All Star Superman by Grant Morrison, Frank Quitely |, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
All Star Superman: Volume 1

All Star Superman: Volume 1

4.2 21
by Grant Morrison, Frank Quitely
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Morrison's superb Superman stories can be poignant, action-packed or downright silly, often in the same tale. An expedition to the heart of the sun is sabotaged by Lex Luthor, who would stand to profit from a global water shortage. Superman saves the day, but at a steep cost�his encounter with the sun alters him at a cellular level, and it looks like the Man of Steel actually faces death. The big story deals with Luthor's fervent quest to outlive his enemy, even as he himself sits on death row. The episodic tales along the way are the real delight, though: Superman reveals his true identity to Lois, but she doesn't believe him; for her birthday he gives her a potion which makes her a superwoman for 24 hours; Jimmy Olson becomes "eccentric zillionaire daredevil" for a day for a newspaper column; and in the best of the tales, Clark visits Luthor in prison for an exclusive interview, only to have an undesirable effect on a monstrous inmate. Quitely's art is wide-eyed and simple, yet still cosmically epic, drenched in an old-school color palette that makes this a vibrant feast for the eyes. (Apr.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781401211028
Publisher:
DC Comics
Publication date:
09/02/2008
Pages:
160
Product dimensions:
6.50(w) x 10.10(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

All Star Superman 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Alighieri More than 1 year ago
All-Star Superman is undoubtedly the greatest superhero comic in existence. And that in itself feels like an understatement. Essentially, Morrison acknowledges the limitless wonder of Superman, and rather than simply stop there, exploits it to the greatest possible degree, ultimately creating what are easily among the most memorable moments in comic book history. When every turn of the page brings a sense of breathlessness, when every image captures absolute wonder, when every word resounds with earth-shattering potency - nothing else comes close. Morrison's fecundity is unrivaled and Quitely and Grant's artwork truly captures the raw essence of comic book magic. Basically, get ready to be amazed, get ready to enter the realm of the fantastic, get ready... to fly with Superman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the things that Morrison tends to do with Superman, is to blow him up into an almost God-Like creature with infinite powers and ablities and plays with those ideas, taking them to great legnths. While hardly the most Rational of Superman stories, All-Star Superman is so wonderful because it plays upon those irrationalities. It's an extremely fun and playful take on the man of steel. For people who don't find themselves a fan of Superman, it is still worth looking into, because it makes light and really has fun with the elements that most people find unlikeable about Superman and makes the fun again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best graphic novel I own. I have tons of volumes of DC graphic novels. Superman is my favorite, and this work truly is the master-piece it was reputed to be. While I was initially turned off by the design of the Man of Steel himself, the artwork and color really is supreme. But the story is really where this story is tops. I have never read any graphic novel where everything that unfolds just 'feels' right. Morrison delivered the most pleasing and still totally unique Superman story I have come across.  Fans of Morrison or Superman especially should consider this a MUST HAVE. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheSkyrat More than 1 year ago
Funny. Charming. Dense. Exotic. Weird. Smart. Mythic. Spiritual. This is the most amazing Superman story ever told, and for my money, one of the greatest stories ever told via the comic book medium. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anyone who knows me, knows that I'm a big Superman mark. I love the character and what he stands for. This story is not just one of the best Superman stories ever, but it's one of the best comics I've ever read. I'm a big fan of Quietly and Morrison and have always admired their work. This story increases my fandom for the duo. Too many elements to cover in this story, but here are a few of my highlights: From Clark's reveal to Lois, to granting her a day with his powere, to him saving Luthor in the prison, to the fitting conclusion...this is a must read for any fan of good storytelling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story. Morrison managed to write a Golden Age style Superman comic without making it feel too silly for modern readers. Unfortunately, this digital comic is plagued with artifacts especially noticable in red colored parts of the comic. It can be an eyesore.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stephen-BachEnthusiast More than 1 year ago
Morrison and Quitely's "All Star Superman" (V.1) is an imaginative and beautifully-drawn vision of the Superman myth. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it. It was an interesting read: nice art, different from the current trend, and with an exciting story arc divided in several "mini-stories"... but I expected more from it. Specially after reading the reviews on this Web site. The story was interesting, but it didn't make any sense at some points; also at the beginning it goes really slow, but towards the end it fast-forwards and skips things that seemed important in previous chapters (either that, or my copy is missing pages). Summarizing: a good book... but there are many better (in my opinion)
Pretend_Spoon More than 1 year ago
Just incredible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truth be told, i never liked superman. His personality was two dimensional and so were motives. But this story adds fun and weirdness to his story.
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
I literally have no idea why this book was so well received expceot for blind Morrison love because if you read it you'll be left with one word.......Huh? The book bounces here and there makes some sense then makes less than no sense. Its strange and people will say that is the reason its good but they would be wrong. You want a good Supes story? Read Joeb's or Johns' Superman. That's good stuff. This is at best slighthy above okay.