautifully crafted novel of three women and their fateful reunion that propels each one to search her past— and, together, their shocking revelations test the true limits of loyalty, friendship, and trust.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781497638709
  • Publisher: Open Road Media
  • Publication date: 7/1/2014
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 207
  • Sales rank: 413,962
  • File size: 535 KB

Meet the Author

Barbara Hall is an award-winning novelist, screenwriter, and television producer. She is the creator and producer of the Emmy-nominated television series Joan of Arcadia. Her TV writing and producing credits include Northern ExposureChicago Hope, and Judging Amy
 
She is the author of four young adult novels, including Skeeball and the Secret of the Universe (1987, Orchard Press), Dixie Storms (1990, HBJ), Fool’s Hill (1992, Bantam), and the mystery House Across the Cove (1995, Bantam). Her previous novels include A Better Place (1992), Close to Home (1997), and A Summons yo New Orleans, all published by Simon & Schuster.
 
Barbara Hall lives in Pacific Palisades, California, with her daughter Faith.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Awful

    This book is offensive to women, New Orleans, and rape victims. The characters are one dimensional and unlikable. The author portrays New Orleans as a lawless city in which any person who goes outside is guaranteed to become a victim of crime. One chatacter states he went to college in the south because he "likes to be scared." There are errors that anyone with a basic knowledge of New Orleans should have avoided, such as a judge referring to county jail, when there are no counties in Louisiana, and the climax of the book taking place in a basement of a garden district home. It is almost impossible for a home in New Orleans to have a basement. If an author is going to place his or her story in a city, there should be shown enough respect to do a little research and portray it accurately. One of the main characters decides to go out wearing open toed sandals because she is "feeling whorish." There are no words for me to use to express how offensive this is to women.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    great read

    I was intrigued from the start to the finish. I found myself not able to put it down and then I was sad it was over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent storytelling

    After fifteen years of marriage, her husband, taking all their cash and running off with a waitress, leaves Virginian Nora Preston humiliated. Adding to her worries, the FBI seeks her spouse for big time tax evasion. Nora has taken up calligraphy to supplement the money she sometimes receives from her fugitive husband. Meanwhile their son wants to spend the summer with his absentee father and her mother walks around with an ¿I told you¿ smirk. <P> When out of the blue her college roommate Simone calls and offers her a free vacation in New Orleans, Nora grabs the invitation like a drowning person clutches a life preserver. Nora arrives to learn that their other roommate Poppy is there too. Though happy to see Poppy, Nora can tell her college friend is radically changed. The three college friends have come together because Simone needs their support through the ordeal of a rape trial that occurred a year ago. <P> In the tradition of Belva Plain and Barbara Delinsky, Barbara Hall has written a thought-provoking novel that will appeal to fans of contemporary women¿s fiction. The ex spouses are actually human and even likable, as the audience understands and condemns their self-indulging motives. The female trio learns much about one another and themselves as they spend time together in New Orleans. It teaches them and the reader life¿s most endearing lessons and how not to repeat past mistakes. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)