Afterlife - A Psychic Horror Thriller [NOOK Book]

Overview

In New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg's page-turning blend of psychic thriller and gothic mystery, a brutal murder ignites a series of dark, erotic, paranormal invasions.

Julie Hutchinson believes someone's breaking into her...
See more details below
Afterlife - A Psychic Horror Thriller

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.99
BN.com price

Overview

In New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg's page-turning blend of psychic thriller and gothic mystery, a brutal murder ignites a series of dark, erotic, paranormal invasions.

Julie Hutchinson believes someone's breaking into her house while she's asleep...while she's dreaming. A shadow presence comes in the night -- to her bedroom.

Is it a psychic attack? A ghost? Or something even more terrifying? Who has returned from the afterlife?

For fans of Dean Koontz, Stephen King and Gillian Flynn.

"Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of the Rizzoli & Isles series.

Julie thought she had a perfect life: a great husband – a doctor, a wonderful but troubled stepson and a beautiful daughter.

But now, it’s all changed.

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby."
— Dean Koontz

Someone is breaking into her house at night -- while everyone is asleep.

Someone who brings a horrific message in a whisper of terror…

Afterlife is a full-length novel, approximately 300 pages in print. Exclusively published by Alkemara Press for Nook.

Look for other books (fiction) from Alkemara Press, including:

The Children’s Hour
Goat Dance
Purity
Dark of the Eye
The Words
Wild Things

With more to come…

From the Publisher's Weekly starred review for Afterlife:

"Stoker-winner Clegg (The Hour Before Dark) has an uncanny ability to frighten readers by chronicling everyday characters' perilous descents into their own private hells. Julie Hutchinson mentally unravels after the brutal and mysterious murder of her husband, Jeff, in this stand-alone tale full of subtle suspense, inventive twists and credible characters. Julie has erotic nightmares and hideous hallucinations while slowly trying to piece together the decades-old puzzle involving her husband's past....The book's final sentence is guaranteed to unnerve readers and leave them wanting more."

Praise for Clegg's fiction from bestselling authors:

"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation."
— Bentley Little, author of The Policy

"Clegg delivers!"
— John Saul, bestselling author of Faces of Fear and The Devil's Labyrinth.

"A master of the genre. Absolutely thrilling! Douglas Clegg is the future of dark fantasy."
— Sherrilyn Kenyon
New York Times bestselling author of the Dark-Hunters.

"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction."
— Peter Straub
author of Lost Boy, Lost Girl and the New York Times Bestseller Black House (with Stephen King)

"Clegg is one of the best!"
— Richard Laymon

"Douglas Clegg is a weaver of nightmares!"
— Robert R. McCammon
author of The Queen of Bedlam and Speaks The Nightbird.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940012307880
  • Publisher: Alkemara Press
  • Publication date: 4/16/2011
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 429,209
  • File size: 293 KB

Meet the Author

Douglas Clegg is the award-winning and bestselling author of more than 25 books of horror, suspense, dark fantasy and gothic mystery, including Afterlife, Purity, The Nightmare Chronicles, Goat Dance, Dark of the Eye, Neverland, The Words, Wild Things, Naomi, The Children's Hour, You Come When I Call You, The Machinery of Night, The Hour Before Dark, Breeder, Bad Karma, Red Angel, Night Cage, Nightmare House, Mischief, The Infinite, The Abandoned and others. He lives on the New England coast.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great book. Has become one of my favorite authors!

    I loved this book. The only thing is i wish it was longer because i feel that the story wasnt finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)