Alessandro Scarlatti: Vespro della Beata Vergine

( 1 )
$16.14 price
(Save 5%)$16.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $9.53   
  • New (5) from $9.53   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 5/25/2010
  • Label: Atma Classique
  • UPC: 722056253321
  • Catalog Number: 2533
  • Sales rank: 165,300


Disc 1
  1. 1 Dixit Dominus (No. 1) (Psalm 109), for chorus & organ - Alessandro Scarlatti & Harry van der Kamp (9:57)
  2. 2 Nisi Dominus aedificaverit (No. 1) (Psalm 126), for soprano, alto, chorus, 2 violins & continuo - Alessandro Scarlatti & Harry van der Kamp (2:46)
  3. 3 Lauda Jerusalem Dominum, offertory for chorus & organ - Alessandro Scarlatti & Harry van der Kamp (3:21)
  4. 4 Magnificat for soloists, chorus, 2 violins, viola & continuo in D major - Alessandro Scarlatti & Harry van der Kamp (21:12)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Netherlands Chamber Choir Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A serene blend of old and new styles

    The psalms that make up the vespers recorded here may or may not have been written to form a cycle - impossible to know, as the dates of most of them are uncertain - but they are united by their employment of plainchant melody as the basis of composition, accompaniment by organ/basso continuo, and serene mix of stile antico (written in the high Renaissance style of Palestrina) and stile moderno (written n a style reflecting newer musical developments) elements. With dissonant touches in unexpected places, Scarlatti injects something altogether odder and darker even into movements written in the most traditional style. Following the psalms are settings of the hymn Ave Maris Stella and the canticle Magnificat (this Magnificat was recorded earlier by Alessandrini, who used one voice per part; van der Kamp uses three). In most of the pieces, subtle shades of the stile antico predominate, which makes all the more vibrant and luminous those moments when, betraying the works' late Baroque provenance, a soloist breaks free of the polyphonic weight of the chorus. Whether mellifluously differentiating themselves in solos or seamlessly flowing together in the tutti sections, the vocalists are first-rate; one could not ask for a more sensitive performance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews