The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher: A Novel

The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher: A Novel

4.7 3
by Rob Stennett
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Meet Ryan Fisher—a self-assured real estate agent who’s looking for an edge in the market. While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical Christians raising their hands in worship. It’s like they’re begging for affordable but classy starter homes. Ryan discovers the Christian business directory and places an ad complete…  See more details below

Overview

Meet Ryan Fisher—a self-assured real estate agent who’s looking for an edge in the market. While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical Christians raising their hands in worship. It’s like they’re begging for affordable but classy starter homes. Ryan discovers the Christian business directory and places an ad complete with a Jesus fish. His business doubles in a week. But after visiting an actual church, Ryan realizes that with his business savvy, he could not only plant a church—he could create an empire. The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher is a hilarious, spot-on, and often heartbreaking satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Perrotta, and Douglas Adams.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Screenwriter Stennett offers a satirical look at a non-Christian's ascent to pastor of a megachurch in this engaging, highly readable novel. Ryan Fisher is a 28-year-old real estate agent who doesn't believe in God, but lists himself in the Christian Business Directory (along with a Jesus fish symbol) to beef up sales. He and his wife, Katherine, attend church to validate his new religious image, where he sees the possibilities of utilizing business principles to create his own megachurch. They move to Bartlesville, Okla., and create "The People's Church" where Ryan preaches a feel-good, do-good gospel ("I'm not encumbered by things like the Bible and Jesus"). As church numbers swell, Oprah calls, local pastors are on the warpath, a religious fanatic plots Ryan's assassination, and Katherine is smitten with Cowboy Jack, a karaoke singer-turned-worship leader who pens Christian lyrics to popular radio tunes. Is Ryan in over his head? Interesting narration and Dave Barryesque footnotes make this humorous entertainment with a faith-based message. (June)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Library Journal

A consummate salesman, Ryan Fisher sees an opportunity to succeed and sell big, so he places an ad in the Christian business pages even though he is not a believer by any means. His plans get even grander when he decides to build his very own megachurch. This first novel is both a biting satire and a bittersweet account of a man whose machinations just may catch up with him as he juggles a failing marriage and tries to keep up the deceit that he is a man of faith. It will appeal to fans of Ray Blackston (Flabbergasted) or Brad Whittington (Welcome to Fred) or anyone who appreciates dark humor in their spiritual fiction.


—Tamara Butler

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780310316251
Publisher:
Zondervan
Publication date:
05/26/2009
Sold by:
Zondervan Publishing
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
843,647
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Rob Stennett is the author of two novels: The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher and The End Is Now. He’s the creative director at New Life Church and an accomplished film and theater director. He lives in Colorado.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >