Acorna's Triumph (Lib)(CD)

Acorna's Triumph (Lib)(CD)

3.8 16
by Anne McCaffrey
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781415901618
Publisher:
Books on Tape, Inc.
Publication date:
03/28/2004

Meet the Author

Anne Inez McCaffrey (1926¿2011) was an American-born Irish writer best known for the Dragonriders of Pern science fiction series. She was the first woman to win a Hugo Award for fiction (for the novella Weyr Search) and the first to win a Nebula Award (for the novella Dragonrider). Her novel The White Dragon became one of the first science fiction books to appear on The New York Times bestseller list. She is also the author of the Acorna Universe series, which is a set of ten novels.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Acorna's Triumph (Acorna Series #7) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This entire series is a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Acorna¿s Truimph is the seventh and final book in the Acorna series by Anne McCaffrey and Elizabeth Ann Scarborough. Acorna is a young linyaari (a humanoid-unicorn species) who was raised by humans. In previous books, she has had many adventures to be reunited with the other linyaari and free their home planet from the insect-like khleevi. In Acorna¿s Truimph, Acorna is reunited with her missing lifemate Aari who has been time-traveling with the feline shape-changer Grimalkin. Acorna bounces from one crisis to another across space and time, chasing thieves and rescuing people, all while trying to solve the mystery of Aari¿s strange behavior. The plot reads like a series of television episodes ¿ each crisis is neatly wrapped up and then the characters move on to the next adventure. Several of the supporting characters aren¿t much more than clichés and even the main characters seem shallow at times. However, it is entertaining in a tongue-in-cheek kind of way and the action does bop along fairly swiftly. This light-hearted jaunt through space and time with almost-magical unicorn people will mostly appeal to young adults. Others might want to try Scarborough¿s Nothing Sacred or books from McCaffrey¿s Pern series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wasn't pleased with this one. It had too many holes and was too whiney. I think Acorna has overstayed her time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Over the past few years, Acorna has won the hearts of fans around the world. Sweet, yet strong, she has faced down aliens, healed, and searched for her past and her future. Yet, she has been a tragic heroine, for in the quest for freedom, she lost her lifemate, Aari....................... Fortunately, in her universe, time is something to be bent, and through the magic of alternate realities, Acorna and Aari get a second chance. The problem is, Aari seems to have no memory of their love other than a dry recitation as if he is reading a script of who he is supposed to be. As heartbreaking as that change might be, there are direr matters at hand, the insectoid aliens who have caused Acorna's people so much pain are once more a threat, and thieves have stolen a treasure that must be recovered. .......................... **** As with the Pernese stories, domestic dramas weigh equally with planetary crises to create a well rounded story. Fans of action, adventure, intrigue, and romance each have something to appreciate herein. Subtle humor poking fun at this current timeframe lighten the mood appreciably. While you may be sad to see this saga end, since Ms. McCaffrey's stories are among the most re-readable written, it is nothing to be too disheartened about. ****
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Ancestral Hosts are near immortal shapeshifters, who rescued the Ancestors (unicorns) from earth because they were hunted to near extinction by humans who wanted their magical healing horn. The hosts mixed their DNA with that of the Ancestors leading to the creation of the Linyaari race. They made their home on Vhiliinyar until the insectoid race known as the Khleevi destroyed their home world. Acorna, who as a baby was found and raised by three space miners, finally is reunited with her people and meets her lifemate Aari......................................... Together they help to rebuild and terraform Vhiliinyar but below the surface of the planet they find a room meant for time traveling. Aari becomes lost in time and space and when he returns he is different and Acorna keeps her distance from him. After rescuing a previously unknown sentient race, Acorna begins to believe that Aari is really an Ancestor host that he traveled with and the real Aari is trapped on Vhiliinyar in the past during a Khleevi attack. A rescue mission is mounted but will they be in time to rescue Aari before the Khleevi torture him once again.......................................... The Acorna novels are great space opera filled with non-stop action and enough romance to appeal to fans of that genre. Fans of Star Trek, Star Wars and Lost in Space will find ACORNA¿S TRIUMPH a wondrous delight and a fitting end to this breathtaking series. Readers who liked this book will want to read the previous six works in this series starting with the aptly named ACORNA............................ Harriet Klausner