All Day and a Night (Ellie Hatcher Series #5)

All Day and a Night (Ellie Hatcher Series #5)

4.2 10
by Alafair Burke
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A new murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads Detective Ellie Hatcher into a twisting investigation with explosive and deadly results in this superb mystery from the “terrific web spinner” (Entertainment Weekly) Alafair Burke.

When psychotherapist Helen Brunswick is murdered in her Park Slope office, the entire city

See more details below

  • Checkmark Big Crimes in the Big Apple  Shop Now

Overview

A new murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads Detective Ellie Hatcher into a twisting investigation with explosive and deadly results in this superb mystery from the “terrific web spinner” (Entertainment Weekly) Alafair Burke.

When psychotherapist Helen Brunswick is murdered in her Park Slope office, the entire city suspects her estranged husband—until the District Attorney’s office receives an anonymous letter. The letter’s author knows a chilling detail that police have kept secret: the victim’s bones were broken after she was killed. Her injuries were eerily similar to the signature used twenty years earlier by Anthony Amaro, a serial killer serving a life sentence for his crimes. Now, Amaro is asking to be released from prison, arguing that he was wrongly convicted, and that the true killer is still on the loose.

NYPD Detectives Ellie Hatcher and JJ Rogan are tapped as the “fresh look” team to reassess the original investigation that led to Amaro’s conviction. The case pits them against both their fellow officers and a hard-charging celebrity defense lawyer with a young associate named Carrie Blank, whose older sister was one of Amaro’s victims.

As the NYPD and Amaro’s lawyers search for certainty among conflicting evidence, their investigations take them back to Carrie’s hometown, where secrets buried long ago lead to a brutal attack—one that makes it terrifyingly clear that someone has gotten too close to the truth.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
05/15/2014
The shocking murder of psychotherapist Helen Brunswick complicates an old case, as NYPD detective Ellie Hatcher and attorney Carrie Blank both search for the truth from opposite sides of the law. When similarities between Helen's murder and those of past serial killer victims come to light and an anonymous letter with inside information about Helen's case that might exonerate the convicted killer arrives, the police are forced to reevaluate the previous cases. While Ellie is assigned to the "fresh look" team, Carrie goes to work for a celebrity lawyer specializing in wrongful convictions and representing Anthony Amaro, the man imprisoned for the murders. She is enticed by the idea of discovering the truth, because her half sister was one of the original victims. As the cops and lawyers navigate new evidence and old confessions, they uncover dark secrets kept hidden for decades. This is the fifth book in the Ellie Hatcher series (after Never Tell), and familiarity with previous entries is helpful but not necessary. VERDICT A satisfying police procedural with added interest from alternating perspectives of detective and attorney. For fans of Lisa Gardner and Tess Gerritsen, and readers who enjoy tough female police officer protagonists and complex plots. [See Prepub Alert, 1/6/14.]—Emily Byers, Tillamook Cty. Lib., OR
Publishers Weekly
03/24/2014
Has suspected serial killer Anthony Amaro spent 18 years in New York’s Five Points Correctional Facility for a murder he didn’t commit? In Burke’s gripping fifth novel of suspense featuring NYPD Det. Ellie Hatcher (after 2012’s Never Tell), Ellie must suss that out in the wake of a fresh slaying in Brooklyn with the same signature, for which Amaro has an ironclad alibi. She must also consider the evidence against Amaro in five earlier murders in his hometown of Utica, N.Y., for which he was never prosecuted. That Ellie has recently moved in with the guy calling the shots, ADA Max Donovan, complicates matters, as does Carrie Blank, the associate of the lawyer handling Amaro’s wrongful-conviction claim, being the half-sister of one of the Utica victims. Burke sets the equally driven Ellie and Carrie on a collision course in a propulsive thriller marred only by the plot’s overreliance on coincidence. Agent: Philip Spitzer, Philip Spitzer Literary Agency. (June)
Michael Connelly
“If it was me on the slab at the coroner’s office I would want Ellie Hatcher on the case. Burke’s detective is one of the best in the business and this take on New York City could only come from a writer who knows its darkness and light so well.”
Megan Abbott
“A masterfully plotted, psychologically complex thriller, Alafair Burke’s All Day and a Night raises larger questions about the choices we make, the mistakes we can’t undo. Whip-smart and emotionally deft, it delivers all the way through its final pages.”
Karin Slaughter
“Burke at her finest: razor sharp twists, stunning surprises and artfully drawn characters. The insider’s view of criminal prosecution is masterfully wrought and as usual, Burke makes you feel like you’re riding along with the detectives in the back of their unmarked car. You won’t want to miss this one.”
Ivy Pochoda
“Spring loaded and razor sharp, All Day and a Night is a surprising and compelling thriller. But Alafair Burke has given us something more gripping than just a crime novel. Her story is about women, their drive, their compassion, and their public and private battles for success and acceptance.”
Megan Abbot
“A masterfully plotted, psychologically complex thriller, Alafair Burke’s All Day and a Night raises larger questions about the choices we make, the mistakes we can’t undo. Whip-smart and emotionally deft, it delivers all the way through its final pages.”
Los Angeles Times
“The strength of the novel is its complexity: The characters are variegated, textured, operating out of a range of motivations, personal and otherwise.”
New York Post
“Perfect for Law & Order freaks who want some ripped-from-the-headlines intrigue with their beachside mai tais.”
Pittsburgh Tribune
“Alafair Burke is as good as any living writer at capturing what crime is like in New York City.”
Tampa Bay Times
“Addictive.”
Suspense magazine
“This is a book that you cannot and will not be able to be put down. An intricate puzzle, this mystery is so well written that the culprit is impossible to figure out. A definite keeper!”
Associated Press Staff
“Compelling….Burke’s talent as a writer continues to grow along with Ellie’s character. Although this is the fifth book in the Ellie Hatcher series, there isn’t a better starting point than All Day and a Night, which will keep the reader up all night.”
the Oprah Magazine O
“Compulsively readable.”
O: the Oprah Magazine
“Compulsively readable.”
Kirkus Reviews
2014-03-29
Burke resurrects NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher, daughter of a former cop, and has her and her partner, J. J. Rogan, investigate whether or not a long-convicted serial killer was really responsible for the murders that landed him in prison. Ellie's annoyed when her boyfriend and live-in lover, Max Donovan, an assistant district attorney, announces that she and her partner have been assigned to what's known as a "fresh look team." The two will reinvestigate the conviction of a man named Anthony Amaro, who may have killed a series of women years ago—including the older sister of an attorney named Carrie Blank. Now, Blank is on the other side of the fence; she's working with a defense attorney to prove that Amaro isn't a killer. The catalyst for the renewed investigation is the recent slaying of a well-known psychotherapist found dead in her own office. That's problematic for police because the victim's death mirrors the killings blamed on now-imprisoned Amaro. After a muckraking lawyer convinces a judge that Amaro is innocent, he's released in record time, much to the displeasure of the Utica, N. Y., police, who put him away for the killings. Sent back to Utica to retrace the original investigation, Hatcher butts heads with local police. Meanwhile, other developments leave investigators wondering just how many killers they're dealing with and whether or not the killings will continue. When Burke first introduced Ellie in 2007, she was a raw, impetuous young cop, and her energy and imperfect approach to cases made her adventures worth following. As Ellie has progressed, she's become sullen, smug and self-righteous, as well as much less interesting. Here, she's up against a convoluted plot; the improbable concept that a judge would turn a convicted murderer loose in a matter of days based on a sliver of evidence; and an ending readers will anticipate almost from the first page. Ellie's much too good a character to waste in this lackluster, predictable potboiler.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062208408
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
06/10/2014
Series:
Ellie Hatcher Series , #5
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
14,041
File size:
1 MB

Meet the Author

Alafair Burke is the New York Times bestselling author of eleven novels, including the stand-alones Long Gone and If You Were Here, the Ellie Hatcher series, and, with Mary Higgins Clark, The Cinderella Murder. A former prosecutor, she now teaches criminal law and lives in Manhattan.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >