Ali in Wonderland: And Other Tall Tales

Ali in Wonderland: And Other Tall Tales

4.2 50
by Ali Wentworth
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

An acclaimed comedic actress and writer, former Oprah regular, wife of political and media star George Stephanopoulos, and a mother who lets her two girls eat cotton candy before bed, Ali Wentworth rebelled against her blue-blood upbringing, embracing Hollywood, motorcycles, even a few wildly inappropriate marriage proposals. In Ali in Wonderland, she

Overview

An acclaimed comedic actress and writer, former Oprah regular, wife of political and media star George Stephanopoulos, and a mother who lets her two girls eat cotton candy before bed, Ali Wentworth rebelled against her blue-blood upbringing, embracing Hollywood, motorcycles, even a few wildly inappropriate marriage proposals. In Ali in Wonderland, she takes us through the looking glass: from a childhood among Washington's elite and a stint in a New England prep school to her days doing L.A. sketch comedy alongside Will Ferrell and Lisa Kudrow. Constant throughout is her mother, Muffie, a flawlessly elegant, no-nonsense force of nature and pure WASP convictions. As charming and off-the-wall as Ali herself, her acclaimed memoir is a delightful look at life that is both intimate and uproarious.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Depending on whom you ask, Wentworth (The WASP Cookbook) is best known for roles on TV’s In Living Color and Head Case, her appearances on Oprah, or her 2001 marriage to George Stephanopoulous. The busy author’s fun, adventure-filled memoir is rife with colorful turns of phrase (for example, “I felt like a Chihuahua after the neighborhood bully lit the firecracker in its ass”) and humorous tales of her privileged upbringing, various suitors, and trips abroad. The author’s mother, Muffie—who worked as Nancy Reagan’s social secretary—looms large, often as the example against which a young Ali rebelled. Wentworth is amusing and frank, often frenetic, with sharp intelligence underneath the sassy wackiness; passages about her struggle with depression, falling in love with her husband, and her daughter’s baptism have funny moments, but they’re thoughtful and touching, too. Dishy tidbits about famous folk, from Henry Kissinger to Cher, round out this highly entertaining memoir. (Feb.)
Kirkus Reviews
Comedienne Wentworth revisits her privileged and precocious early years. In this satirical dissection of class and privilege, the author, daughter of President Ronald Reagan's social secretary Muffie Cabot, mines a childhood spent among America's elite. By the time she landed a role on the sketch show In Living Color, Wentworth had already put on vaudevillian after-dinner performances for Henry Kissinger. As a socialite in training, she keyed into a number of important life lessons--e.g., "There's a fine line between WASP victuals and white-trash cuisine." Wentworth's glib take on America's social hierarchy might initially seem like a blue blood's guide to slumming it, but her savvy understanding of what she's been given versus what she's earned makes for a sharp critique of class and power. She probes her marriage to former political operative and current TV newsman George Stephanopoulos for insights about pregnancy, child-rearing and compromise. Her understated prose and deadpan humor go a long way toward making this account of life among the one-percenters easy to swallow. If readers aren't taken with her charm, they'd be well advised to follow her mother's catch-all advice: "Just go to the Four Seasons." Nothing's better than blocking out the world behind silk curtains, sinking into crisp linen sheets and ringing for tea and crumpets. Wentworth would likely suggest the same remedy to readers who aren't immediately enamored with her collection of vignettes. She'd be winking slyly as she did, though. A smart, often-funny memoir.
Marie Claire
“Hilarious.”
Book
“[A] lively, laugh-out-loud memoir....Fans of Amy Sedaris and Merrill Markoe will enjoy Wentworth’s warped Weltanschauung and wicket wit.”
Vanity Fair
“Ali Wentworth tumbles comically through Ali in Wonderland.”
Food & Wine
“[H]ilarious...”
New York Post
“A breezily amusing memoir...”
Chelsea Handler
“Ali has written a truly hilarious book . . . and she’s also a good kisser!”
Readers' Prize Elle
“Unanimous applause greeted this actress-comedian’s tour of her fabulous life…all recounted in a manner that had one reader wondering if Wentworth is ‘a long-lost sister of the Sedaris clan.’”
Jerry Seinfeld
“Everything that comes out of Ali Wentworth’s mouth is funny!”
Kathy Griffin
“Ali Wentworth’s book is like Chicken Soup for the Vagina. Gays and straight men, I’m not leaving you out here! Ali is truly one of the quickest, funniest girls I’ve ever met. Enjoy!”
Alec Baldwin
“Ali Wentworth is funny and warm and crazy all at once. Like Barbara Eden. But on something. Like crystal meth.”
Muffie Cabot (Ali's mother)
“I would tone down the pee and fart references.”
Readers' Prize - Elle
"Unanimous applause greeted this actress-comedian’s tour of her fabulous life…all recounted in a manner that had one reader wondering if Wentworth is ‘a long-lost sister of the Sedaris clan.’"
Gwyneth Paltrow
“One of the most hilarious reads I’ve enjoyed in a long time.”
Julie Hinds
“With candor and humor, [Wentworth] writes about her life, her marriage and growing up in the elite world of her illustrious mother…”
Readers' Prize February 2012 Elle
“Unanimous applause greeted this actress-comedian’s tour of her fabulous life…all recounted in a manner that had one reader wondering if Wentworth is ‘a long-lost sister of the Sedaris clan.’”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061998577
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/07/2012
Pages:
272
Product dimensions:
5.70(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.20(d)

Videos

What People are saying about this

Alec Baldwin

“Ali Wentworth is funny and warm and crazy all at once. Like Barbara Eden. But on something. Like crystal meth.”

Julie Hinds

“With candor and humor, [Wentworth] writes about her life, her marriage and growing up in the elite world of her illustrious mother…”

Gwyneth Paltrow

“One of the most hilarious reads I’ve enjoyed in a long time.”

Jerry Seinfeld

“Everything that comes out of Ali Wentworth’s mouth is funny!”

Chelsea Handler

“Ali has written a truly hilarious book . . . and she’s also a good kisser!”

Muffie Cabot (Ali's mother)

“I would tone down the pee and fart references.”

Kathy Griffin

“Ali Wentworth’s book is like Chicken Soup for the Vagina. Gays and straight men, I’m not leaving you out here! Ali is truly one of the quickest, funniest girls I’ve ever met. Enjoy!”

Meet the Author

Ali Wentworth is the author of the New York Times bestseller Ali in Wonderland. She made a name for herself on the comedy show In Living Color and has appeared on such television shows as The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, Seinfeld, Head Case, and The Oprah Winfrey Show, for which she was a correspondent. Her film credits include Jerry Maguire, The Real Blonde, Office Space, and It’s Complicated. A native of Washington, D.C., she lives in New York City with her husband, George Stephanopoulos, and their two girls.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Ali in Wonderland: And Other Tall Tales 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DYING FOR A SEQUEL... This book is just like reconnecting with an old friend over cocktails, MANY cocktails....time flies by, you laugh your ass off, and are left wanting more. Wentworth is raw, dead on, laugh out loud funny and a natural, gifted story-teller. Perfect for an airplane, at the beach or anytime you need an escape read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ali Wentworth has a very quirky sense of humor and some people will probably not get it, but I really enjoyed the book. Especially like the briefer, independent-but flowing, short story approach.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best read this year
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Super funny book even if you don't like ali wentworth you'll love her book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good read, laugh out loud funny.
Loni47 More than 1 year ago
Great!!! Hard to put it down, very entertaining, Ali rocks... I recommend this to everyone who enjoyrs reading. Hope she writes another book soon...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, entertaining, and funny!
BookSakeBlogspot More than 1 year ago
I requested this book after reading the reviews, particularly the quotes from Kathy Griffin and Chelsea Handler, because I know that if they think someone is funny, so will I. I was right – Ali Wentworth proved to be quite the comedian and storyteller in Ali in Wonderland. I’m not sure everything in this book is true, as the title states, “and other tall tales”, but this "memoir" is hilarious anyway. Her descriptions of people are so ridiculous that I found myself rereading those parts to my boyfriend, hoping he’d get a kick out of them as well. I believe this was one of my favorite lines: “Abigail was an anemic blonde from Winnetka, Illinois. Abigail was light on the outside, but dark on the inside. She had a face like a fetus and wore Fair Isle sweaters, knee socks, and clogs.” Hah – I love that. Surely not everyone will appreciate her sense of humor, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It’s all in the little things she says – things you might overlook if you are waiting for the next big joke. There’s no buildup, there’s no punch line, this woman is just funny. Period. I definitely suggest reading this one. 4/5 stars for the occasional dull moment, but they are few and far between. Reviewed by Brittany for Book Sake.
Compulsive-ReaderJB More than 1 year ago
This was the most fun book I have read in a long time. I have recommended it to all my friends! Ali Wentworth is hysterical and so real, I would love to sit down and drink coffee with her (or a glass of wine or 3). Read this book!
JoeRous More than 1 year ago
A weak effort.   Give this pass.
cpsher More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Ali's story as it mirrored my life in many aspects, having grown up in D.C. in a family involved in government life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Ali & her book is hilarious!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I expected some gossip and insights. This book is a lot more. I laughed out loud, over and over. Read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I literally laughed out loud, old school!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never heard of Ali until I saw the review of her new book on Good Morning America so I thought I'd give the first book a try. She jumps around from past to present bringing her jumbled thoughts to print. It might make a great comedy routine but as a book it's tough to follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago