All about Seduction

All about Seduction

3.7 8
by Katy Madison
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“Madison is definitely an author to watch.”
Romance Reviews Today

One of the most exciting new talents in historical romance fiction, Katy Madison returns with All About Seduction—a magnificent second novel as glorious as her first, Tainted by Temptation (“A firecracker of a book!” —Anna

Overview

“Madison is definitely an author to watch.”
Romance Reviews Today

One of the most exciting new talents in historical romance fiction, Katy Madison returns with All About Seduction—a magnificent second novel as glorious as her first, Tainted by Temptation (“A firecracker of a book!” —Anna Campbell). A bewitching gothic novel set in Victorian England—ideal for fans of Amanda Quick and Elizabeth Hoyt—All About Seduction captivates from the very first page with a dark and sensuous tale of a woman who has lived her life bound by duty finally letting her passions free when she is ordered by her husband to take a lover.

Editorial Reviews

Romantic TimesBOOKclub
"Those who thrill to the chill of a gothic romance will enjoy Madison’s homage to the great Victoria Holt."
Anna Campbell
A firecracker of a book! TAINTED BY TEMPTATION grabs the classic gothic romance by the scruff of the neck, gives it a good shake and sets it ablaze to heat up bookshelves everywhere.
Carla Cassidy
Katy Madison’s Tainted By Temptation has it all - richly drawn characters, a tightly woven plot and a breathless romance set against a backdrop of gothic elements.
Harriet Klausner
“...readers will enjoy this entertaining Regency romance.”
Harriet Klausne on BN.com
“...readers will enjoy this entertaining Regency romance.”
Brittanys Thoughts
4 1/2 stars “I enjoyed this read. It was well written and the plot was well laid out. I felt bad for Jack, he had so many bad things happen and I so wanted him and Caroline to have their happy ending...Great read!”
Romantic Times BOOKclub
“Those who thrill to the chill of a gothic romance will enjoy Madison’s homage to the great Victoria Holt.”
Tazzie Book Reviews
“Katy Madison has written a beautiful story that teaches a woman how to feel passion and how to feel loved.”
Joyfully Reviewed
“All About Seduction was a truly fast paced read with engaging characters finding that marriages in that time didn’t always have to be of convenience, and if they were, there was still the possibility of finding happiness later in life!”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062107350
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/25/2011
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
1,111,678
File size:
2 MB

Related Subjects

What People are saying about this

Anna Campbell
A firecracker of a book! TAINTED BY TEMPTATION grabs the classic gothic romance by the scruff of the neck, gives it a good shake and sets it ablaze to heat up bookshelves everywhere.
Carla Cassidy
Katy Madison’s Tainted By Temptation has it all - richly drawn characters, a tightly woven plot and a breathless romance set against a backdrop of gothic elements.

Meet the Author

Katy Madison has always loved stories and books. As a child she was always lugging a book around. In third grade, she fell in love with the romance genre when her mother fed her voracious appetite for books with a romance novel. Sidetracked by real life, a husband, kids, and a career at The Kansas City Star, where she authored a few incident reports and a system manual, she returned to her love of the genre with her gothic romance, Tainted by Temptation.

Katy makes her home on a tree-lined street in Kansas City, Missouri, and thinks there is nothing better than curling up in front of the fireplace with a good book while a storm rages outside.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

All about Seduction 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
RomancingRakes More than 1 year ago
***original extended review posted at Romancing Rakes*** Basically, Caroline has been married for 15 years to Mr. Broadhurst and never once, have they conceived a child. Okay, you're thinking, maybe she's infertile. Nope, Mr. Broadhurst has been married three times and has never once gotten any of his past wives with child. That tells you it's his problem and to top it off, there's suspicion as to what happened to those past wives due to the fact no children were brought forth. He wants her to have a baby with one of her brother's friends but she can't bring herself to seduce any of them. Cue in the dashing Jack Applegate, hurt Mill Worker. They've both been secretly attracted to each other for a while but knew their social differences would not allow the attraction to become more. Denial, thy names are Jack and Caroline. As she nurses him back to health, they both must come to terms with their feelings while her husband keeps pushing her to conceive with one of the men. I'm glad I gave this book a chance. In a time of arranged marriages, gaps in social class and money and bloodlines are a social currency, Jack and Caroline are able to overcome those obstacles towards a HEA. At times, the continuous mention of Caroline not wanting to seduce any of the men made me want to tear my hair out and scream 'Do something about it! Find some dirt on your horrible husband!' As for the social class difference between Caroline and Jack and the constant need to point that out and use it as a barrier, was only delaying their happily ever after. I did feel bad when Broadhurst kicked the bucket and waited for lightning to strike after wishing throughout the book. Okay, but only a little. I will read another book by Ms. Madison. ***review book provided by NetGalley***
harstan More than 1 year ago
Caroline Broadhurst has been married for fifteen years to an abusive mill owner who paid her family for her. Now with no heir and learning he is sterile, Broadhurst orders his wife to bed an aristocratic friend of her brother. She is appalled as her husband parades the who's who of decadence passed her. However, Carline is an obedient wife so will do what is demanded of her even if she loathes sleeping with any of these rakes or for that matter her odious mate. Caroline is attracted to mill engineer Jack Applegate who has loved her from afar since he first saw his employer's wife. When Jack is injured at the mill, Caroline takes him to her manor house to heal. He learns of Broadhurst's insidious scheme and volunteers to be the sire of her offspring. However, her husband learns of her duplicity with an unacceptable middle class worker so plots revenge as the cuckold spouse. With a nod to Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, readers will enjoy this entertaining Regency romance. The exciting story line is character driven mostly by Caroline who is refreshing with her pathetic inability to break out of what society and her family expects of a woman. Although over the top of the Tower especially once Jack is injured, fans will enjoy this engaging nineteenth century version of the Miller's Tale. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DebR97 More than 1 year ago
This ebook was courtesy of NetGalley and Harper Collins Publishers. She had never known passion like this. Caroline Broadhurst is about to take a lover- at her husband's command. For fifteen years, Caroline has done everything her much older husband has desired-except provide an heir. Now he has given her an ultimatum: seduce a suitable gentleman and bear a son. Caroline would never think of bowing to such a shameful order, but then she meets Jack Applegate. Jack has longed for the beautiful, untouchable Caroline for years, but the chasm between them was too wide to ever dream of crossing. Now, fate and passion have thrown them together, but the potential scandal threatens to smother their love. And when a violent secret comes to light, only a terrible sacrifice will prevent the flame of their affection from being snuffed out forever . . . While the characterizations were good in this book, I didn't like the plot. I read romance to escape for a few hours and this book just left me uptight. Caroline had endured too much and that her family, her husband and her brother would treat her this way just left me cold. Too much description of bad love scenes was depressing.