Abigail Iris: The Pet Project

Abigail Iris: The Pet Project

by Lisa Glatt, Suzanne Greenberg, Joy Allen
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Abigail Iris has a half-birthday coming up, and it's the perfect excuse to ask for the adorable kitten up for adoption at her local farmer's market. She knows being a pet owner means new responsibilities, and with lots of other changes happening around her-like a new baby brother for Only Friend-Abigail has her work cut out for her with this pet project.

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview

Abigail Iris has a half-birthday coming up, and it's the perfect excuse to ask for the adorable kitten up for adoption at her local farmer's market. She knows being a pet owner means new responsibilities, and with lots of other changes happening around her-like a new baby brother for Only Friend-Abigail has her work cut out for her with this pet project.

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Abigail Iris is just as happy-go-lucky as she was in the series opener, Abigail Iris: The One and Only (2009). This chapter-book text lilts along like the first, frequently accompanied by Allen's cozy sketches. Her parents, one sister and two half-brothers lovingly nurture Abigail Iris, who is sweet natured and somewhat young for eight. One day at the farmer's market, she holds a black kitten and falls in love. She's joyful when her half-birthday arrives along with the fluffy little feline she dubs Spot. Sadly, the family soon determines that Abigail Iris's older sister's tenacious cold is actually an allergy to the cat. While they consider their options, Abigail Iris notices that many people in her life are facing huge changes: Her half-brother has a girlfriend, but his beloved dog is dying of old age, and her friend is nervous about a new sibling on the horizon. Circumstances eventually allow for her family to make arrangements that, though difficult, are good enough. In the philosophical Abigail Iris, Glatt and Greenberg give readers a role model for adaptation and compromise. (Fiction. 7-9)
Children's Literature - Michelina P. Bonanno
What would you do if your family finally adopted Spot, the kitten of your dreams and then you discovered that your big sister, Victoria, is terribly allergic to cats? This is the dilemma that Abigail Iris faces sometimes with anger and at times with aplomb. However, in the midst of this major crisis her best friend, Rebecca acquires a new sibling, Stephen Jeremy; her half brothers, Cameron and Eddie loose their beloved dog, Bruno, to old age, and a new relationship is formed between Iris and her stepmother, Kathy. Abigail Iris's blended family is positively blended and each member helps the other to live through the sadness and grief of losing a beloved pet. The illustrations depict Abigail and her friends as fun and full of energy, and there is a hint of the "tween" to come as Abigail observes her brother Eddie and his new friend Molly holding hands. Move over, Ramona Quimby, the "Abigail Iris" series gives a more contemporary view of the American Family. Young readers are sure to read this book from cover-to-cover and then go back and read it again. Reviewer: Michelina P. Bonanno, Ph.D
School Library Journal
Gr 2–4—Eight-year-old Abigail Iris's three best friends are only children, "Onlies." She thinks they're lucky for many reasons, but especially fortunate because their parents let them celebrate their half birthdays. With her half birthday just days away, she convinces her parents to let her mark the event by getting her a kitten. Unfortunately, her older sister is allergic to it. Abigail Iris has spunk and insight, and she employs them with a plan to solve this dilemma. Also, her friend Rebecca will be losing her status when her mother has a baby, leaving Abigail Iris with much to ponder regarding the advantages and disadvantages of having siblings. A companion book to Abigail Iris: The One and Only (Walker, 2009), the story is told from the child's point of view. Fast-paced conversation, coupled with realistic events, creates a fun read while full-page black-and-white illustrations add interest. Fans of Ramona, Clementine, and Junie B. will embrace this feisty girl.—Helen Foster James, University of California at San Diego

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780802722355
Publisher:
Walker & Company
Publication date:
04/12/2011
Series:
Abigail Iris Series
Pages:
176
Product dimensions:
4.80(w) x 7.30(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range:
7 - 10 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >