All the Lonely People

All the Lonely People

4.6 5
by Jess Riley
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Perfect for fans of Tina Fey, Jennifer Weiner, Nick Hornby, and Jen Lancaster, this wry, touching novel from the author of DRIVING SIDEWAYS follows a cast of five endearing misfits who form a family of choice to try and make sense of their families of origin.
~~~
"WANTED: a whole new family to share holidays with. Please have a good heart and be a thoughtful,… See more details below

  • Checkmark NOOK Press  Shop Now
  • Checkmark The Best Digital-Only Books of 2013  Shop Now

Overview

Perfect for fans of Tina Fey, Jennifer Weiner, Nick Hornby, and Jen Lancaster, this wry, touching novel from the author of DRIVING SIDEWAYS follows a cast of five endearing misfits who form a family of choice to try and make sense of their families of origin.
~~~
"WANTED: a whole new family to share holidays with. Please have a good heart and be a thoughtful, polite person. No sociopaths, no pedophiles, no fans of the Kardashians. We're not weirdos, I promise. I love old Steve Martin movies, new Steve Martin banjo tunes, Indian food, and reruns of Bob Ross painting happy little trees. So if you're looking for something other than the typical family dysfunction this Christmas, drop us a line."

After losing her beloved mother to cancer, 37-year-old Jaime Collins must confront the ugly fact that she and her siblings don't actually like one another. At all. Fueled by grief and an epic argument at Thanksgiving dinner, Jaime decides to divorce her siblings and posts an ad on Craigslist for a new family with whom to share Christmas dinner.

What happens next is a heartwarming, funny, and surprising journey to forgiveness and healing. Is blood really thicker than water? And how far do we have to go to find our way back home again?

Dedicated to anyone who has ever wanted to unfriend a relative on Facebook, ALL THE LONELY PEOPLE is about family: those you make ... and those you make peace with.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Booklist - Rebecca Vnuk
"Riley displays the same gift for creating realistic characters and laugh-out-loud moments as she did in Driving Sideways (2008). Women's-fiction fans and those who love to compare their own dysfunctional families will get a big kick out of this novel."
(Author of Falling Under) - Danielle Younge-Ullman
"If your family is perfect and you've never felt lonely, or lost someone, or feared losing someone, or loved someone too much, or not enough ... if your heart is made of stone and you have no sense of humor ... well, even then you might love this book. All the Lonely People is a gorgeous, deep, layered, nuanced, hilarious and fabulously written novel that will suck you in and hold you hostage to the very last page ... and you'll be grateful it did."
(Author of Unraveling Isobel) - Eileen Cook
"For every person who wishes they could choose their family, All the Lonely People is a perfect blend of heart and humor. Packed with quirky characters and honest emotions, you won't be able to put this book down until the last page."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940015987768
Publisher:
Jessica Riley
Publication date:
01/30/2013
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
274
Sales rank:
263,952
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >