The Abattoir (An Ellie Danson Mystery)

The Abattoir (An Ellie Danson Mystery)

5.0 1
by M.K. Carver
     
 
For Fans of Patricia Cornwell, Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter comes a new tale of psychological suspense. The Abattoir (An Ellie Danson Mystery) is a fast-paced tale of life or death between an ambitious cop and an obsessed killer.

Reviews:
"A sadistic killer who devises ever more ghastly and gruesome methods of slaughtering his victims, a female cop

Overview

For Fans of Patricia Cornwell, Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter comes a new tale of psychological suspense. The Abattoir (An Ellie Danson Mystery) is a fast-paced tale of life or death between an ambitious cop and an obsessed killer.

Reviews:
"A sadistic killer who devises ever more ghastly and gruesome methods of slaughtering his victims, a female cop dealing with chauvinistic colleagues, and a cat and mouse game of life or death. The pace is brisk, the characters believable and the ending satisfying." 4 star review from Amazon

"The author shows amazing skill as she cleverly weaves so much into the story...At around 40,000 words, it sits comfortably as a novella and can be read in about three to four hours. Once you start it you won't want to put it down, so be warned to allocate sufficient uninterrupted time!" 5 star review from a Top 100 reviewer, Amazon UK

A Killer Goes Public

A cunning, vicious serial killer stalks the glamorous Meatpacking district in lower Manhattan. Bored with killing in secret, he raises the stakes by leaving cryptic clues in his victims’ own blood.

A Cop in the Cross-Hairs

Detective Ellie Danson is tapped to tag along with an investigator from the Homicide Squad at Manhattan South, due to her knowledge of the city’s red-light districts. When the killer develops a fascination with her that comes to border on obsession, Ellie begins to wonder just how high a price she’ll have to pay to draw him out.

Closing the Circle

As she closes in on the killer, his kills become even more gruesome, violating every rule of common decency in his quest for inspiration. With her life hanging in the balance, Ellie manages to bend a few rules of her own, leading to shocking revelations and a desperate, final confrontation that only one will survive.

Editorial Reviews

Stephen Leather
"Brilliant read from a great Indie writer, fast paced and short enough to read in a single sitting (40,000 words). Alternating viewpoints between the killer and the female detective on his tail means that the pace never flags.
Lindsay Horne
"M.K.'s writing really captivates you, and you are in for a thrilling ride throughout this novel. And the notion that the good guys win against a terrible monster brings this novel home. Kudos to the author, readers will not be disappointed!"

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012391797
Publisher:
Gold Shield Books
Publication date:
04/19/2011
Series:
Ellie Danson Series , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
276 KB

Meet the Author

M.K. Carver was born and raised in Manhattan. After working as a detective with the NYPD, she moved on to pursue a career in private security consulting and crime writing. The Abattoir is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Abattoir (An Ellie Danson Mystery) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
LindsayVA More than 1 year ago
I took a huge detour recently from the type of literature I have been reading all summer and picked up The Abattoir (An Ellie Danson Mystery) by M.K. Carver. Despite it being so very different from what I usually read, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and read it in one day because I just couldn't put it down! My Thoughts: This novel really was a "on-the-edge-of-your-seat" thriller. The very first opening scene grabs your attention, as it is pretty vividly gives you the picture of the serial killer and what his crime scenes are like. Like I said previously, I usually don't pick up novels like this, and while this one isn't for those with a weak stomach, I thought that the author did a phenomenal job describing the horrors of a serial killer with a sort of decency, which I appreciated! A very endearing person, the main character, Ellie Danson, is a female cop trying to make her way up the ladder despite being in a man's world. I love how the author portrayed her and she is a main character that you could really identify with because she is so down-to-earth and real. I was plagued by her relationship with Jay, but after further thought I realized that I find a lot of similarities with the way Ellie dealt with other people and how police and people in other high-stress jobs deal with people. The author really presented this like it is in reality. There was a side story throughout the novel about a character named Fantasia who was living on the streets - the author tied this story in well with the main plot line concerning the killer. Both well complimented the other and helped the novel come full-circle at the conclusion. M.K.'s writing really captivates you, and you are in for a thrilling ride throughout this novel. And the notion that the good guys win against a terrible monster brings this novel home. Kudos to the author, readers will not be disappointed!