Always and Forever

Always and Forever

4.9 10
by Karla J. Nellenbach
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Mia's first reaction is outright disbelief. Obviously, a mistake has been made. Sixteen-year-old girls don't die. But, when the diagnosis is confirmed, she dives headlong into anger. If she has to die, why should it be of cancer? In fact, anything would be preferable to cancer. Better for her to say when, where, and especially how.

Determined to meet…  See more details below

Overview

Mia's first reaction is outright disbelief. Obviously, a mistake has been made. Sixteen-year-old girls don't die. But, when the diagnosis is confirmed, she dives headlong into anger. If she has to die, why should it be of cancer? In fact, anything would be preferable to cancer. Better for her to say when, where, and especially how.

Determined to meet death on her own terms, Mia devises scheme after scheme to get the job done. A "fall" down the basement stairs, driving her car off a bridge, and even a dance with a train all end in her survival.

And through it all, Mia keeps her family and friends at arms' length with her destructive and hurtful behavior. With each failed suicide attempt and burned relationship, she slowly realizes that it's not the dying that she's afraid of, but the life she'll be leaving behind. Now, that life is in a shambles. As time begins to slip through her fingers and death is upon her, Mia fights to rebuild the bridges she has destroyed, but can she do it before the clock runs out?

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940016114651
Publisher:
Booktrope Editions
Publication date:
09/18/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
264
Sales rank:
638,623
File size:
1 MB

Meet the Author

Karla Nellenbach divides her time between dayjobbing, writing, and indulging in her Winchester obsession. The rest of her day is spent playing butler to a cranky old man masquerading as a housecat and two rambunctious puppies that closely resemble small horses.

Born and raised in the wilds of Michigan, she knows two immutable facts: (1) it is entirely possible to live in a thumb, and (2) you definitely can go home again…you just might not survive the winter. Having resided in the sunscape of Florida for the last decade, she’s still on a quest to see a real live alligator outside of the “petting” zoo.

Karla is currently chasing down her characters and beating them into submission at work on her next novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Always and Forever 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
thedustypen More than 1 year ago
I kind of don't want to read anymore books for the rest of the year. This book was THAT GOOD. Fans of John Green and Lurlene McDaniels had better add this to their TBR book immediately. It was so much more than a book about cancer; it was a very real glimpse into the life of any teenager facing a terminal illness. The author does an excellent job creating believable characters. I found myself relating to Mia. Not as someone with cancer, but the emotions and thoughts and actions are just so real, so raw, it's not hard to be pulled into the emotions. Unlike a lot of books, this one does not leave me wanting more. The author ended things at the perfect moment. Any more would have felt dragged out, but any less would have left things undone. I am eager to see what else Nellenbach gives us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its such a sad book but one of the best I have ever read.?
WingsOrWeights More than 1 year ago
Amazing! Wow. Just...wow. After finishing this book, I just literally bawled my eyes out. It was so beautiful...everything was just so painfully beautiful, and vice versa. I fell in love with so many of the characters, it was like I had known them just as Mia had. Nellenbach did an amazing job creating such a realistic story, making all the emotions very real and very true. Everything about this story just tugged at my heart with each passing chapter. Mia's parents were amazing characters, not to mention her younger brother. He was a wonderful younger brother to her. And Kal...omg, Kal! He often made me feel a little swoony at times, too! This book definitely sent me on an emotional roller coaster. I highly recommend it to readers looking for a book about love, loss, courage, holding on, and letting go. This book will definitely stick with me. Always and Forever.
THHernandez More than 1 year ago
This is not the sort of book I'd normally choose to read and I'm still not sure what possessed me to get it. It sat on my Nook for several weeks before I even opened it. And then I took my time reading it. I needed to be in the right mindset to read about a teenage girl dying of cancer.  But once I really let myself get into the story, I couldn't put it down. The writing is strong, the characters beautifully crafted, the story, heartbreaking. But I knew that going into it. I knew Mia was going to die from the very first page. What I didn't know was how. See Mia refuses to let the cancer take her. She wants to say when and how she's going to die, refusing to let cancer dictate the terms. She not only struggles with her own emotions but with those closest to her -- her parents, her younger brother, her friends, including dreamy Kal, her "always and forever" best friend and next door neighbor. As Mia moves through the stages of grief, she attempts various ways to end her life on her terms, on her schedule, alienating everyone around her with each attempt. The author does a phenomenal job telling Mia's story, taking us through each stage of the process right along with Mia. Even though we know we're going to lose her, we can't help pulling for her, rooting for her as she tries to repair the relationships she damaged before it's too late. No, this is not the sort of book I'd choose to read, but I'm so very glad that I did. I probably won't choose another book like it, because it was painful. Beautifully so, but still painful. I cannot say one negative thing about this book. Five out of five stars and a bucketful of bittersweet tears.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After i read the ending of this story, i literally sat staring at a wall for ten minutes. Thats how much this story got to me. My cousin has heart disease and sometimes i worry if he'll make another day. SPOILER ALERT: The way this author approached the end of this story astounded me. Most authors don't kill off their main character. The death of an important person in a story is too raw and too real. I think it was unnecsasary in this story, but extremly powerful and well written. - musicloverbookcritic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nancy_TumblingBooks More than 1 year ago
The hardest reviews to write, I think, are for the books that tore your heart open and left you numb to the world. Always and Forever was definitely one of those books. I don't even know how to begin to describe just how amazing this book was and how much I loved it, but I'm going to try. I'll begin by saying that the story was just as beautiful as I expected it to be. Always and Forever is about a girl, Mia, who has been diagnosed with cancer and she is desperate to die from anything but that which is already killing her. That summary blew my mind. I've read a few books about girls with cancer and I love them. I think they really emphasize how weak our bodies are, but how amazingly strong our minds are. They send out a great message to the reader, to not lose hope and to remain strong even in the face of adversity. Always and Forever was no exception. It was just as amazing as these other books have been. What I liked the most about it was that Mia did not accept that she had cancer, but she fought against everyone and herself, despite the mountain of evidence pointing to the dismaying diagnosis. She wanted to be able to decide when, where, and how she would be dying. Mia wanted to make her own future and I respected that. It was admirable that she would attempt to take such drastic measures in order to feel at peace with herself. I don't think I would have had as much courage as she did. Mia was a memorable character, one that I think I will remember for a long, long time. There was just so much to her. She was complicated and moody and angry and loving... everything all at the same time. I loved that about her, because it made her seem like a real friend and I felt for her. Mia did such a great job (well, the author) in describing her feelings towards her friends and family, showing us just how much she really cared even when she was pushing everyone away. I grew to love Kal, Brad, and Dave just as much as she did. They were there for her through it all, even when they didn't have to be. What resonated with me most after finishing this book was the large amount of courage that all of these characters showed. Their courage came through in different ways and it was something that I hadn't thought about while I was reading the book. Mia showed courage in dealing with her illness and in trying to keep her life as normal as it had been, though she knew just how difficult that would be. Kal, Brad, and Dave, showed courage in the ways that they tried to remain strong and positive for Mia, even though they knew it was a losing battle. Mia's parents probably showed the most courage. They  were the ones who heard all the bad news from the doctors, they saw their daughter's health deteriorate, and they pushed all of that aside to make Mia feel as happy as she could be with everything that was going on. I can't say enough just how much I loved this book. I loved everything about it, the plot, the characters, the beginning, the middle, and the end. I think everyone should read this. It was absolutely fantastic and I'm still reeling from that ending. It was so heartbreaking!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book absolutely amazing!! I love how Karla Nellenbach makes with book seems so real. I know her in person and she is an amazing person  and a good writer at that
Anonymous More than 1 year ago