×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

All Star Superman (SC) (NOOK Comics with Zoom View)
     

All Star Superman (SC) (NOOK Comics with Zoom View)

4.2 21
by Grant Morrison
 

See All Formats & Editions

The amazing creative team of writer Grant Morrison (BATMAN: ARKHAM ASYLUM) and artist Frank Quitely (WE3) join forces to take Superman back to basics and create a new vision of the World's First Super-Hero. This hardcover collection features the first twelve issues of the acclaimed series. Witness the Man of Steel in exciting new adventures featuring Lex Luthor,

Overview

The amazing creative team of writer Grant Morrison (BATMAN: ARKHAM ASYLUM) and artist Frank Quitely (WE3) join forces to take Superman back to basics and create a new vision of the World's First Super-Hero. This hardcover collection features the first twelve issues of the acclaimed series. Witness the Man of Steel in exciting new adventures featuring Lex Luthor, Jimmy Olsen, Lois Lane, Bizarro, and more.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781401235727
Publisher:
DC Comics
Publication date:
06/12/2012
Sold by:
DC Comics
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
520,697
File size:
117 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.

Meet the Author

GRANT MORRISON is a Scottish writer, known for being one of the most influential, experimental and ground-breaking scribes of his or any other generation. His rise to fame began in 1986 while working for Britain's 2000 AD. This was followed by acclaimed runs on ANIMAL MAN and DOOM PATROL, as well as his subversive creator-owned titles such as THE INVISIBLES, SEAGUY and WE3. He has also written best-selling runs on JLA, SEVEN SOLDIERS OF VICTORY, New X-Men, ALL STAR SUPERMAN, 52, BATMAN and ACTION COMICS.

FRANK QUIETLY is a Scottish comic book artist best known for his frequent and award-winning collaborations with fellow Scot Grant Morrison. Together they have worked on BATMAN & ROBIN, ALL-STAR SUPERMAN, JLA: EARTH 2, FLEX MENTALLO and WE3 for DC Comics and Vertigo, as well as New X-Men for Marvel Comics. His other DC Comics work includes THE AUTHORITY and SANDMAN: ENDLESS NIGHTS.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

All Star Superman 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Alighieri More than 1 year ago
All-Star Superman is undoubtedly the greatest superhero comic in existence. And that in itself feels like an understatement. Essentially, Morrison acknowledges the limitless wonder of Superman, and rather than simply stop there, exploits it to the greatest possible degree, ultimately creating what are easily among the most memorable moments in comic book history. When every turn of the page brings a sense of breathlessness, when every image captures absolute wonder, when every word resounds with earth-shattering potency - nothing else comes close. Morrison's fecundity is unrivaled and Quitely and Grant's artwork truly captures the raw essence of comic book magic. Basically, get ready to be amazed, get ready to enter the realm of the fantastic, get ready... to fly with Superman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the things that Morrison tends to do with Superman, is to blow him up into an almost God-Like creature with infinite powers and ablities and plays with those ideas, taking them to great legnths. While hardly the most Rational of Superman stories, All-Star Superman is so wonderful because it plays upon those irrationalities. It's an extremely fun and playful take on the man of steel. For people who don't find themselves a fan of Superman, it is still worth looking into, because it makes light and really has fun with the elements that most people find unlikeable about Superman and makes the fun again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best graphic novel I own. I have tons of volumes of DC graphic novels. Superman is my favorite, and this work truly is the master-piece it was reputed to be. While I was initially turned off by the design of the Man of Steel himself, the artwork and color really is supreme. But the story is really where this story is tops. I have never read any graphic novel where everything that unfolds just 'feels' right. Morrison delivered the most pleasing and still totally unique Superman story I have come across.  Fans of Morrison or Superman especially should consider this a MUST HAVE. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheSkyrat More than 1 year ago
Funny. Charming. Dense. Exotic. Weird. Smart. Mythic. Spiritual. This is the most amazing Superman story ever told, and for my money, one of the greatest stories ever told via the comic book medium. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anyone who knows me, knows that I'm a big Superman mark. I love the character and what he stands for. This story is not just one of the best Superman stories ever, but it's one of the best comics I've ever read. I'm a big fan of Quietly and Morrison and have always admired their work. This story increases my fandom for the duo. Too many elements to cover in this story, but here are a few of my highlights: From Clark's reveal to Lois, to granting her a day with his powere, to him saving Luthor in the prison, to the fitting conclusion...this is a must read for any fan of good storytelling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story. Morrison managed to write a Golden Age style Superman comic without making it feel too silly for modern readers. Unfortunately, this digital comic is plagued with artifacts especially noticable in red colored parts of the comic. It can be an eyesore.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stephen-BachEnthusiast More than 1 year ago
Morrison and Quitely's "All Star Superman" (V.1) is an imaginative and beautifully-drawn vision of the Superman myth. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it. It was an interesting read: nice art, different from the current trend, and with an exciting story arc divided in several "mini-stories"... but I expected more from it. Specially after reading the reviews on this Web site. The story was interesting, but it didn't make any sense at some points; also at the beginning it goes really slow, but towards the end it fast-forwards and skips things that seemed important in previous chapters (either that, or my copy is missing pages). Summarizing: a good book... but there are many better (in my opinion)
Pretend_Spoon More than 1 year ago
Just incredible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truth be told, i never liked superman. His personality was two dimensional and so were motives. But this story adds fun and weirdness to his story.
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
I literally have no idea why this book was so well received expceot for blind Morrison love because if you read it you'll be left with one word.......Huh? The book bounces here and there makes some sense then makes less than no sense. Its strange and people will say that is the reason its good but they would be wrong. You want a good Supes story? Read Joeb's or Johns' Superman. That's good stuff. This is at best slighthy above okay.