The Accomplice

The Accomplice

5.0 1
by Elizabeth Ironside
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Jean Loftus has lived at Ashe House for more than 40 years. Its tidy contours, the soft colors of the garden, speak to an orderly, gracious, supremely English life. But when workmen unearth a skeleton from that garden, the skeletons from Jean's past begin rising to the surface. The life they speak of a childhood in Revolutionary Russia, chaotic years as a refugee

…  See more details below

Overview

Jean Loftus has lived at Ashe House for more than 40 years. Its tidy contours, the soft colors of the garden, speak to an orderly, gracious, supremely English life. But when workmen unearth a skeleton from that garden, the skeletons from Jean's past begin rising to the surface. The life they speak of a childhood in Revolutionary Russia, chaotic years as a refugee between the two world wars?was neither orderly nor English. Zita Daunsey, Jean's neighbor in this cozy Sussex town, would like to help Jean protect her secrets. But this task is made more difficult with the sudden arrival of a mysterious, aggressively inquisitive Russian student. What aging sin is Jean so anxious to conceal? And at what point does Zita become an accomplice to it?

Editorial Reviews

The Barnes & Noble Review
Discerning mystery fans in search of hard-to-find and out-of-print literary gems should keep an eye on Felony & Mayhem Press, a Manhattan-based crime fiction reprint-publishing house launched in 2005 by Maggie Topkis, co-owner of the renowned Partners in Crime bookstore in Greenwich Village. Felony & Mayhem has unearthed another jewel in The Accomplice by Elizabeth Ironside, a bestselling mystery author in England (A Very Private Enterprise, Death in the Garden, et al.) whose works have been essentially unavailable in the States.

Originally published in 1996, the novel revolves around the narrative of three compelling female characters: Yevgenia Chornoroukaya (a.k.a. Jean Loftus), a Baltic-Russian aristocrat who fled wartorn Europe during WWII and eventually transformed herself into a middle-class Englishwoman; Zita Daunsey, Yevgenia's attorney and longtime friend; and conniving student Xenia, who will do anything to escape her existence in modern-day Russia. When the skeleton of a boy is found buried in a rose garden owned by the elderly Yevgenia, the investigation of an obsessed detective -- coupled with the arrival of a manipulative 21-year-old student allegedly related to Yevgenia -- forces the arthritic woman to relive horrific memories long buried: for good reason.

Another noteworthy selling point of this novel is the author's fascinating background. Elizabeth Ironside is actually a pseudonym for Lady Catherine Manning, the Oxford-educated wife of Sir David Manning, a globe-trotting English diplomat who is currently the British ambassador to the United States. Her impressive diplomatic sojourns (in India, Russia, Poland, France, Israel, and elsewhere) aside, Ironside is a masterful storyteller whose highly literate, evocative prose and richly described characters -- past and present -- make The Accomplice an absolute must-read for fans of authors like Ruth Rendell, P. D. James, and Jacqueline Winspear. American mystery aficionados will be undoubtedly emailing Topkis en masse thanking her and everyone at Felony & Mayhem for finally making Ironside's novels available in the States: This is British crime fiction at its very best. Paul Goat Allen
Marilyn Stasio
Although we tend to follow the account of Zita Daunsey, a close family friend and neighbor, Ironside exercises such subtle restraint on the story — told from multiple perspectives in alternating chapters covering a half-century of events — that its complexity can’t be fully appreciated until the very end. For the purposes of the plot, these distinctive internal voices bind the story together, but an outside observer can only wonder what would happen if everyone blurted out their open, unguarded thoughts at the next garden party.
— The New York Times

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781933397504
Publisher:
Felony & Mayhem, LLC
Publication date:
10/15/2006
Pages:
356
Product dimensions:
5.60(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.79(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >