The All of It

The All of It

3.1 7
by Jeannette Haien
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

JeannetteHaien’s award-winning first novel relates theseemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangledconfession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not onlythe clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien’s intimate novel of conversations anddilemmas—perfect for

Overview

JeannetteHaien’s award-winning first novel relates theseemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangledconfession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not onlythe clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien’s intimate novel of conversations anddilemmas—perfect for readers of Paul Harding’s Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead, and Flannery O’Connor’sWise Blood—is “an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way” (NewYork Times Book Review).Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition withan introduction by Ann Patchett.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062090096
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
06/07/2011
Pages:
160
Sales rank:
109,579
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.50(d)

Meet the Author

Jeannette Haien is the author of the acclaimed novel The All of It , winner of the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In addition to her career as a writer, Jeannette Haien is well known as a concert pianist and teacher. She and her husband, a lawyer, live in New York City and Connemara, Ireland.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

All of It 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
C. GABORDI More than 1 year ago
Expertly drawn characters -- tough, vulnerable, and believable -- whose stories exemplify James's claim that the only truth is the whole truth. Beautifully written. A keeper.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dinerlee More than 1 year ago
This book is simply lovely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dont waste your time