All Star Superman
  • Alternative view 1 of All Star Superman
  • Alternative view 2 of All Star Superman

All Star Superman

4.2 21
by Grant Morrison, Frank Quitely
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The amazing creative team of writer Grant Morrison (BATMAN: ARKHAM ASYLUM) and artist Frank Quitely (WE3) join forces to take Superman back to basics and create a new vision of the World's First Super-Hero. This trade paperback collection features the first twelve issues of the acclaimed series. Witness the Man of Steel in exciting new adventures featuring Lex

Overview

The amazing creative team of writer Grant Morrison (BATMAN: ARKHAM ASYLUM) and artist Frank Quitely (WE3) join forces to take Superman back to basics and create a new vision of the World's First Super-Hero. This trade paperback collection features the first twelve issues of the acclaimed series. Witness the Man of Steel in exciting new adventures featuring Lex Luthor, Jimmy Olsen, Lois Lane, Bizarro, and more.

This volume collects All-Star Superman #1-12.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“Grant Morrison is one of the deftest superhero-comics writers of the moment, . . .  His collaboration with the artists Frank Quitely and Jamie Grant, is full of mad, cartwheeling invention and airy open spaces…. Clever.”—NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

“[Morrison’s] affection for the Superman cast shines through on every page as he homes in on their iconic demeanors––quietly noble Superman, bumbling Clark Kent, suspicious Lois Lane, boyishly enthusiastic Jimmy Olsen, and brilliantly evil Lex Luthor. . . . .Meanwhile, collaborator Quitely shows that he might be the perfect comic book artist: subtle when necessary, cartoonish when appropriate, and adroit with the action sequences. Together, writer and artist devise a Man of Steel who is both respectfully classic and excitingly contemporary.” —BOOKLIST (starred review)
 
“Morrison . . .  get[s] what's fun about Superman: He's ridiculously powerful, and therefore he just sees and does and has lots of incredibly cool, totally bizarre stuff.  . .  The sky isn't even close to the limit: time machines, nanonauts, sun-eaters, a super-dense sphere of black kryptonite from the Underverse, it's all good.”—TIME MAGAZINE Best Comics of 2007
 
SALON, Best Comics of 2007
 
EW.Com, Best Comic Books of 2007
 
“A stirringly mythic emotionally resonant, and gloriously alternative take on the Man of Steel.”—ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY
 
“Taking the Man of Steel back to his roots and into the future at the same time, All Star Superman is exciting, bold and supercool…all the makings of a classic”—Variety
 
 “The most enjoyable incarnation of Superman in almost 30 years...”—THE A.V. CLUB
 
 “The Paul McCartney/John Lennon of comics, Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely, are currently working their magic on All Star Superman.”—NASHVILLE CITY PAPER
 
“Writer Grant Morrison and artist Frank Quitely might just be the best one-two punch in comics. . . . Quitely’s finely detailed art style and Morrison’s sensationally cerebral and witty storytelling have taken this simple re-imagining of Superman’s life and made it a must read series.”—METRO TORONTO, Best Ongoing Comic Book Series of 2006
 
“A quirky, fun - and poignant - throwback to classic comic-book adventures, courtesy of writer Grant Morrison and artists Frank Quitely and Jamie Grant.”— WINSTON SALEM JOURNAL

Publishers Weekly

Morrison's superb Superman stories can be poignant, action-packed or downright silly, often in the same tale. An expedition to the heart of the sun is sabotaged by Lex Luthor, who would stand to profit from a global water shortage. Superman saves the day, but at a steep cost—his encounter with the sun alters him at a cellular level, and it looks like the Man of Steel actually faces death. The big story deals with Luthor's fervent quest to outlive his enemy, even as he himself sits on death row. The episodic tales along the way are the real delight, though: Superman reveals his true identity to Lois, but she doesn't believe him; for her birthday he gives her a potion which makes her a superwoman for 24 hours; Jimmy Olson becomes "eccentric zillionaire daredevil" for a day for a newspaper column; and in the best of the tales, Clark visits Luthor in prison for an exclusive interview, only to have an undesirable effect on a monstrous inmate. Quitely's art is wide-eyed and simple, yet still cosmically epic, drenched in an old-school color palette that makes this a vibrant feast for the eyes. (Apr.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781401232054
Publisher:
DC Comics
Publication date:
10/11/2011
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
45,333
Product dimensions:
6.64(w) x 10.14(h) x 0.48(d)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Grant Morrison has been working with DC Comics for more than twenty years, beginning with his legendary runs on the revolutionary titles ANIMAL MAN and DOOM PATROL. Since then he has written numerous best-sellers — including JLA, BATMAN and New X-Men — as well as the critically acclaimed creator-owned series THE INVISIBLES, SEAGUY, THE FILTH, WE3 and JOE THE BARBARIAN. Morrison has also expanded the borders of the DC Universe in the award-winning pages of SEVEN SOLDIERS, ALL-STAR SUPERMAN, FINAL CRISIS and BATMAN, INC., and he is currently reinventing the Man of Steel in the all-new ACTION COMICS.
         In his secret identity, Morrison is a “counterculture” spokesperson, a musician, an award-winning playwright and a chaos magician. He is also the author of the New York Times best-seller Supergods, a groundbreaking psycho-historic mapping of the superhero as a cultural organism. He divides his time between his homes in Los Angeles and Scotland.

Frank Quitely was born in Glasgow in 1968. Since 1988 he’s drawn The Greens (self-published), Blackheart, Missionary Man, Shimura, Inaba, ten shorts for Paradox Press, six shorts for Vertigo, FLEX MENTALLO, 20/20 VISIONS, BATMAN: THE SCOTTISH CONNECTION, THE KINGDOM: OFFSPRING, JLA: EARTH 2, THE INVISIBLES, TRANSMETROPOLITAN, THE AUTHORITY, Captain America, New X-Men, THE SANDMAN: ENDLESS NIGHTS, WE3, ALL-STAR SUPERMAN and BATMAN AND ROBIN. He has also created covers for Negative Burn, Judge Dredd Megazine, Classic 2000 AD, JONAH HEX, BOOKS OF MAGICK: LIFE DURING WARTIME, BITE CLUB, AMERICAN VIRGIN and ALL-STAR BATMAN. He lives in Glasgow with his wife and three children. He used to design his own hats and clothing. Currently his favorite hobby is cooking.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

All Star Superman 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Alighieri More than 1 year ago
All-Star Superman is undoubtedly the greatest superhero comic in existence. And that in itself feels like an understatement. Essentially, Morrison acknowledges the limitless wonder of Superman, and rather than simply stop there, exploits it to the greatest possible degree, ultimately creating what are easily among the most memorable moments in comic book history. When every turn of the page brings a sense of breathlessness, when every image captures absolute wonder, when every word resounds with earth-shattering potency - nothing else comes close. Morrison's fecundity is unrivaled and Quitely and Grant's artwork truly captures the raw essence of comic book magic. Basically, get ready to be amazed, get ready to enter the realm of the fantastic, get ready... to fly with Superman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the things that Morrison tends to do with Superman, is to blow him up into an almost God-Like creature with infinite powers and ablities and plays with those ideas, taking them to great legnths. While hardly the most Rational of Superman stories, All-Star Superman is so wonderful because it plays upon those irrationalities. It's an extremely fun and playful take on the man of steel. For people who don't find themselves a fan of Superman, it is still worth looking into, because it makes light and really has fun with the elements that most people find unlikeable about Superman and makes the fun again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best graphic novel I own. I have tons of volumes of DC graphic novels. Superman is my favorite, and this work truly is the master-piece it was reputed to be. While I was initially turned off by the design of the Man of Steel himself, the artwork and color really is supreme. But the story is really where this story is tops. I have never read any graphic novel where everything that unfolds just 'feels' right. Morrison delivered the most pleasing and still totally unique Superman story I have come across.  Fans of Morrison or Superman especially should consider this a MUST HAVE. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheSkyrat More than 1 year ago
Funny. Charming. Dense. Exotic. Weird. Smart. Mythic. Spiritual. This is the most amazing Superman story ever told, and for my money, one of the greatest stories ever told via the comic book medium. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anyone who knows me, knows that I'm a big Superman mark. I love the character and what he stands for. This story is not just one of the best Superman stories ever, but it's one of the best comics I've ever read. I'm a big fan of Quietly and Morrison and have always admired their work. This story increases my fandom for the duo. Too many elements to cover in this story, but here are a few of my highlights: From Clark's reveal to Lois, to granting her a day with his powere, to him saving Luthor in the prison, to the fitting conclusion...this is a must read for any fan of good storytelling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story. Morrison managed to write a Golden Age style Superman comic without making it feel too silly for modern readers. Unfortunately, this digital comic is plagued with artifacts especially noticable in red colored parts of the comic. It can be an eyesore.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stephen-BachEnthusiast More than 1 year ago
Morrison and Quitely's "All Star Superman" (V.1) is an imaginative and beautifully-drawn vision of the Superman myth. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it. It was an interesting read: nice art, different from the current trend, and with an exciting story arc divided in several "mini-stories"... but I expected more from it. Specially after reading the reviews on this Web site. The story was interesting, but it didn't make any sense at some points; also at the beginning it goes really slow, but towards the end it fast-forwards and skips things that seemed important in previous chapters (either that, or my copy is missing pages). Summarizing: a good book... but there are many better (in my opinion)
Pretend_Spoon More than 1 year ago
Just incredible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truth be told, i never liked superman. His personality was two dimensional and so were motives. But this story adds fun and weirdness to his story.
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
I literally have no idea why this book was so well received expceot for blind Morrison love because if you read it you'll be left with one word.......Huh? The book bounces here and there makes some sense then makes less than no sense. Its strange and people will say that is the reason its good but they would be wrong. You want a good Supes story? Read Joeb's or Johns' Superman. That's good stuff. This is at best slighthy above okay.