The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and the Undead

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and the Undead

3.6 3
by Don Borchert
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Mark Twain once said "The rumors of my death were greatly exaggerat—BRAINS!!!!!"

Pulled from the grip of Mark Twain's rotting zombie hands, is Tom Sawyer like you've never seen him before, in a swashbuckling, treasure-seeking adventure, spiked with blood, gore, and zombie madness.

In this expanded and illustrated edition of Mark Twain's beloved

See more details below

Overview

Mark Twain once said "The rumors of my death were greatly exaggerat—BRAINS!!!!!"

Pulled from the grip of Mark Twain's rotting zombie hands, is Tom Sawyer like you've never seen him before, in a swashbuckling, treasure-seeking adventure, spiked with blood, gore, and zombie madness.

In this expanded and illustrated edition of Mark Twain's beloved tale of boyhood adventures, Tom's usual mishaps are filled with the macabre and take place in a world overrun by a zombie virus that turns people into something folks call "Zum." The United States is infected with a plague of rotting, yet spry, Zum, searching for fresh meat.

In this world, there's no need to whitewash Aunt Polly's fence. Instead, Tom cons his friends into sharpening fence posts to lethal points to repel a Zum attack. To escape the boredom of civilized life, Tom and his pal Huckleberry Finn don't have to fake their deaths, just pretend to be Zum. And instead of playing cowboys and Indians, Tom hones his fighting skills in a bloodthirsty game of "Us and Zum." He always wins . . . until he bumps into the real thing.

When vicious, self-aware zombies evolve and threaten the town . . . what will Tom and Huck do to protect their loved ones, and will they live to tell the tale?

With all the comedy, romance, and adventure that readers expect from Mark Twain, Tom Sawyer now becomes a new breed of hero for a whole new world—a grade-A zombie hunter.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Humorist Borchert (Free for All) presents a novel from an alternate universe, complete with a charming mock-historical forward, in which Twain writes in, and about, an 1870s America plagued by an epidemic of violent, virus-created undead Zum. The book smoothly integrates much of Twain's plot and a modernized version of his actual text, with changed material such as sharpening fence posts replacing the task of whitewashing. A few gratuitous and gory zombie fights round things out. The mash-up is undeniably clever and well-done, but it fails to either significantly change the reader's perspective on the original or provide much in the way of satire, humor, or alternate history world-building, proving once again that a nifty idea isn't enough to make a satisfying read. (Aug.)
VOYA - Tim Capehart
In the tradition of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Quirk Books, 2009) and Little Women and Werewolves (Del Rey, 2010), comes yet another classic novel with the supernatural inserted by a modern author. In this version of Twain's classic, Tom lives in a world where the dead don't always stay underground and the living are armed against Zum attacks. Since his mother was slain in one such attack, Tom lives with Sid, Mary, and Aunt Polly. He still pursues Becky Thatcher and gets into trouble regularly. Much of Twain's original text survives in this edition with only minor changes. Tom sharpens Aunt Polly's fence posts instead of whitewashing them; if the Zum attack, they'll be impaled climbing the fence. Tom, Huck, and Joe still run off, are thought dead, and attend their own funeral, but of course, they're thought, at first, to be undead upon their return. Perhaps the oddest change is schoolteacher Mr. Dobbins's secret anatomy book from the original; herein, it becomes an S&M confessional novel. Injun Joe turns out to be the first of a dangerous new breed of self-aware Zum and must be stopped before he can raise an army. Fans of this hybrid genre, and forgiving fans of the original, will enjoy this the most as long as they don't pause for thought; in a world where Zum are common enough, the reactions of the characters would be quite different than those carried over from the original. With the first real zombie attack not occurring until nearly two-thirds of the way through the novel, it is, perhaps, too much the classic for horror fans. Reviewer: Tim Capehart
School Library Journal
Gr 6–8—Borchert's adaptation of the classic tale offers very little in the way of new twists and turns. All of the memorable moments and characters of the original story are here—Huckleberry Finn, Aunt Polly, Becky Thatcher, Injun Joe. Readers follow them through the well-known story. That is actually the strength of the book. Unfortunately, credit for great storytelling goes to Twain. Borchert's introduction of zombies, which are called the "Zum," is his major contribution to the novel, and he fails to give sufficient background about them. They are introduced sporadically and with little lasting effect. The concept for the book is an interesting one, but the author fails to stray very far from the trusted script of Twain and take advantage of uncharted waters.—Greg Stone, Oak Mountain Middle School, Birmingham, AL

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781429963411
Publisher:
Tom Doherty Associates
Publication date:
08/03/2010
Sold by:
Macmillan
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
701,136
File size:
0 MB

Meet the Author

Don Borchert, a long-serving assistant librarian in the suburban California public library system, is the author of Free for All (Virgin Books, 2007) and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and the Undead (Tor Books, 2010). Borchert is a popular lecturer on the library circuit and in 2008 he was keynote speaker for the American Library Association (ALA) national convention as well as for the Missouri Library Association and Nevada Library association.


Don Borchert, a long-serving assistant librarian in the suburban California public library system, is the author of Free for All (Virgin Books, 2007) and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and the Undead (Tor Books, 2010). Borchert is a popular lecturer on the library circuit and in 2008 he was keynote speaker for the American Library Association (ALA) national convention as well as for the Missouri Library Association and Nevada Library association.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >