Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyteck Series #9)

Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyteck Series #9)

3.9 38
by James Grippando
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“Grippando has definitely reached a new level with this series entry. . . . One of his best.” —Booklist (starred review)

A young girl’s murder sets off a grisly cascade of crime, death, and intrigue—and sends criminal defense lawyer Jack Swyteck after a sinister group of terrorists on the verge of unleashing chaos

See more details below

Overview

“Grippando has definitely reached a new level with this series entry. . . . One of his best.” —Booklist (starred review)

A young girl’s murder sets off a grisly cascade of crime, death, and intrigue—and sends criminal defense lawyer Jack Swyteck after a sinister group of terrorists on the verge of unleashing chaos across the globe. From New York Times bestseller James Grippando, the ninth Jack Swyteck novel, Afraid of the Dark—perfect for fans of Steve Martini, Phillip Margolin, and Jo Nesbo—is a rollercoaster thrill ride into the very heart of evil.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In Grippando's rousing ninth Jack Swyteck legal thriller (after Born to Run), Jack successfully defends a supposed Somali prisoner in his mid-20s held at Guantánamo. But then the prisoner is identified as an American, Jamal Wakefield, and is transferred to Miami, Fla., where he's charged with the fatal stabbing of his ex-girlfriend, McKenna Mays, three years earlier. In his defense, Jamal offers a wild story of kidnapping and covert interrogation. As witnesses who could confirm Jamal's alibi are eliminated, Jack and his dwindling circle of friends, and not always trustworthy allies, must race to uncover a sadistic killer and his bosses before the conspirators can silence everyone who might speak against them. Working with a cast that includes depraved sexual deviants, corrupt private military contractors, and wannabe jihadis, Grippando transforms what might have been a conventional genre novel in lesser hands into an exciting tale of revenge. (Apr.)
Newark Star Ledger
“Grippando powerfully weaves Afraid of the Dark into a noir look at the fears that seep into each corner of society….Grippando has proven his skills with edge-of-your-seat thrillers. Afraid of the Dark may be his most gripping novel.”
Associated Press Staff
“More twists and turns than a snowy mountain pass…Afraid of the Dark will have readers embracing this darkness.”
Miami Herald
“Grippando has proven his skills with edge-of-your-seat thrillers. Afraid of the Dark may be his most gripping yet.”
Booklist
"Grippando has definitely reached a new level with this series entry. . . . One of his best."
Romantic Times
“Filled with twists and turns and edge-of-the-seat tension.”
Booklist (starred review)
“Grippando has definitely reached a new level with this series entry. . . . One of his best.”
Library Journal
Grippando's 18th novel (after Money To Burn) brings together three series characters—criminal defense lawyer Jack Swyteck; FBI undercover agent Andie Henning, now Jack's fiancée; and Miami cop Vince Paulo. All are tied to the murder three years earlier of 16-year-old McKenna Mays, the daughter of Vince's best friend, Chuck, an Internet entrepreneur. Vince was blinded by an explosion meant to destroy evidence left behind by the killer. But McKenna's dying words implicated her ex-boyfriend Jamal, who is now being held as a Somali terrorist at the U.S. naval base in Guantánamo. Jack gets involved when he decides to defend Jamal, despite being warned off the case by Andie, who knows more than she can say. So what do you do when your defendant has an alibi—his abduction to a black site in Prague—that can't be verified because of government secrecy? And if Jamal is innocent, as Jack believes, who was the killer? To find out, Jack, Vince, and Chuck must penetrate illegal websites and a world of evil in search of a terrorist who calls himself The Dark. VERDICT Superb plotting, high suspense, compelling timely issues, and finely honed characters make this crime novel/international thriller a great read. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 11/15/10.]—Ron Terpening, Univ. of Arizona, Tucson
Kirkus Reviews
Grippando brings back Miami attorney Jack Swyteck to deal with a cold case that wasn't.

When 16-year-old McKenna Mays was brutally murdered, everyone knew who did it. In particular, Sergeant Vince Paulo, Miami PD, knew. At the behest of McKenna's dad, he'd been engaged in a doomed attempt to watch over her, arriving at the Mays house with time only to ask for a name and was not surprised at the one she managed to supply. By all reports Jamal Wakefield, an ex-boyfriend, had not taken kindly to rejection. Then, moments after McKenna's death-bed accusation, the Mays house blew apart, an explosion that destroyed Vince Paulo's sight as well. And that, too—the deadly home-made bomb—was credited to Jamal. So no mystery, no bothersome unanswered questions about motivation, but also no Jamal. He'd vanished. Flash forward three years. Series hero Jack finds himself at Gitmo, defending Prisoner Number 977, who turns out to be the very same Jamal, who, interestingly enough, turns out to have a seemingly rock-solid alibi covering the time he was supposed to be murdering McKenna and blinding Vince: incarceration by federal authorities. Suddenly, McKenna's homicide becomes a case of a different temperature, inasmuch as Jamal has so unexpectedly climbed out from under, and inasmuch as McKenna's actual killer is presumably still at large. Now there are questions, bothersome indeed. How, for instance, to explain McKenna's fateful I.D.? Precisely what had landed Jamal in Gitmo, and why does he refuse to talk about it, even to his own lawyers? All that is for Jack to sort out, a task not beyond him of course, provided he can stay alive long enough.

By the skin of its teeth, Grippando's 18th (Money to Burn, 2010, etc.) survives one of those evil-incarnate villains whose lack of nuance is an invitation to disbelief.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062078605
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
03/22/2011
Series:
Jack Swyteck Series , #9
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
528
Sales rank:
31,872
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >